SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2814 (Dress, Tunic)

1 more reviews
Viewed 414 times 
Reviewed by:leeannz
photo

 
 
About leeannzstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 5/21/08
Reviews: 12 (patterns: 12)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/08 2:40 PM
Last Updated:10/3/08 2:51 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (10/19/08 1:20 PM) Reply
The pattern picture almost looks like the darts end too high there, as well. While the basic style is nice, I tend to think there might be other patterns that would cause you less aggrevation. The front neck seems very high on you also. As for perfectionism, examine some of your RTW clothing. They aren't made perfectly & don't fit perfectly either, so don't get too critical of your own sewing!
craftygamma said... (10/4/08 6:46 AM) Reply
Thanks so much for the review. Often when I am sewing & something is not quite perfect, I have to remind myself that no one will notice but me when it is a fairly minor imperfection. Dee
Kaitlinnegan said... (10/4/08 0:40 AM) Reply
Sorry this didn't work out for you, but your review is very helpful for anyone who might want to try this pattern. I hope your next project goes a lot better!
Kbenco said... (10/3/08 7:24 PM) Reply
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. It is so disappointing when the outcome does not match the perfect garment you envisioned before cutting out, but perfectionism is rife amongst people who sew, that is how we improve! Please don't stop.
Trephas2003 said... (10/3/08 6:29 PM) Reply
It looks great!
lilyofthevalley said... (10/3/08 5:56 PM) Reply
Leeann, an excellent review that spells out exactly why the pattern did not work for you. I truly hope that you will not give up sewing b/c of your perfectionism, and the zipper dilemma. Sewing is a perfect hobby for perfectionists. You just need to be gentle w/yourself regarding the failures. I look forward to seeing many more of your creations in the future, and congratulations on your first review. -Lily
Mary Nanna said... (10/3/08 3:56 PM) Reply
Always useful to see when things don't work out .. thanks for posting!
sewnsew43 said... (10/3/08 3:40 PM) Reply
I'm sorry this didn't turn out for you. Your reveiew helped me decide not to make this tunic. I have fitting problems with my new and impoved larger size and never know what will work anymore.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 2209

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review