SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5185 (Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo

 
 
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/08 11:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donna mel said...
i love this on you. very slimming, as you say you are a bit of a pear...like myself. i am not sure about the asymmetrical hem. i guess you can always cut it off in the future.
10/7/08 7:25 AM
Dei said...
This is done beautifully. It compliments your shape well. I love the asymmetrical knot.
10/7/08 9:53 AM
Gloria W said...
The bodice detail and the fit are beautiful, but I agree with the kid who says the asymetrical hem is not very flattering on this length.
10/7/08 11:05 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute love the dots!
10/7/08 11:10 AM
Karendee said...
Compliments that I'm sure you'll receive. The dress is lovely on you. The hem--I'm not sure. I like the hem from the front, not so much from the side, but wear it then cut if off if necessary.
10/7/08 12:58 PM
nicegirl said...
I am a huge proponent of lengthening tops into dresses, and I think that was a great call here. The asymmetric knot is interesting!
10/7/08 3:02 PM
carolynw said...
And compliments you will certainly get - it looks so wonderful on you - as for the hem issue - from what I can see in the photo it looks like it is coming down to two fairly long points so maybe shortening that would do the trick - your call - but be assured it looks great
10/7/08 4:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Amy-may, whether or not you decide to straighten the hem, this top turned into dress is absolutely charming on you. Yes, compliments will abound. Completely lovely, Lily
10/8/08 1:17 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that top as a dress! Very, very nice!
10/8/08 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 06/01/2013

photo
by: lacroise1

Review
Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now