Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2752 (Guy Laroche) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2162 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/03 8:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann C said...
Very nice work that resulted in such a neat jacket. I had never heard of an that underarm panel detail like that. I enjoyed your review.
9/3/03 9:16 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your jacket. I know what you mean about the pads- I ordered some from Peggy Sagers recently and they are 1" thick. I thought "Dynasty" too!!
9/3/03 9:25 AM
AnneM said...
That looks lovely. Very interesting design features included in this pattern; I do like that about some of the Vogue patterns.
9/3/03 9:42 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for your review, Sharon; it was very helpful and I really like your result. I've had this pattern since it came out but haven't been ready to commit to making it. Your review has really helped.
9/3/03 10:31 AM
Teri said...
Thanks for the good review. I love your jacket!.......and the Dynasty comment made me smile:)
9/3/03 11:12 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for the review Sharon. I bought this pattern too because it seems to have such flattering lines. Your jacket looks wonderful.
9/3/03 11:15 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful! I love the lines of the jacket.
9/3/03 12:20 PM
Liana said...
Have you tried the shoulder pads from Textile Studio? They're a small size, and really don't look like you're wearing a shoulder pad, just gives you some definition in the shoulder line. Your jacket looks beautiful.
9/3/03 2:45 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Sharon, you say you've Intermediate sewing skill??? Look at this jacket--and your "dress code" sewing experience. Surely you're too modest! Beautiful spring color. I giggled how you gained weight into a size 12--I'd have to lose to get there. :)
9/3/03 4:49 PM
Diane E said...
Wow! Isn't this a beautiful jacket! Thanks for the review and thanks for sharing this interesting design.
9/3/03 5:29 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Sharon, I think your jacket is MUCH nicer than the Vogue pattern - I saw the pattern before and thought it was pretty yukky but you've completely changed my mind! Maybe it was just my pathological hatred of yellow and flared pants! You did a beautiful job & I agree it does look quite Asian - would be great in a silk brocade. Thanks for your review.
9/4/03 5:26 PM
valerie sews said...
Sharon, Thank you for your review and for including the photo of the underarm panel. What an interesting jacket. It looks really good.
11/15/03 4:45 AM
Oziroo said...
I just found your review( i am quite new to all this) and feel very interested in attempting this pattern as a result of reading it. i have my sights set on a 'formallish' jacket to go over a silk dress for a wedding and I think this might be it. Thank you
11/22/03 10:42 PM
Terri K said...
Great jacket - see Threads May04 for several modifications. I had to buy this one!
3/6/04 5:30 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket!
3/16/04 0:10 AM
Debra H said...
I just finished this jacket and love it...get many compliments. However, my problem was finding the best locations for the inside snaps that hold the jacket together. I found that I needed to sew the waistline snap through the facing to the main fabric front or it pulled the facing away from the jacket. So glad that I interfaced the entire jacket as the instructions call for. I also had to add an upper snap about 4 inches below collar bone....almost exposed myself when I turned in my chair at certain angles. Other than that, this is a great pattern with very flattering lines.
9/14/04 11:32 AM
RuthNelson said...
I would love more information on how you made the full bust adjustment.
7/22/06 11:21 PM
Sharon M said...
Ruth, I will need to pull out the pattern and look at my notes. Give me a few days :-)
7/23/06 9:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 5433 shirts
photo
Review by OP Gal on 1/3/10
Read Review

Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7330 Pattern
Burda 7330 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6009 JJ Blouse
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 3/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us