SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2752 (Guy Laroche)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2164 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/03 8:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharon M said...
Ruth, I will need to pull out the pattern and look at my notes. Give me a few days :-)
7/23/06 9:14 PM
RuthNelson said...
I would love more information on how you made the full bust adjustment.
7/22/06 11:21 PM
Debra H said...
I just finished this jacket and love it...get many compliments. However, my problem was finding the best locations for the inside snaps that hold the jacket together. I found that I needed to sew the waistline snap through the facing to the main fabric front or it pulled the facing away from the jacket. So glad that I interfaced the entire jacket as the instructions call for. I also had to add an upper snap about 4 inches below collar bone....almost exposed myself when I turned in my chair at certain angles. Other than that, this is a great pattern with very flattering lines.
9/14/04 11:32 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket!
3/16/04 0:10 AM
Terri K said...
Great jacket - see Threads May04 for several modifications. I had to buy this one!
3/6/04 5:30 PM
Oziroo said...
I just found your review( i am quite new to all this) and feel very interested in attempting this pattern as a result of reading it. i have my sights set on a 'formallish' jacket to go over a silk dress for a wedding and I think this might be it. Thank you
11/22/03 10:42 PM
valerie sews said...
Sharon, Thank you for your review and for including the photo of the underarm panel. What an interesting jacket. It looks really good.
11/15/03 4:45 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
Sharon, I think your jacket is MUCH nicer than the Vogue pattern - I saw the pattern before and thought it was pretty yukky but you've completely changed my mind! Maybe it was just my pathological hatred of yellow and flared pants! You did a beautiful job & I agree it does look quite Asian - would be great in a silk brocade. Thanks for your review.
9/4/03 5:26 PM
Diane E said...
Wow! Isn't this a beautiful jacket! Thanks for the review and thanks for sharing this interesting design.
9/3/03 5:29 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Sharon, you say you've Intermediate sewing skill??? Look at this jacket--and your "dress code" sewing experience. Surely you're too modest! Beautiful spring color. I giggled how you gained weight into a size 12--I'd have to lose to get there. :)
9/3/03 4:49 PM
Liana said...
Have you tried the shoulder pads from Textile Studio? They're a small size, and really don't look like you're wearing a shoulder pad, just gives you some definition in the shoulder line. Your jacket looks beautiful.
9/3/03 2:45 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful! I love the lines of the jacket.
9/3/03 12:20 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for the review Sharon. I bought this pattern too because it seems to have such flattering lines. Your jacket looks wonderful.
9/3/03 11:15 AM
Teri said...
Thanks for the good review. I love your jacket!.......and the Dynasty comment made me smile:)
9/3/03 11:12 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for your review, Sharon; it was very helpful and I really like your result. I've had this pattern since it came out but haven't been ready to commit to making it. Your review has really helped.
9/3/03 10:31 AM
AnneM said...
That looks lovely. Very interesting design features included in this pattern; I do like that about some of the Vogue patterns.
9/3/03 9:42 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your jacket. I know what you mean about the pads- I ordered some from Peggy Sagers recently and they are 1" thick. I thought "Dynasty" too!!
9/3/03 9:25 AM
Ann C said...
Very nice work that resulted in such a neat jacket. I had never heard of an that underarm panel detail like that. I enjoyed your review.
9/3/03 9:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

More Info