SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-117 (Knit bubble dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 741 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 149
Favored by: 222 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/08 3:57 PM
Last Updated:10/11/08 3:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
You look stunning, I love all your clothes
10/11/08 4:22 PM
mrsbewley said...
The dress is gorgeous and looks great on you!
10/11/08 4:25 PM
cabinbaby said...
Cute! I've been on the fence about whether I like this or not and I love your version!!
10/11/08 4:56 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress!
10/11/08 4:59 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/11/08 5:00 PM
kim*brown said...
Work it!
10/11/08 5:16 PM
Amanda S. said...
This is incredibly cute!!! I've never been a big fan of bubble skirts but in a knit it totally works! I'm going to take another look at this pattern now. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/11/08 5:19 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I fall in and out of love with bubble hems. I love this one!
10/11/08 6:19 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, that looks fabulous on you!
10/11/08 6:23 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love It!!! Great dress.
10/11/08 6:29 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute.
10/11/08 6:30 PM
HLT said...
Very cute lines. Great fit! The bubble hem looks much better with prints, almost hidden!!!
10/11/08 7:19 PM
Izzie said...
That dress is fabulous on you! I like it better than the BWOF version.
10/11/08 7:48 PM
Elke said...
Looks great on you! Love the fabric choice
10/11/08 7:59 PM
cindy-lou said...
Okay-- I love this dress on you! Very, very cute and almost Leeanne-from-project-runway with the twist in the bubble skirt. You look GREAT!
10/11/08 8:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress. I like the skirt part.
10/11/08 8:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Somehow I skipped the page for this dress! You brought life to this dress! Stunning on you!
10/11/08 8:40 PM
fabeins said...
That is a hot dress!
10/11/08 8:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Completely charming dress, Cidell. Like Louella (Heatherrique) I never even noticed this dress in the magazine, but you've certainly made it a stand out! I very much like the skirt and think it's more a twisty skirt than a bubble skirt. You look positively gorgeous in it, and I'm liking these color tones for your complextion ... a lot. Very lovely, Lily
10/11/08 9:18 PM
Bonnie O said...
Adorable!!
10/11/08 9:29 PM
blessedtosew said...
That dress is awesome and you look awesome in it!!! I am going to make that.
10/11/08 9:54 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
You look amazing in this dress. I absolutely love it although being much further away from being tall and small busted than you are I know it won't work on me, but it's still great to see this made up in real life.
10/11/08 11:08 PM
Nancywin said...
This is great. I love how the skirt has a twist to it.
10/11/08 11:21 PM
Karen8320 said...
Cidell, you look an absolute knockout in this dress! It's such an interesting design and the fabric makes a great statement to go with it. It's fantastic!
10/12/08 1:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I just saw a review for a bubble dress for a toddler, and now here you are in your own version of a bubble dress. :o) They're BOTH equally cute, too. That "bubble" is SO cute, and you wear it so well, too, 3" purple heels and all!
10/12/08 2:03 AM
kerrynw said...
Stunning look! I like your version of this dress better than BWOF.
10/12/08 2:53 AM
peaudane said...
It looks fabulous! So how do you iron a bubble skirt?
10/12/08 3:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I too feel a bit divided about bubble skirts, but this one is great - movement not exagerated poofiness, that must be the secret. And that print is to die for :-).
10/12/08 3:59 AM
Braemar said...
Stunning! Simply Stunning! Mary Anne
10/12/08 6:08 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful. I love your "eye" for color and design.
10/12/08 8:13 AM
Fran G said...
A great looking dress!
10/12/08 8:13 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I'm so glad you like this pattern and you "say" you don't fit the requirements for tall and small busted. I really wanted to make it but I fit the opposite requirements- short and busty. If it looks half as good on me as it does you, I'll be happy! Thanks for the review.
10/12/08 9:11 AM
emailtk said...
I love that dress!!!!!
10/12/08 10:39 AM
crisford said...
Wow! You look awesome! And I think you are so brave for even trying this...
10/12/08 11:34 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute dress, looks good on you!
10/12/08 11:40 AM
Timmithea said...
A leather biker jacket and boots would be fun with this print too. Nice dress:)
10/12/08 11:43 AM
DorothyK said...
This looks smashing on you.
10/12/08 2:01 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I just LOVE it!!! COOL fabric!!!
10/12/08 2:14 PM
Karendee said...
Wonderful!
10/12/08 3:46 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo! Love how mod you are in this! The skirt portion is *awesome*! Just the right amount of "bubble".
10/12/08 4:01 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
You look fantastic in your bubble twist dress. Ultra cute.
10/12/08 11:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm thinking that all bubble dresses should be made from knit - you've killed the pouffiness without losing the cuteness of the bubble. Love the colors on you.
10/13/08 9:34 AM
Beek said...
You look so cute in this dress!! I love it!
10/13/08 12:04 PM
Markie1 said...
Holy cow, Cidell, another winner. I am so glad you made this dress, because I just passed over it in Burda. Now, I have to make it-you look amazing.
10/13/08 1:26 PM
Christas said...
Wow! This looks fantastic on you!!!
10/13/08 8:45 PM
lmg said...
I totally dissed this pattern when I saw it but you make it rock...what a great knit and a beautiful dress
10/13/08 10:03 PM
Mahler said...
Very actual and original. This dress seams to have been designed for you. Your choice of fabric is wonderful.
10/18/08 8:36 AM
PhyllisC said...
Now normally I detest bubble skirts but I like this a LOT. And I think purple in any shade is really your color- it's glorious on you.
10/18/08 4:22 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Very cool. I don't wear that length much, would it be easy to lengthen or is the bubble too complicated?
10/19/08 12:38 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Adorable dress, I love the print!
10/21/08 9:45 AM
AnneM said...
What a neat dress. Will work perfectly with 1/2" purple heels. ;) (3"! Ouch!) Neat style.
10/22/08 6:27 PM
Knitters Delight said...
This came out beautifully. It looks like you are tall, with long legs, and a smaller chest. I am none of those things either, so I just might have to make one, too! Fab job.
11/11/08 6:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now