Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-118 (Dress with waist pleat detail) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 603 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:12 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 8:12 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Thanks for the informative review. I think that you might like it in a different fabric, not a calico.
10/5/08 8:32 PM
Kbenco said...
:) Calico in Australia is heavier, and much more stiff fabric than the very light voile I have used for the dress. Calico is used for backing quilts etc. I really hope that calico in the USA is something different, because this would look like a tent in what I call calico!! Edited: I have taken advice on this, and understand that calico is any cotton print in the USA, you are right about the use of print fabric for my trial version, the pleat and gather details would show better in a solid colour fabric. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/5/08 8:43 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I just LOVE your fabric!!! I don't think it looks like nighties at all!!! LOL!!!
10/5/08 9:34 PM
callmeRuth said...
I think you're too hard on yourself. It's doesn't look that bad. Also, I thought the dress looked cute on your daughter in your blog pictures.
10/5/08 11:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Nighties? Nah....I think your dress is gorgeous! The one the Burda model has is frumpy....Yours looks so much better!
10/6/08 0:16 AM
angie.a said...
I liked this one in BWOF too! I thought the waist detail really interesting. Thank you for the review! I think yours isn't as bad as you feel, it looks charming in the picture!
10/6/08 9:37 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I was also drawn to this dress and had a similar experience. I ended up sending mine to charity. As you say, I think you could wear your's on a hot day around the house.
10/6/08 12:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'll have to beg to differ with you, because I actually think this dress is quite feminine and pretty, and it shows off your slim waist, too. I even like the nightie fabric -- ha! :o)
10/6/08 12:38 PM
nicegirl said...
We are definitely our own worst critics--I think this looks cute on you even in the "bad" picture, but I know that if I feel like something looks bad on me I'm not going to wear it no matter what anyone else says!
10/7/08 3:10 PM
Gelbean said...
I think it looks lovely. I'm sorry you aren't more excited about it.
10/21/08 1:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Other 2321B
photo
Review by CA Eisenho... on 6/6/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7579 PANTSUIT
photo
Review by tiadia on 9/13/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1413 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1413 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 4213 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us