SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1058 (MISSES' CARDIGAN AND TANK TOP)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1055 times 
Reviewed by:Aunt Gail
photo

 
 
About Aunt Gailstar
OR USA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/08 7:53 AM
Last Updated:10/12/08 1:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
This is more than a muslin, it is very pretty. Love the material specially when it is not expensive!
10/11/08 1:18 PM
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have been about to try it with a similar fabric, but reading it, I thought the instructions for the ties were strange. Now I know that they are. I think I will get that other pattern that you recommend.
10/11/08 2:45 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely color for a nice top.
10/11/08 3:31 PM
Leora said...
I have this one too and puzzled over it last weekend. It seems like it would work if you were to sandwich the upper bodice inbetween the inner and outer tie pieces, then seam right sides together the outer tie with the lower bodice, then handstitch down the inner tie to the bottom bodice to hide that inner bottom seam. What do you think?
10/11/08 4:24 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review - I will try to figure out something easier for the ties when I make up the pattern as I don't like bulky seam layers. Your top turned out very nicely and such a lovely color.
10/11/08 4:28 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Leora: I tried the sandwich method--although I didn't mention it specifically in the review. It doesn't help because in order to keep the fabric tie self enclosed, the amount of layering remains the same. Look Back on this review to ADDitional Notes for my further comments, ok?
10/11/08 7:09 PM
tlmck3 said...
And I thought this looked like a nice, easy project when I bought the pattern! Thanks for the warning and the thorough review.
10/11/08 7:39 PM
sideseams said...
I tried this pattern a few weeks ago and thought the instructions were confusing. Ended up calling the pattern company about step # 23 ( I think). Could not picture how to attach the self belt in that step. The gal I spoke with was very nice and helpful. Some of your suggestions for altering the pattern make very good sense to me. I may try that. Thanks for the review.
10/11/08 8:53 PM
Leora said...
Ok, the part you just added about cutting the two together sounds like a good idea. I wonder if you couldn't just line the darn thing and deal with attaching the ties at the center front by creating a seamline there. Maybe stitch in the ditch from the rightside along the tie seams? I don't know. Too fun thinking up ideas though :)
10/11/08 9:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
Despite your challenges, you made this pattern work! I probably would have given up! The color and style look great. Thanks for your very helpful review!
10/11/08 9:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review, covering all the bases, for your pretty sweater wrap. Though it sounds like the instructions were a stinker, you found a way around the parts you didn't like. Your sweater wrap is extremely flattering. Lovely, Lily
10/11/08 9:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, despite having to wrestle with all those layers, your sweater sure has turned out nicely, and the COLOR is perfect on you! I bet you'll get LOTS of wear out of it. :o) Great review, and very pretty cardigan!
10/12/08 1:40 AM
Caitycat said...
Thanks for the review - the instructions weren't making sense to me, either!
10/12/08 2:48 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for this review. It is a lovely color, and looks very cozy - and probably very lightweight to wear! Good luck on your next try.
10/22/08 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 220738-1010

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now