SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> CNT> 1001 (All Piecing Aside)

2 more reviews
Viewed 586 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/08 7:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
I'll have to try the maze quilting. I had never heard of it before. It sure would help keep the fabric from slipping without using a lot of pins, etc. Forget basting, I tried that once and kept getting my presser foot caught. You can tell I'm not much of a quilter. Love the colors. Your jacket looks great on you.
10/21/08 8:27 PM
marec said...
Thanks for an interesting review. I do NOT have time to learn a new craft but your description of the echo quilting really piqued my interest. Beautiful jacket-I can't wait to see the one you are planning out of wool.
10/21/08 9:17 PM
Maggie Cat said...
Very interesting techniques. Your jacket is very pretty. I never heard of the this company or thier patterns. I did see one I was interested in but there are no line drawings or sizing information/measurements. So I guess I am asking what lead you to this company and pattern? You seem to be very pleased with the pattern and the outcome. Thanks!
10/21/08 9:47 PM
j222b said...
Fabulous review!!
10/21/08 10:31 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Maggie Cat, the thing that got me involved with this company was seeing one of their patterns through a catalog (Xceptional Dress). I liked the idea of a patchwork dress, however, that pattern had some problems (see my review dated 7/23/08). I decided I would give the company another try by working with another pattern and this time everything worked well.
10/21/08 11:20 PM
Woolygal said...
thanks for this review. the sleeve cap tip is a good one.
10/22/08 7:07 AM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful - I just love the colors you used.
10/22/08 9:19 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you, clin. I just saw the ones I wanted, and used the outside envelope as a guide.
10/22/08 9:11 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, I love this! What a creative use of cotton for a garment and what a gorgeous contest entry!
10/23/08 2:35 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you, Michele. I am really happy with it.
10/23/08 7:00 PM
3KillerBs said...
Beautiful, harmonious color selections. The asymmetrical closure lets the piecing shine without a bunch of seams breaking it up.
10/26/08 7:51 PM
JustTrina said...
Fantastic Jacket. wonderfully executed, totally creative, great fabric choices! just absolutely lovely!!
10/31/08 4:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beth, absolutely gorgeous jacket! Your color choices and combinations, your meticulous echo quilting - all merge to create this Beauty. I had to smile at your picture dyslexia, as illustrations sometimes leave me more puzzled than enlightened, too. Excellent review with lots of tips and techniques, too. Thank you for that. Very, very lovely, Lily
11/2/08 11:28 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket. Absolutely love your fabric choices.
11/18/08 5:54 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute jacket.
8/11/09 8:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 125587-1008

photo
by: treefrog

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now