SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5185 (Top)

23 more reviews
Viewed 526 times 
Reviewed by:Amy-may
photo

 
 
About Amy-maystar
IL USA
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/08 11:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that top as a dress! Very, very nice!
10/8/08 11:38 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Amy-may, whether or not you decide to straighten the hem, this top turned into dress is absolutely charming on you. Yes, compliments will abound. Completely lovely, Lily
10/8/08 1:17 AM
carolynw said...
And compliments you will certainly get - it looks so wonderful on you - as for the hem issue - from what I can see in the photo it looks like it is coming down to two fairly long points so maybe shortening that would do the trick - your call - but be assured it looks great
10/7/08 4:01 PM
nicegirl said...
I am a huge proponent of lengthening tops into dresses, and I think that was a great call here. The asymmetric knot is interesting!
10/7/08 3:02 PM
Karendee said...
Compliments that I'm sure you'll receive. The dress is lovely on you. The hem--I'm not sure. I like the hem from the front, not so much from the side, but wear it then cut if off if necessary.
10/7/08 12:58 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute love the dots!
10/7/08 11:10 AM
Gloria W said...
The bodice detail and the fit are beautiful, but I agree with the kid who says the asymetrical hem is not very flattering on this length.
10/7/08 11:05 AM
Dei said...
This is done beautifully. It compliments your shape well. I love the asymmetrical knot.
10/7/08 9:53 AM
donna mel said...
i love this on you. very slimming, as you say you are a bit of a pear...like myself. i am not sure about the asymmetrical hem. i guess you can always cut it off in the future.
10/7/08 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Butterick 5744

photo
by: LTC

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now