Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2814 (Dress, Tunic) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 402 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:leeannz
photo
About leeannzstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 5/21/08
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/08 2:40 PM
Last Updated:10/3/08 2:51 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewnsew43 said...
I'm sorry this didn't turn out for you. Your reveiew helped me decide not to make this tunic. I have fitting problems with my new and impoved larger size and never know what will work anymore.
10/3/08 3:40 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Always useful to see when things don't work out .. thanks for posting!
10/3/08 3:56 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Leeann, an excellent review that spells out exactly why the pattern did not work for you. I truly hope that you will not give up sewing b/c of your perfectionism, and the zipper dilemma. Sewing is a perfect hobby for perfectionists. You just need to be gentle w/yourself regarding the failures. I look forward to seeing many more of your creations in the future, and congratulations on your first review. -Lily
10/3/08 5:56 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/3/08 6:29 PM
Kbenco said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. It is so disappointing when the outcome does not match the perfect garment you envisioned before cutting out, but perfectionism is rife amongst people who sew, that is how we improve! Please don't stop.
10/3/08 7:24 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you, but your review is very helpful for anyone who might want to try this pattern. I hope your next project goes a lot better!
10/4/08 0:40 AM
craftygamma said...
Thanks so much for the review. Often when I am sewing & something is not quite perfect, I have to remind myself that no one will notice but me when it is a fairly minor imperfection. Dee
10/4/08 6:46 AM
AnneM said...
The pattern picture almost looks like the darts end too high there, as well. While the basic style is nice, I tend to think there might be other patterns that would cause you less aggrevation. The front neck seems very high on you also. As for perfectionism, examine some of your RTW clothing. They aren't made perfectly & don't fit perfectly either, so don't get too critical of your own sewing!
10/19/08 1:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Burda 7517 DRESS
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 3/16/10
Read Review

Burda 9493 Pattern
Burda 9493 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-23 Bert Shorts
photo
Review by lara900 on 8/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us