SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1058 (MISSES' CARDIGAN AND TANK TOP)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1058 times 
Reviewed by:Aunt Gail
photo

 
 
About Aunt Gailstar
OR USA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/08 7:53 AM
Last Updated:10/12/08 1:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Thanks for this review. It is a lovely color, and looks very cozy - and probably very lightweight to wear! Good luck on your next try.
10/22/08 6:32 PM
Caitycat said...
Thanks for the review - the instructions weren't making sense to me, either!
10/12/08 2:48 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, despite having to wrestle with all those layers, your sweater sure has turned out nicely, and the COLOR is perfect on you! I bet you'll get LOTS of wear out of it. :o) Great review, and very pretty cardigan!
10/12/08 1:40 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, covering all the bases, for your pretty sweater wrap. Though it sounds like the instructions were a stinker, you found a way around the parts you didn't like. Your sweater wrap is extremely flattering. Lovely, Lily
10/11/08 9:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Despite your challenges, you made this pattern work! I probably would have given up! The color and style look great. Thanks for your very helpful review!
10/11/08 9:19 PM
Leora said...
Ok, the part you just added about cutting the two together sounds like a good idea. I wonder if you couldn't just line the darn thing and deal with attaching the ties at the center front by creating a seamline there. Maybe stitch in the ditch from the rightside along the tie seams? I don't know. Too fun thinking up ideas though :)
10/11/08 9:06 PM
sideseams said...
I tried this pattern a few weeks ago and thought the instructions were confusing. Ended up calling the pattern company about step # 23 ( I think). Could not picture how to attach the self belt in that step. The gal I spoke with was very nice and helpful. Some of your suggestions for altering the pattern make very good sense to me. I may try that. Thanks for the review.
10/11/08 8:53 PM
tlmck3 said...
And I thought this looked like a nice, easy project when I bought the pattern! Thanks for the warning and the thorough review.
10/11/08 7:39 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Leora: I tried the sandwich method--although I didn't mention it specifically in the review. It doesn't help because in order to keep the fabric tie self enclosed, the amount of layering remains the same. Look Back on this review to ADDitional Notes for my further comments, ok?
10/11/08 7:09 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review - I will try to figure out something easier for the ties when I make up the pattern as I don't like bulky seam layers. Your top turned out very nicely and such a lovely color.
10/11/08 4:28 PM
Leora said...
I have this one too and puzzled over it last weekend. It seems like it would work if you were to sandwich the upper bodice inbetween the inner and outer tie pieces, then seam right sides together the outer tie with the lower bodice, then handstitch down the inner tie to the bottom bodice to hide that inner bottom seam. What do you think?
10/11/08 4:24 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely color for a nice top.
10/11/08 3:31 PM
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have been about to try it with a similar fabric, but reading it, I thought the instructions for the ties were strange. Now I know that they are. I think I will get that other pattern that you recommend.
10/11/08 2:45 PM
sewtime said...
This is more than a muslin, it is very pretty. Love the material specially when it is not expensive!
10/11/08 1:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6569

photo
by: sewdc

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now