SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-119A (Shawl-front empire jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 553 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said...
Great work, Debra, as always. I really love what you've done with this pattern. You've definitely improved upon the original. It looks fantastic!
10/7/08 4:29 AM
tlmck3 said...
This looks wonderful and you write some of the most helpful reviews around. Thanks for all the detail!
10/6/08 11:23 PM
OP Gal said...
Very clever adaptation of the pattern. The fabric is beautiful. I wonder where you get such beautiful rayon prints. I find it so difficult to find prints in anything other than polyester. I'll be looking forward to your review of your next version of this pattern.
10/6/08 10:20 PM
Becky Coleman said...
I have a slippery piece of rayon/cotton that I had thought about using for this pattern. Your review gives me courage to do it! Thanks for an excellent review (as always.)
10/6/08 8:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very chic and cheerful! Beautiful job as always!
10/6/08 5:10 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely jacket; excellent review.
10/6/08 1:48 PM
Annette1 said...
I love the unique styling of this jacket. I would think it's very versatile too. LOVELY work, as usual. :o)
10/6/08 12:45 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank yo for your detailed review. I let my subscription to BWOF lapse and I regret it. This is a great pattern. Your version is wonderfula as always.
10/6/08 10:37 AM
Karen6790 said...
I always love your fabrics, and your pattern choices are right behind. I looked at this pattern and dismissed it because it was for knits, but you've made me re-evaluate and want to try it in a woven. Beautiful work, as usual, and thanks for all the extra detail.
10/6/08 9:21 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for the thorough review. Nice jacket!
10/6/08 7:19 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket and as always, an extremely helpful review. Thank you so much.
10/6/08 6:02 AM
marec said...
Thanks for such a comprehensive review. I love your interpretation of this jacket-the fabric is wonderful.
10/6/08 0:42 AM
Seaspur said...
I love your version of this jacket! I'm always amazed at how fabric choice redefines a pattern.
10/5/08 11:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I dismissed this pattern as it was so short, but your version is much improved. Thanks for the review.
10/5/08 10:43 PM
BetsyV said...
Great review, Debra. Thanks for the details and tips on the collar/facing piece.
10/5/08 10:20 PM
Kbenco said...
Your woven version of this jacket looks really good. Thank you for such a detailed and comprehensive review.
10/5/08 8:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 65737-1001

photo
by: SandyinMO

Review
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now