SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2752 (Guy Laroche)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2165 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/03 8:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharon M said... (7/23/06 9:14 PM) Reply
Ruth, I will need to pull out the pattern and look at my notes. Give me a few days :-)
RuthNelson said... (7/22/06 11:21 PM) Reply
I would love more information on how you made the full bust adjustment.
Debra H said... (9/14/04 11:32 AM) Reply
I just finished this jacket and love it...get many compliments. However, my problem was finding the best locations for the inside snaps that hold the jacket together. I found that I needed to sew the waistline snap through the facing to the main fabric front or it pulled the facing away from the jacket. So glad that I interfaced the entire jacket as the instructions call for. I also had to add an upper snap about 4 inches below collar bone....almost exposed myself when I turned in my chair at certain angles. Other than that, this is a great pattern with very flattering lines.
Jennifer shaw said... (3/16/04 0:10 AM) Reply
What a beautiful jacket!
Terri K said... (3/6/04 5:30 PM) Reply
Great jacket - see Threads May04 for several modifications. I had to buy this one!
Oziroo said... (11/22/03 10:42 PM) Reply
I just found your review( i am quite new to all this) and feel very interested in attempting this pattern as a result of reading it. i have my sights set on a 'formallish' jacket to go over a silk dress for a wedding and I think this might be it. Thank you
valerie sews said... (11/15/03 4:45 AM) Reply
Sharon, Thank you for your review and for including the photo of the underarm panel. What an interesting jacket. It looks really good.
Jennie Pakula said... (9/4/03 5:26 PM) Reply
Sharon, I think your jacket is MUCH nicer than the Vogue pattern - I saw the pattern before and thought it was pretty yukky but you've completely changed my mind! Maybe it was just my pathological hatred of yellow and flared pants! You did a beautiful job & I agree it does look quite Asian - would be great in a silk brocade. Thanks for your review.
Diane E said... (9/3/03 5:29 PM) Reply
Wow! Isn't this a beautiful jacket! Thanks for the review and thanks for sharing this interesting design.
Katharine in BXL said... (9/3/03 4:49 PM) Reply
Sharon, you say you've Intermediate sewing skill??? Look at this jacket--and your "dress code" sewing experience. Surely you're too modest! Beautiful spring color. I giggled how you gained weight into a size 12--I'd have to lose to get there. :)
Liana said... (9/3/03 2:45 PM) Reply
Have you tried the shoulder pads from Textile Studio? They're a small size, and really don't look like you're wearing a shoulder pad, just gives you some definition in the shoulder line. Your jacket looks beautiful.
GorgeousFabrics said... (9/3/03 12:20 PM) Reply
Beautiful! I love the lines of the jacket.
Ann Smith said... (9/3/03 11:15 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review Sharon. I bought this pattern too because it seems to have such flattering lines. Your jacket looks wonderful.
Teri said... (9/3/03 11:12 AM) Reply
Thanks for the good review. I love your jacket!.......and the Dynasty comment made me smile:)
jlg said... (9/3/03 10:31 AM) Reply
Thanks for your review, Sharon; it was very helpful and I really like your result. I've had this pattern since it came out but haven't been ready to commit to making it. Your review has really helped.
AnneM said... (9/3/03 9:42 AM) Reply
That looks lovely. Very interesting design features included in this pattern; I do like that about some of the Vogue patterns.
SouthernStitch said... (9/3/03 9:25 AM) Reply
Love your jacket. I know what you mean about the pads- I ordered some from Peggy Sagers recently and they are 1" thick. I thought "Dynasty" too!!
Ann C said... (9/3/03 9:16 AM) Reply
Very nice work that resulted in such a neat jacket. I had never heard of an that underarm panel detail like that. I enjoyed your review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

McCall's 6751

photo
by: ntpolite

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 8353

photo
by: JeannieWat...

Review