SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3841 (Threads skirt,pleat variation)

2 more reviews
Viewed 366 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/08 1:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
It looks really nice! Thanks for the warning about the pleats, that'll come in handy!
10/9/08 1:24 AM
RuthieSews said...
I agree its poor from a design point of view, but have a flat area at the sides is more slimming IMHO. P.S. There is no way you are a size 22! At least you don't look it. Skirt came out really well and is a lovely smart yet comfortable look.
10/9/08 6:41 AM
Caitycat said...
Ahhh, I would be sewing a 22 - thanks for the info that the pleats are not at the side! (although perhaps on a hippy figure like mine, that flat side could be a good thing?) You look great in it, anyway!
10/9/08 8:20 AM
Karendee said...
But the skirt looks adorable on you. Sorry you don't care for the pattern.
10/9/08 1:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, my gosh, having to pick all those PLEATS apart! I can't believe it! :o) It must have just been the turn of the cloth that made enough difference in the sizing. BUT I will say the skirt looks SUPER CUTE on you! I hope you wear the heck out of it. :o)
10/9/08 4:51 PM
sewtime said...
It is a beautiful skirt. You look very pretty in it. Adding the pleat might have been a nightmare, but the way it looks on you it is worth it.
10/9/08 5:24 PM
fourkid said...
Like you, I am learning to sew the hard way - pattern instructions and picking! Very good insights about the pattern - but the end result is a beautiful skirt that looks lovely on you. Enjoy the beautiful product!
10/10/08 6:48 AM
Woolygal said...
After all that work it looks like you saved it. Looking good.
10/10/08 7:04 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I was thinking the same thing that Caitycat said- would this work well for my hips? I avoid pleated skirts just because of the added bulk of the pleat at the side hip. I honestly do think it's a cute skirt on you. Love your fabric! Seems like it would match with a ton of different tops.
10/10/08 9:04 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Something must be wrong with their sizing -- I agree with Ruthie, there's no way you are a size 22 (as proof, I notice you say you should have made a size 18 in that twirly Burda skirt you just made, and Burda normally has a closer fit). But anyway, I think this skirt is super cute on you. I love the soft grey corduroy. And am I ever jealous of how nice the all-round pleating looks on you, even from the back for heaven's sake! :)
10/17/08 11:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Ann T-top

photo
by: LynnRowe

Review