SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3841 (Threads skirt,pleat variation)

2 more reviews
Viewed 366 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/08 1:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Something must be wrong with their sizing -- I agree with Ruthie, there's no way you are a size 22 (as proof, I notice you say you should have made a size 18 in that twirly Burda skirt you just made, and Burda normally has a closer fit). But anyway, I think this skirt is super cute on you. I love the soft grey corduroy. And am I ever jealous of how nice the all-round pleating looks on you, even from the back for heaven's sake! :)
10/17/08 11:33 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I was thinking the same thing that Caitycat said- would this work well for my hips? I avoid pleated skirts just because of the added bulk of the pleat at the side hip. I honestly do think it's a cute skirt on you. Love your fabric! Seems like it would match with a ton of different tops.
10/10/08 9:04 AM
Woolygal said...
After all that work it looks like you saved it. Looking good.
10/10/08 7:04 AM
fourkid said...
Like you, I am learning to sew the hard way - pattern instructions and picking! Very good insights about the pattern - but the end result is a beautiful skirt that looks lovely on you. Enjoy the beautiful product!
10/10/08 6:48 AM
sewtime said...
It is a beautiful skirt. You look very pretty in it. Adding the pleat might have been a nightmare, but the way it looks on you it is worth it.
10/9/08 5:24 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, my gosh, having to pick all those PLEATS apart! I can't believe it! :o) It must have just been the turn of the cloth that made enough difference in the sizing. BUT I will say the skirt looks SUPER CUTE on you! I hope you wear the heck out of it. :o)
10/9/08 4:51 PM
Karendee said...
But the skirt looks adorable on you. Sorry you don't care for the pattern.
10/9/08 1:15 PM
Caitycat said...
Ahhh, I would be sewing a 22 - thanks for the info that the pleats are not at the side! (although perhaps on a hippy figure like mine, that flat side could be a good thing?) You look great in it, anyway!
10/9/08 8:20 AM
RuthieSews said...
I agree its poor from a design point of view, but have a flat area at the sides is more slimming IMHO. P.S. There is no way you are a size 22! At least you don't look it. Skirt came out really well and is a lovely smart yet comfortable look.
10/9/08 6:41 AM
JenSews2 said...
It looks really nice! Thanks for the warning about the pleats, that'll come in handy!
10/9/08 1:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Jalie 2920

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 6471

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

More Info