SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2008-13 (Sweet Nelly Wool Jacket)

Viewed 574 times 
Reviewed by:mlsews
photo

 
 
About mlsewsstar
CA
Member since: 9/6/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/08 11:01 PM
Last Updated:11/20/08 11:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peacock Chic said...
OMG that is super cute!! i love the fabric and the cute little pockets. Love it!
10/10/08 11:16 PM
sewtime said...
Really do think your jacket is very cute. Maybe you will change your mind.
10/11/08 0:24 AM
Annette1 said...
This is SO DANG CUTE THOUGH! What if you actually STITCHED DOWN your belt all the way around the waist, just as you have it pictured on the dress form, and then left the tails of the belt loose to tie? You could pin it in place right there on the dress form, then take it off, try it for placement, and stitch it down. This is too cute to give up!
10/11/08 2:30 AM
RuthieSews said...
I love it belted, great save. I think those smock style coats , blouses and dresses are hard to wear on a normal figure, tend to look a bit shapeless.
10/11/08 8:42 AM
mlsews said...
Thanks ladies. I did stitch down the belt and I know I'll wear it. Its one of those things that will sit for a little bit before I put it on. Just not as thrilled as I wanted to be.
10/11/08 11:40 AM
Kay Y said...
I'm with the others - I think it's very cute and fun-looking. Should be just the thing to wear while chasing a 4 year old.
10/11/08 12:20 PM
Christas said...
This looks wonderful! Sorry it didn't work out like you wanted ... still it is very cute!
10/11/08 1:17 PM
Amanda S. said...
I agree that it was a little shapelesss before the belt, but with the built-in belt it's really cute! I hope you get some wear out of it. I think you totally saved it.
10/11/08 1:58 PM
Karendee said...
I think the coat is really cute; you must wear it after you let the idea "settle in." the fabric is also just the type to perk up simple jeans and T running after a 4yr. old.
10/11/08 3:35 PM
HLT said...
Very fun Jacket! I have a bag to match! LOL!!
10/11/08 7:37 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I first clicked on your picture and was drooling over your jacket. And then when I saw you didn't like it my jaw dropped. I think it's fabulous and I adore your fabric as well.
11/16/08 10:27 AM
Lori V said...
Darling jacket, both of them.
11/20/08 11:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, what an inspiration you and your jackets are! Meggie LuLu and Christa gave me a subscription to the Ottobre magazine, and THIS was one of my favorite patterns. I LOVE yours. :o) That belt just make it!
11/21/08 1:59 AM
Christas said...
Ooooooooooh! I loved the first version, but I REALLY love the second version!!! I am planning on making this jacket... thanks for taking the time to review the changes you made in the pattern. I will keep those things in mind when sewing mine!
11/22/08 10:24 AM
Beek said...
This looks like a designer jacket. I love the pockets and the belted waist. So cute!
11/22/08 1:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely very cute!
11/22/08 1:39 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty and feminine - what a lovely jacket!
11/22/08 5:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-135

photo
by: Merche

Review