Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
CNT: 1001 (All Piecing Aside) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 586 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo
Friend of PR
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/08 7:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
I'll have to try the maze quilting. I had never heard of it before. It sure would help keep the fabric from slipping without using a lot of pins, etc. Forget basting, I tried that once and kept getting my presser foot caught. You can tell I'm not much of a quilter. Love the colors. Your jacket looks great on you.
10/21/08 8:27 PM
marec said...
Thanks for an interesting review. I do NOT have time to learn a new craft but your description of the echo quilting really piqued my interest. Beautiful jacket-I can't wait to see the one you are planning out of wool.
10/21/08 9:17 PM
Maggie Cat said...
Very interesting techniques. Your jacket is very pretty. I never heard of the this company or thier patterns. I did see one I was interested in but there are no line drawings or sizing information/measurements. So I guess I am asking what lead you to this company and pattern? You seem to be very pleased with the pattern and the outcome. Thanks!
10/21/08 9:47 PM
j222b said...
Fabulous review!!
10/21/08 10:31 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Maggie Cat, the thing that got me involved with this company was seeing one of their patterns through a catalog (Xceptional Dress). I liked the idea of a patchwork dress, however, that pattern had some problems (see my review dated 7/23/08). I decided I would give the company another try by working with another pattern and this time everything worked well.
10/21/08 11:20 PM
Woolygal said...
thanks for this review. the sleeve cap tip is a good one.
10/22/08 7:07 AM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful - I just love the colors you used.
10/22/08 9:19 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you, clin. I just saw the ones I wanted, and used the outside envelope as a guide.
10/22/08 9:11 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, I love this! What a creative use of cotton for a garment and what a gorgeous contest entry!
10/23/08 2:35 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you, Michele. I am really happy with it.
10/23/08 7:00 PM
3KillerBs said...
Beautiful, harmonious color selections. The asymmetrical closure lets the piecing shine without a bunch of seams breaking it up.
10/26/08 7:51 PM
JustTrina said...
Fantastic Jacket. wonderfully executed, totally creative, great fabric choices! just absolutely lovely!!
10/31/08 4:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beth, absolutely gorgeous jacket! Your color choices and combinations, your meticulous echo quilting - all merge to create this Beauty. I had to smile at your picture dyslexia, as illustrations sometimes leave me more puzzled than enlightened, too. Excellent review with lots of tips and techniques, too. Thank you for that. Very, very lovely, Lily
11/2/08 11:28 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket. Absolutely love your fabric choices.
11/18/08 5:54 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute jacket.
8/11/09 8:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Kwik Sew 2849
photo
Review by JKimes on 12/14/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6668
photo
Review by beanchor on 5/19/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us