Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2008-117 (Knit bubble dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 741 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/11/08 3:57 PM
Last Updated:10/11/08 3:57 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
You look stunning, I love all your clothes
10/11/08 4:22 PM
mrsbewley said...
The dress is gorgeous and looks great on you!
10/11/08 4:25 PM
cabinbaby said...
Cute! I've been on the fence about whether I like this or not and I love your version!!
10/11/08 4:56 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress!
10/11/08 4:59 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/11/08 5:00 PM
kim*brown said...
Work it!
10/11/08 5:16 PM
Amanda S. said...
This is incredibly cute!!! I've never been a big fan of bubble skirts but in a knit it totally works! I'm going to take another look at this pattern now. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/11/08 5:19 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I fall in and out of love with bubble hems. I love this one!
10/11/08 6:19 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow, that looks fabulous on you!
10/11/08 6:23 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love It!!! Great dress.
10/11/08 6:29 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute.
10/11/08 6:30 PM
HLT said...
Very cute lines. Great fit! The bubble hem looks much better with prints, almost hidden!!!
10/11/08 7:19 PM
Izzie said...
That dress is fabulous on you! I like it better than the BWOF version.
10/11/08 7:48 PM
Elke said...
Looks great on you! Love the fabric choice
10/11/08 7:59 PM
cindy-lou said...
Okay-- I love this dress on you! Very, very cute and almost Leeanne-from-project-runway with the twist in the bubble skirt. You look GREAT!
10/11/08 8:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress. I like the skirt part.
10/11/08 8:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Somehow I skipped the page for this dress! You brought life to this dress! Stunning on you!
10/11/08 8:40 PM
fabeins said...
That is a hot dress!
10/11/08 8:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Completely charming dress, Cidell. Like Louella (Heatherrique) I never even noticed this dress in the magazine, but you've certainly made it a stand out! I very much like the skirt and think it's more a twisty skirt than a bubble skirt. You look positively gorgeous in it, and I'm liking these color tones for your complextion ... a lot. Very lovely, Lily
10/11/08 9:18 PM
Bonnie O said...
Adorable!!
10/11/08 9:29 PM
blessedtosew said...
That dress is awesome and you look awesome in it!!! I am going to make that.
10/11/08 9:54 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
You look amazing in this dress. I absolutely love it although being much further away from being tall and small busted than you are I know it won't work on me, but it's still great to see this made up in real life.
10/11/08 11:08 PM
Nancywin said...
This is great. I love how the skirt has a twist to it.
10/11/08 11:21 PM
Karen8320 said...
Cidell, you look an absolute knockout in this dress! It's such an interesting design and the fabric makes a great statement to go with it. It's fantastic!
10/12/08 1:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I just saw a review for a bubble dress for a toddler, and now here you are in your own version of a bubble dress. :o) They're BOTH equally cute, too. That "bubble" is SO cute, and you wear it so well, too, 3" purple heels and all!
10/12/08 2:03 AM
kerrynw said...
Stunning look! I like your version of this dress better than BWOF.
10/12/08 2:53 AM
peaudane said...
It looks fabulous! So how do you iron a bubble skirt?
10/12/08 3:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I too feel a bit divided about bubble skirts, but this one is great - movement not exagerated poofiness, that must be the secret. And that print is to die for :-).
10/12/08 3:59 AM
Braemar said...
Stunning! Simply Stunning! Mary Anne
10/12/08 6:08 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful. I love your "eye" for color and design.
10/12/08 8:13 AM
Fran G said...
A great looking dress!
10/12/08 8:13 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I'm so glad you like this pattern and you "say" you don't fit the requirements for tall and small busted. I really wanted to make it but I fit the opposite requirements- short and busty. If it looks half as good on me as it does you, I'll be happy! Thanks for the review.
10/12/08 9:11 AM
emailtk said...
I love that dress!!!!!
10/12/08 10:39 AM
crisford said...
Wow! You look awesome! And I think you are so brave for even trying this...
10/12/08 11:34 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute dress, looks good on you!
10/12/08 11:40 AM
Timmithea said...
A leather biker jacket and boots would be fun with this print too. Nice dress:)
10/12/08 11:43 AM
DorothyK said...
This looks smashing on you.
10/12/08 2:01 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I just LOVE it!!! COOL fabric!!!
10/12/08 2:14 PM
Karendee said...
Wonderful!
10/12/08 3:46 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo! Love how mod you are in this! The skirt portion is *awesome*! Just the right amount of "bubble".
10/12/08 4:01 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
You look fantastic in your bubble twist dress. Ultra cute.
10/12/08 11:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm thinking that all bubble dresses should be made from knit - you've killed the pouffiness without losing the cuteness of the bubble. Love the colors on you.
10/13/08 9:34 AM
Beek said...
You look so cute in this dress!! I love it!
10/13/08 12:04 PM
Markie1 said...
Holy cow, Cidell, another winner. I am so glad you made this dress, because I just passed over it in Burda. Now, I have to make it-you look amazing.
10/13/08 1:26 PM
Christas said...
Wow! This looks fantastic on you!!!
10/13/08 8:45 PM
lmg said...
I totally dissed this pattern when I saw it but you make it rock...what a great knit and a beautiful dress
10/13/08 10:03 PM
Mahler said...
Very actual and original. This dress seams to have been designed for you. Your choice of fabric is wonderful.
10/18/08 8:36 AM
PhyllisC said...
Now normally I detest bubble skirts but I like this a LOT. And I think purple in any shade is really your color- it's glorious on you.
10/18/08 4:22 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Very cool. I don't wear that length much, would it be easy to lengthen or is the bubble too complicated?
10/19/08 12:38 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Adorable dress, I love the print!
10/21/08 9:45 AM
AnneM said...
What a neat dress. Will work perfectly with 1/2" purple heels. ;) (3"! Ouch!) Neat style.
10/22/08 6:27 PM
Knitters Delight said...
This came out beautifully. It looks like you are tall, with long legs, and a smaller chest. I am none of those things either, so I just might have to make one, too! Fab job.
11/11/08 6:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5764
photo
Review by Scheryka on 2/17/13
Read Review

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2315 Misses'
photo
Review by Scheryka on 9/7/11
Read Review

New Look 6356 Pattern
New Look 6356 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1927 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1927 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us