SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2562 (Women's Polo Shirts)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1043 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 10:48 AM
Last Updated:10/5/08 3:44 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Terrific top-I love the main fabric and the contrast fabric together. Great job on the collar-it looks perfect. Thanks for the details on SA in the review, and the tip on marking when making a stand collar.
10/5/08 11:07 AM
LindsayT said...
Oh, this turned out great! Good tips on the collar. Given your endorsement, Phyllis, I'm definitely going to check out Jalie patterns for my knit tops.
10/5/08 11:07 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Another pattern I've had for ages, but haven't gotten around to. Now that you've test-driven it for us, maybe it's time.... And you're right - basic, Lands End style, but your fabric choice makes all the difference.
10/5/08 11:11 AM
Christas said...
This knit is perfect for this ... great looking top!
10/5/08 11:13 AM
MissCelie said...
I'm so not a polo shirt person because they always seem so basic. Yours, I LOVE! I'm also digging how you got a totally RTW look with the collar. Who says there are things you can't make at home!
10/5/08 12:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Add me to the list of "I've had this pattern for a while but haven't sewn it up yet." I love the funky print you used with this--it really makes a cute, unexpected polo.
10/5/08 1:33 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I have just made the kwik sew version of this. I hear your placat and raise you lots of centre front puckers! It requires a degree of accuracy I have never needed before. I was out by a mere 1 mm (1/25 inch) inserting the woven placat into the stretch knit and it shows in a little tuck either side! Being smack bang centre front does not help the cause... thanks for the tips.. gives me some ideas for next time.
10/5/08 2:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking shirt, Phyllis!
10/5/08 2:59 PM
shesflipped said...
Your top turned out perfectly! I love the print with the solid collar! I've had this pattern for ages, but, your review may have just inspired me to give it a try. Thanks for sharing your wonderful top and great review.
10/5/08 4:14 PM
Sandi S said...
This looks fantastic! I've been thinking about getting this pattern - just might have to do it now that I've seen how nice this looks.
10/5/08 7:06 PM
Kbenco said...
Very smart, and a fabulous review, thank you.
10/5/08 8:57 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice top, I like the contrast.
10/5/08 11:25 PM
Elke said...
Looks great and thanks for the helpful review.
10/6/08 8:37 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic looking shirt, Phyllis! Very, very helpful review!
10/6/08 10:02 AM
Amanda S. said...
What a great top! I love the crisp white collar and your fabric choice. Nice job!
10/6/08 11:24 AM
Deepika said...
Great top Phyllis. Another Jalie staple. I really have to sew this one.
10/6/08 11:28 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/6/08 6:15 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Thanks for the review and the nudge. Mine is complete all the way to the collar stand and I am completely stuck. I'll pull out the pattern and see if fresh eyes makes all clear. thanks again.
10/7/08 1:41 PM
candyo said...
I thought I hated polo shirts, but I like this!!
10/15/08 9:30 PM
AnneM said...
Very professional looking, of course! Jalie is coming out with more basic styles in addition to the sewing / sport styles (and some very cute ones, also).
10/20/08 8:48 PM
Cultured Purl said...
Thanks for the great review! You top is very cute! The reason I choose this pattern was b/c I have lots of fabric in my stash( from years ago) that is high quality but does not have the lycra of today's fabrics and I was looking for something that is a step above the average T to make some shirts , this fit the bill! I like the fact that it can still be current , and smart looking yet the collar adds a nice touch And it IS just like some shirt I did purhase from LE a year ago! I think you hit the nail right on the head! It will be one of the first patterns I tackle after I make some lingerie!
2/26/10 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now