SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-118 (Dress with waist pleat detail)

5 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:12 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 8:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
I think it looks lovely. I'm sorry you aren't more excited about it.
10/21/08 1:51 AM
nicegirl said...
We are definitely our own worst critics--I think this looks cute on you even in the "bad" picture, but I know that if I feel like something looks bad on me I'm not going to wear it no matter what anyone else says!
10/7/08 3:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'll have to beg to differ with you, because I actually think this dress is quite feminine and pretty, and it shows off your slim waist, too. I even like the nightie fabric -- ha! :o)
10/6/08 12:38 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I was also drawn to this dress and had a similar experience. I ended up sending mine to charity. As you say, I think you could wear your's on a hot day around the house.
10/6/08 12:26 PM
angie.a said...
I liked this one in BWOF too! I thought the waist detail really interesting. Thank you for the review! I think yours isn't as bad as you feel, it looks charming in the picture!
10/6/08 9:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Nighties? Nah....I think your dress is gorgeous! The one the Burda model has is frumpy....Yours looks so much better!
10/6/08 0:16 AM
callmeRuth said...
I think you're too hard on yourself. It's doesn't look that bad. Also, I thought the dress looked cute on your daughter in your blog pictures.
10/5/08 11:42 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I just LOVE your fabric!!! I don't think it looks like nighties at all!!! LOL!!!
10/5/08 9:34 PM
Kbenco said...
:) Calico in Australia is heavier, and much more stiff fabric than the very light voile I have used for the dress. Calico is used for backing quilts etc. I really hope that calico in the USA is something different, because this would look like a tent in what I call calico!! Edited: I have taken advice on this, and understand that calico is any cotton print in the USA, you are right about the use of print fabric for my trial version, the pleat and gather details would show better in a solid colour fabric. Thanks for the suggestion.
10/5/08 8:43 PM
Re Becca said...
Thanks for the informative review. I think that you might like it in a different fabric, not a calico.
10/5/08 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now