SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2752 (Guy Laroche)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2164 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/03 8:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharon M said...
Ruth, I will need to pull out the pattern and look at my notes. Give me a few days :-)
7/23/06 9:14 PM
RuthNelson said...
I would love more information on how you made the full bust adjustment.
7/22/06 11:21 PM
Debra H said...
I just finished this jacket and love it...get many compliments. However, my problem was finding the best locations for the inside snaps that hold the jacket together. I found that I needed to sew the waistline snap through the facing to the main fabric front or it pulled the facing away from the jacket. So glad that I interfaced the entire jacket as the instructions call for. I also had to add an upper snap about 4 inches below collar bone....almost exposed myself when I turned in my chair at certain angles. Other than that, this is a great pattern with very flattering lines.
9/14/04 11:32 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a beautiful jacket!
3/16/04 0:10 AM
Terri K said...
Great jacket - see Threads May04 for several modifications. I had to buy this one!
3/6/04 5:30 PM
Oziroo said...
I just found your review( i am quite new to all this) and feel very interested in attempting this pattern as a result of reading it. i have my sights set on a 'formallish' jacket to go over a silk dress for a wedding and I think this might be it. Thank you
11/22/03 10:42 PM
valerie sews said...
Sharon, Thank you for your review and for including the photo of the underarm panel. What an interesting jacket. It looks really good.
11/15/03 4:45 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
Sharon, I think your jacket is MUCH nicer than the Vogue pattern - I saw the pattern before and thought it was pretty yukky but you've completely changed my mind! Maybe it was just my pathological hatred of yellow and flared pants! You did a beautiful job & I agree it does look quite Asian - would be great in a silk brocade. Thanks for your review.
9/4/03 5:26 PM
Diane E said...
Wow! Isn't this a beautiful jacket! Thanks for the review and thanks for sharing this interesting design.
9/3/03 5:29 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Sharon, you say you've Intermediate sewing skill??? Look at this jacket--and your "dress code" sewing experience. Surely you're too modest! Beautiful spring color. I giggled how you gained weight into a size 12--I'd have to lose to get there. :)
9/3/03 4:49 PM
Liana said...
Have you tried the shoulder pads from Textile Studio? They're a small size, and really don't look like you're wearing a shoulder pad, just gives you some definition in the shoulder line. Your jacket looks beautiful.
9/3/03 2:45 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful! I love the lines of the jacket.
9/3/03 12:20 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for the review Sharon. I bought this pattern too because it seems to have such flattering lines. Your jacket looks wonderful.
9/3/03 11:15 AM
Teri said...
Thanks for the good review. I love your jacket!.......and the Dynasty comment made me smile:)
9/3/03 11:12 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for your review, Sharon; it was very helpful and I really like your result. I've had this pattern since it came out but haven't been ready to commit to making it. Your review has really helped.
9/3/03 10:31 AM
AnneM said...
That looks lovely. Very interesting design features included in this pattern; I do like that about some of the Vogue patterns.
9/3/03 9:42 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love your jacket. I know what you mean about the pads- I ordered some from Peggy Sagers recently and they are 1" thick. I thought "Dynasty" too!!
9/3/03 9:25 AM
Ann C said...
Very nice work that resulted in such a neat jacket. I had never heard of an that underarm panel detail like that. I enjoyed your review.
9/3/03 9:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Butterick 4788

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info