Online Sewing Class: Blueprints to Blue Jeans
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-119A (Shawl-front empire jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 555 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews: 194 (patterns: 180)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said... (10/7/08 4:29 AM) Reply
Great work, Debra, as always. I really love what you've done with this pattern. You've definitely improved upon the original. It looks fantastic!
tlmck3 said... (10/6/08 11:23 PM) Reply
This looks wonderful and you write some of the most helpful reviews around. Thanks for all the detail!
OP Gal said... (10/6/08 10:20 PM) Reply
Very clever adaptation of the pattern. The fabric is beautiful. I wonder where you get such beautiful rayon prints. I find it so difficult to find prints in anything other than polyester. I'll be looking forward to your review of your next version of this pattern.
Becky Coleman said... (10/6/08 8:29 PM) Reply
I have a slippery piece of rayon/cotton that I had thought about using for this pattern. Your review gives me courage to do it! Thanks for an excellent review (as always.)
Heatherrique said... (10/6/08 5:10 PM) Reply
Very chic and cheerful! Beautiful job as always!
Karendee said... (10/6/08 1:48 PM) Reply
Lovely jacket; excellent review.
Annette1 said... (10/6/08 12:45 PM) Reply
I love the unique styling of this jacket. I would think it's very versatile too. LOVELY work, as usual. :o)
Modiste Madness said... (10/6/08 10:37 AM) Reply
Thank yo for your detailed review. I let my subscription to BWOF lapse and I regret it. This is a great pattern. Your version is wonderfula as always.
Karen6790 said... (10/6/08 9:21 AM) Reply
I always love your fabrics, and your pattern choices are right behind. I looked at this pattern and dismissed it because it was for knits, but you've made me re-evaluate and want to try it in a woven. Beautiful work, as usual, and thanks for all the extra detail.
DaisyEsq said... (10/6/08 7:19 AM) Reply
Thank you for the thorough review. Nice jacket!
BillieJean said... (10/6/08 6:02 AM) Reply
Beautiful jacket and as always, an extremely helpful review. Thank you so much.
marec said... (10/6/08 0:42 AM) Reply
Thanks for such a comprehensive review. I love your interpretation of this jacket-the fabric is wonderful.
Seaspur said... (10/5/08 11:56 PM) Reply
I love your version of this jacket! I'm always amazed at how fabric choice redefines a pattern.
hongkongshopper said... (10/5/08 10:43 PM) Reply
I dismissed this pattern as it was so short, but your version is much improved. Thanks for the review.
BetsyV said... (10/5/08 10:20 PM) Reply
Great review, Debra. Thanks for the details and tips on the collar/facing piece.
Kbenco said... (10/5/08 8:39 PM) Reply
Your woven version of this jacket looks really good. Thank you for such a detailed and comprehensive review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Jalie 2565

photo
by: dakotasews

Review
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: STARG

Review
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Pattern Details
Maggie Paper Pattern

Maggie Paper Pattern

Pattern Details