SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-119A (Shawl-front empire jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/08 8:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/08 9:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
Your woven version of this jacket looks really good. Thank you for such a detailed and comprehensive review.
10/5/08 8:39 PM
BetsyV said...
Great review, Debra. Thanks for the details and tips on the collar/facing piece.
10/5/08 10:20 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I dismissed this pattern as it was so short, but your version is much improved. Thanks for the review.
10/5/08 10:43 PM
Seaspur said...
I love your version of this jacket! I'm always amazed at how fabric choice redefines a pattern.
10/5/08 11:56 PM
marec said...
Thanks for such a comprehensive review. I love your interpretation of this jacket-the fabric is wonderful.
10/6/08 0:42 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket and as always, an extremely helpful review. Thank you so much.
10/6/08 6:02 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for the thorough review. Nice jacket!
10/6/08 7:19 AM
Karen6790 said...
I always love your fabrics, and your pattern choices are right behind. I looked at this pattern and dismissed it because it was for knits, but you've made me re-evaluate and want to try it in a woven. Beautiful work, as usual, and thanks for all the extra detail.
10/6/08 9:21 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank yo for your detailed review. I let my subscription to BWOF lapse and I regret it. This is a great pattern. Your version is wonderfula as always.
10/6/08 10:37 AM
Annette1 said...
I love the unique styling of this jacket. I would think it's very versatile too. LOVELY work, as usual. :o)
10/6/08 12:45 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely jacket; excellent review.
10/6/08 1:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very chic and cheerful! Beautiful job as always!
10/6/08 5:10 PM
Becky Coleman said...
I have a slippery piece of rayon/cotton that I had thought about using for this pattern. Your review gives me courage to do it! Thanks for an excellent review (as always.)
10/6/08 8:29 PM
OP Gal said...
Very clever adaptation of the pattern. The fabric is beautiful. I wonder where you get such beautiful rayon prints. I find it so difficult to find prints in anything other than polyester. I'll be looking forward to your review of your next version of this pattern.
10/6/08 10:20 PM
tlmck3 said...
This looks wonderful and you write some of the most helpful reviews around. Thanks for all the detail!
10/6/08 11:23 PM
Karen8320 said...
Great work, Debra, as always. I really love what you've done with this pattern. You've definitely improved upon the original. It looks fantastic!
10/7/08 4:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 243274-1001

photo
by: Hiyoko

Review