Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2008-119A (Shawl-front empire jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 551 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 9:19 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
Your woven version of this jacket looks really good. Thank you for such a detailed and comprehensive review.
10/5/08 8:39 PM
BetsyV said...
Great review, Debra. Thanks for the details and tips on the collar/facing piece.
10/5/08 10:20 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I dismissed this pattern as it was so short, but your version is much improved. Thanks for the review.
10/5/08 10:43 PM
Seaspur said...
I love your version of this jacket! I'm always amazed at how fabric choice redefines a pattern.
10/5/08 11:56 PM
marec said...
Thanks for such a comprehensive review. I love your interpretation of this jacket-the fabric is wonderful.
10/6/08 0:42 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket and as always, an extremely helpful review. Thank you so much.
10/6/08 6:02 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for the thorough review. Nice jacket!
10/6/08 7:19 AM
Karen6790 said...
I always love your fabrics, and your pattern choices are right behind. I looked at this pattern and dismissed it because it was for knits, but you've made me re-evaluate and want to try it in a woven. Beautiful work, as usual, and thanks for all the extra detail.
10/6/08 9:21 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank yo for your detailed review. I let my subscription to BWOF lapse and I regret it. This is a great pattern. Your version is wonderfula as always.
10/6/08 10:37 AM
Annette1 said...
I love the unique styling of this jacket. I would think it's very versatile too. LOVELY work, as usual. :o)
10/6/08 12:45 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely jacket; excellent review.
10/6/08 1:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very chic and cheerful! Beautiful job as always!
10/6/08 5:10 PM
Becky Coleman said...
I have a slippery piece of rayon/cotton that I had thought about using for this pattern. Your review gives me courage to do it! Thanks for an excellent review (as always.)
10/6/08 8:29 PM
OP Gal said...
Very clever adaptation of the pattern. The fabric is beautiful. I wonder where you get such beautiful rayon prints. I find it so difficult to find prints in anything other than polyester. I'll be looking forward to your review of your next version of this pattern.
10/6/08 10:20 PM
tlmck3 said...
This looks wonderful and you write some of the most helpful reviews around. Thanks for all the detail!
10/6/08 11:23 PM
Karen8320 said...
Great work, Debra, as always. I really love what you've done with this pattern. You've definitely improved upon the original. It looks fantastic!
10/7/08 4:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by JennyAnne on 1/7/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5357
photo
Review by sewin on 10/3/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us