Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1058 (MISSES' CARDIGAN AND TANK TOP) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Aunt Gail
photo
About Aunt Gailstar
OR USA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/08 7:53 AM
Last Updated:10/12/08 1:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
This is more than a muslin, it is very pretty. Love the material specially when it is not expensive!
10/11/08 1:18 PM
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have been about to try it with a similar fabric, but reading it, I thought the instructions for the ties were strange. Now I know that they are. I think I will get that other pattern that you recommend.
10/11/08 2:45 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely color for a nice top.
10/11/08 3:31 PM
Leora said...
I have this one too and puzzled over it last weekend. It seems like it would work if you were to sandwich the upper bodice inbetween the inner and outer tie pieces, then seam right sides together the outer tie with the lower bodice, then handstitch down the inner tie to the bottom bodice to hide that inner bottom seam. What do you think?
10/11/08 4:24 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review - I will try to figure out something easier for the ties when I make up the pattern as I don't like bulky seam layers. Your top turned out very nicely and such a lovely color.
10/11/08 4:28 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Leora: I tried the sandwich method--although I didn't mention it specifically in the review. It doesn't help because in order to keep the fabric tie self enclosed, the amount of layering remains the same. Look Back on this review to ADDitional Notes for my further comments, ok?
10/11/08 7:09 PM
tlmck3 said...
And I thought this looked like a nice, easy project when I bought the pattern! Thanks for the warning and the thorough review.
10/11/08 7:39 PM
sideseams said...
I tried this pattern a few weeks ago and thought the instructions were confusing. Ended up calling the pattern company about step # 23 ( I think). Could not picture how to attach the self belt in that step. The gal I spoke with was very nice and helpful. Some of your suggestions for altering the pattern make very good sense to me. I may try that. Thanks for the review.
10/11/08 8:53 PM
Leora said...
Ok, the part you just added about cutting the two together sounds like a good idea. I wonder if you couldn't just line the darn thing and deal with attaching the ties at the center front by creating a seamline there. Maybe stitch in the ditch from the rightside along the tie seams? I don't know. Too fun thinking up ideas though :)
10/11/08 9:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
Despite your challenges, you made this pattern work! I probably would have given up! The color and style look great. Thanks for your very helpful review!
10/11/08 9:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, covering all the bases, for your pretty sweater wrap. Though it sounds like the instructions were a stinker, you found a way around the parts you didn't like. Your sweater wrap is extremely flattering. Lovely, Lily
10/11/08 9:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, despite having to wrestle with all those layers, your sweater sure has turned out nicely, and the COLOR is perfect on you! I bet you'll get LOTS of wear out of it. :o) Great review, and very pretty cardigan!
10/12/08 1:40 AM
Caitycat said...
Thanks for the review - the instructions weren't making sense to me, either!
10/12/08 2:48 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for this review. It is a lovely color, and looks very cozy - and probably very lightweight to wear! Good luck on your next try.
10/22/08 6:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1056
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used Rag Jacket
photo
Review by Gail S on 11/15/04
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6781 Pattern
New Look 6781 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us