SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5185 (Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 528 times 
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo

 
 
About Amy-maystarstar
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews: 48 (patterns: 48)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/08 11:56 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
gatorgirl4325 said... (10/8/08 11:38 AM) Reply
Love that top as a dress! Very, very nice!
lilyofthevalley said... (10/8/08 1:17 AM) Reply
Amy-may, whether or not you decide to straighten the hem, this top turned into dress is absolutely charming on you. Yes, compliments will abound. Completely lovely, Lily
carolynw said... (10/7/08 4:01 PM) Reply
And compliments you will certainly get - it looks so wonderful on you - as for the hem issue - from what I can see in the photo it looks like it is coming down to two fairly long points so maybe shortening that would do the trick - your call - but be assured it looks great
nicegirl said... (10/7/08 3:02 PM) Reply
I am a huge proponent of lengthening tops into dresses, and I think that was a great call here. The asymmetric knot is interesting!
Karendee said... (10/7/08 12:58 PM) Reply
Compliments that I'm sure you'll receive. The dress is lovely on you. The hem--I'm not sure. I like the hem from the front, not so much from the side, but wear it then cut if off if necessary.
sewtime said... (10/7/08 11:10 AM) Reply
Very cute love the dots!
Gloria W said... (10/7/08 11:05 AM) Reply
The bodice detail and the fit are beautiful, but I agree with the kid who says the asymetrical hem is not very flattering on this length.
Dei said... (10/7/08 9:53 AM) Reply
This is done beautifully. It compliments your shape well. I love the asymmetrical knot.
donna mel said... (10/7/08 7:25 AM) Reply
i love this on you. very slimming, as you say you are a bit of a pear...like myself. i am not sure about the asymmetrical hem. i guess you can always cut it off in the future.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Simplicity 3629

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2013-20

photo
by: lyndle

Review
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Pattern Details