Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2008-13 (Sweet Nelly Wool Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 573 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:mlsews
photo
About mlsewsstar
CA
Member since: 9/6/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/08 11:01 PM
Last Updated:11/20/08 11:36 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peacock Chic said...
OMG that is super cute!! i love the fabric and the cute little pockets. Love it!
10/10/08 11:16 PM
sewtime said...
Really do think your jacket is very cute. Maybe you will change your mind.
10/11/08 0:24 AM
Annette1 said...
This is SO DANG CUTE THOUGH! What if you actually STITCHED DOWN your belt all the way around the waist, just as you have it pictured on the dress form, and then left the tails of the belt loose to tie? You could pin it in place right there on the dress form, then take it off, try it for placement, and stitch it down. This is too cute to give up!
10/11/08 2:30 AM
RuthieSews said...
I love it belted, great save. I think those smock style coats , blouses and dresses are hard to wear on a normal figure, tend to look a bit shapeless.
10/11/08 8:42 AM
mlsews said...
Thanks ladies. I did stitch down the belt and I know I'll wear it. Its one of those things that will sit for a little bit before I put it on. Just not as thrilled as I wanted to be.
10/11/08 11:40 AM
Kay Y said...
I'm with the others - I think it's very cute and fun-looking. Should be just the thing to wear while chasing a 4 year old.
10/11/08 12:20 PM
Christas said...
This looks wonderful! Sorry it didn't work out like you wanted ... still it is very cute!
10/11/08 1:17 PM
Amanda S. said...
I agree that it was a little shapelesss before the belt, but with the built-in belt it's really cute! I hope you get some wear out of it. I think you totally saved it.
10/11/08 1:58 PM
Karendee said...
I think the coat is really cute; you must wear it after you let the idea "settle in." the fabric is also just the type to perk up simple jeans and T running after a 4yr. old.
10/11/08 3:35 PM
HLT said...
Very fun Jacket! I have a bag to match! LOL!!
10/11/08 7:37 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I first clicked on your picture and was drooling over your jacket. And then when I saw you didn't like it my jaw dropped. I think it's fabulous and I adore your fabric as well.
11/16/08 10:27 AM
Lori V said...
Darling jacket, both of them.
11/20/08 11:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, what an inspiration you and your jackets are! Meggie LuLu and Christa gave me a subscription to the Ottobre magazine, and THIS was one of my favorite patterns. I LOVE yours. :o) That belt just make it!
11/21/08 1:59 AM
Christas said...
Ooooooooooh! I loved the first version, but I REALLY love the second version!!! I am planning on making this jacket... thanks for taking the time to review the changes you made in the pattern. I will keep those things in mind when sewing mine!
11/22/08 10:24 AM
Beek said...
This looks like a designer jacket. I love the pockets and the belted waist. So cute!
11/22/08 1:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely very cute!
11/22/08 1:39 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty and feminine - what a lovely jacket!
11/22/08 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 3877
photo
Review by divaknitti... on 7/18/09
Read Review

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5225
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 7/27/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us