SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2008-13 (Sweet Nelly Wool Jacket)

Viewed 575 times 
Reviewed by:mlsews
photo

 
 
About mlsewsstar
CA
Member since: 9/6/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/08 11:01 PM
Last Updated:11/20/08 11:36 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty and feminine - what a lovely jacket!
11/22/08 5:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely very cute!
11/22/08 1:39 PM
Beek said...
This looks like a designer jacket. I love the pockets and the belted waist. So cute!
11/22/08 1:32 PM
Christas said...
Ooooooooooh! I loved the first version, but I REALLY love the second version!!! I am planning on making this jacket... thanks for taking the time to review the changes you made in the pattern. I will keep those things in mind when sewing mine!
11/22/08 10:24 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, what an inspiration you and your jackets are! Meggie LuLu and Christa gave me a subscription to the Ottobre magazine, and THIS was one of my favorite patterns. I LOVE yours. :o) That belt just make it!
11/21/08 1:59 AM
Lori V said...
Darling jacket, both of them.
11/20/08 11:38 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I first clicked on your picture and was drooling over your jacket. And then when I saw you didn't like it my jaw dropped. I think it's fabulous and I adore your fabric as well.
11/16/08 10:27 AM
HLT said...
Very fun Jacket! I have a bag to match! LOL!!
10/11/08 7:37 PM
Karendee said...
I think the coat is really cute; you must wear it after you let the idea "settle in." the fabric is also just the type to perk up simple jeans and T running after a 4yr. old.
10/11/08 3:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
I agree that it was a little shapelesss before the belt, but with the built-in belt it's really cute! I hope you get some wear out of it. I think you totally saved it.
10/11/08 1:58 PM
Christas said...
This looks wonderful! Sorry it didn't work out like you wanted ... still it is very cute!
10/11/08 1:17 PM
Kay Y said...
I'm with the others - I think it's very cute and fun-looking. Should be just the thing to wear while chasing a 4 year old.
10/11/08 12:20 PM
mlsews said...
Thanks ladies. I did stitch down the belt and I know I'll wear it. Its one of those things that will sit for a little bit before I put it on. Just not as thrilled as I wanted to be.
10/11/08 11:40 AM
RuthieSews said...
I love it belted, great save. I think those smock style coats , blouses and dresses are hard to wear on a normal figure, tend to look a bit shapeless.
10/11/08 8:42 AM
Annette1 said...
This is SO DANG CUTE THOUGH! What if you actually STITCHED DOWN your belt all the way around the waist, just as you have it pictured on the dress form, and then left the tails of the belt loose to tie? You could pin it in place right there on the dress form, then take it off, try it for placement, and stitch it down. This is too cute to give up!
10/11/08 2:30 AM
sewtime said...
Really do think your jacket is very cute. Maybe you will change your mind.
10/11/08 0:24 AM
Peacock Chic said...
OMG that is super cute!! i love the fabric and the cute little pockets. Love it!
10/10/08 11:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8496

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Butterick 5333

photo
by: Erinnb

Review
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now