Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3841 (Threads skirt,pleat variation) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 362 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/08 1:05 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
It looks really nice! Thanks for the warning about the pleats, that'll come in handy!
10/9/08 1:24 AM
RuthieSews said...
I agree its poor from a design point of view, but have a flat area at the sides is more slimming IMHO. P.S. There is no way you are a size 22! At least you don't look it. Skirt came out really well and is a lovely smart yet comfortable look.
10/9/08 6:41 AM
Caitycat said...
Ahhh, I would be sewing a 22 - thanks for the info that the pleats are not at the side! (although perhaps on a hippy figure like mine, that flat side could be a good thing?) You look great in it, anyway!
10/9/08 8:20 AM
Karendee said...
But the skirt looks adorable on you. Sorry you don't care for the pattern.
10/9/08 1:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, my gosh, having to pick all those PLEATS apart! I can't believe it! :o) It must have just been the turn of the cloth that made enough difference in the sizing. BUT I will say the skirt looks SUPER CUTE on you! I hope you wear the heck out of it. :o)
10/9/08 4:51 PM
sewtime said...
It is a beautiful skirt. You look very pretty in it. Adding the pleat might have been a nightmare, but the way it looks on you it is worth it.
10/9/08 5:24 PM
fourkid said...
Like you, I am learning to sew the hard way - pattern instructions and picking! Very good insights about the pattern - but the end result is a beautiful skirt that looks lovely on you. Enjoy the beautiful product!
10/10/08 6:48 AM
Woolygal said...
After all that work it looks like you saved it. Looking good.
10/10/08 7:04 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I was thinking the same thing that Caitycat said- would this work well for my hips? I avoid pleated skirts just because of the added bulk of the pleat at the side hip. I honestly do think it's a cute skirt on you. Love your fabric! Seems like it would match with a ton of different tops.
10/10/08 9:04 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Something must be wrong with their sizing -- I agree with Ruthie, there's no way you are a size 22 (as proof, I notice you say you should have made a size 18 in that twirly Burda skirt you just made, and Burda normally has a closer fit). But anyway, I think this skirt is super cute on you. I love the soft grey corduroy. And am I ever jealous of how nice the all-round pleating looks on you, even from the back for heaven's sake! :)
10/17/08 11:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Liberty Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 3/24/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains PL000001
photo
Review by sfshaza on 1/26/11
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us