SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-119A (Shawl-front empire jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 554 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews: 194 (patterns: 180)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 214 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen8320 said... (10/7/08 4:29 AM) Reply
Great work, Debra, as always. I really love what you've done with this pattern. You've definitely improved upon the original. It looks fantastic!
tlmck3 said... (10/6/08 11:23 PM) Reply
This looks wonderful and you write some of the most helpful reviews around. Thanks for all the detail!
OP Gal said... (10/6/08 10:20 PM) Reply
Very clever adaptation of the pattern. The fabric is beautiful. I wonder where you get such beautiful rayon prints. I find it so difficult to find prints in anything other than polyester. I'll be looking forward to your review of your next version of this pattern.
Becky Coleman said... (10/6/08 8:29 PM) Reply
I have a slippery piece of rayon/cotton that I had thought about using for this pattern. Your review gives me courage to do it! Thanks for an excellent review (as always.)
Heatherrique said... (10/6/08 5:10 PM) Reply
Very chic and cheerful! Beautiful job as always!
Karendee said... (10/6/08 1:48 PM) Reply
Lovely jacket; excellent review.
Annette1 said... (10/6/08 12:45 PM) Reply
I love the unique styling of this jacket. I would think it's very versatile too. LOVELY work, as usual. :o)
Modiste Madness said... (10/6/08 10:37 AM) Reply
Thank yo for your detailed review. I let my subscription to BWOF lapse and I regret it. This is a great pattern. Your version is wonderfula as always.
Karen6790 said... (10/6/08 9:21 AM) Reply
I always love your fabrics, and your pattern choices are right behind. I looked at this pattern and dismissed it because it was for knits, but you've made me re-evaluate and want to try it in a woven. Beautiful work, as usual, and thanks for all the extra detail.
DaisyEsq said... (10/6/08 7:19 AM) Reply
Thank you for the thorough review. Nice jacket!
BillieJean said... (10/6/08 6:02 AM) Reply
Beautiful jacket and as always, an extremely helpful review. Thank you so much.
marec said... (10/6/08 0:42 AM) Reply
Thanks for such a comprehensive review. I love your interpretation of this jacket-the fabric is wonderful.
Seaspur said... (10/5/08 11:56 PM) Reply
I love your version of this jacket! I'm always amazed at how fabric choice redefines a pattern.
hongkongshopper said... (10/5/08 10:43 PM) Reply
I dismissed this pattern as it was so short, but your version is much improved. Thanks for the review.
BetsyV said... (10/5/08 10:20 PM) Reply
Great review, Debra. Thanks for the details and tips on the collar/facing piece.
Kbenco said... (10/5/08 8:39 PM) Reply
Your woven version of this jacket looks really good. Thank you for such a detailed and comprehensive review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Suitability 4188

photo
by: Jupiter, F...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8117

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Pattern Details