Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5185 (Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 525 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/08 11:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donna mel said...
i love this on you. very slimming, as you say you are a bit of a pear...like myself. i am not sure about the asymmetrical hem. i guess you can always cut it off in the future.
10/7/08 7:25 AM
Dei said...
This is done beautifully. It compliments your shape well. I love the asymmetrical knot.
10/7/08 9:53 AM
Gloria W said...
The bodice detail and the fit are beautiful, but I agree with the kid who says the asymetrical hem is not very flattering on this length.
10/7/08 11:05 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute love the dots!
10/7/08 11:10 AM
Karendee said...
Compliments that I'm sure you'll receive. The dress is lovely on you. The hem--I'm not sure. I like the hem from the front, not so much from the side, but wear it then cut if off if necessary.
10/7/08 12:58 PM
nicegirl said...
I am a huge proponent of lengthening tops into dresses, and I think that was a great call here. The asymmetric knot is interesting!
10/7/08 3:02 PM
carolynw said...
And compliments you will certainly get - it looks so wonderful on you - as for the hem issue - from what I can see in the photo it looks like it is coming down to two fairly long points so maybe shortening that would do the trick - your call - but be assured it looks great
10/7/08 4:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Amy-may, whether or not you decide to straighten the hem, this top turned into dress is absolutely charming on you. Yes, compliments will abound. Completely lovely, Lily
10/8/08 1:17 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that top as a dress! Very, very nice!
10/8/08 11:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Loes Hinse Designs 5107 Bistro Jacket
photo
Review by Tee Jay on 9/14/03
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2006-25 Phoenix Top
photo
Review by brissie71 on 6/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book

Details
Price: $25.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us