SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1060 (MISSES' COAT)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1310 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/08 12:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonnie O said...
Gorgeous, Sharon!!
10/12/08 12:27 PM
Dei said...
Beautiful and what a creative use of fabric.
10/12/08 12:32 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a marvelous review. I especially liked the TRUE Confessions of the review, in which you admittedly skipped a step and then had to rectify it. THAT is why we love in depth Pattern Reviews. I print out ones like yours when I sew the pattern. It is like having the Voice of Wisdom--or at least--Experience right next to me. The INSIDE of your coat is just as exciting as the outside. Your extra effort certainly shows with the pix you provided.
10/12/08 1:16 PM
marec said...
Very nice coat Sharon. I love the fabric and think the design is so chic. I have just fiished a jacket using upholestry fabric so I was interested to see the inside finishes on your work. Mine is not nearly as nice! Thanks for sharing, marec
10/12/08 1:19 PM
Rebecca D said...
What a lovely version of this coat and thank you so much for reviewing it. I have my fabric picked out, I just have to make time to sew it. Your review was extremely helpful.
10/12/08 1:48 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I have a large SB pattern collection and was going to pass this one by but I think you have convinced me not to.
10/12/08 1:52 PM
lyra said...
That is such a beautiful, swanky looking coat! :-)
10/12/08 2:19 PM
sewtime said...
Really a beautiful coat! Love the fabric.
10/12/08 3:17 PM
Karendee said...
Not only is your coat beautiful, it has lovely workmanship. I found the inside back view so interesting, that I "dreamed" about making the coat with the seams sewn right side out with a lovely contrast trim. I thought it was a great idea. I do have this pattern and plan to make it in some form. Thanks for this thorough review.
10/12/08 3:27 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat. Thank you for all the tips. I can visual it in denim for the spring - I think it would look great.
10/12/08 3:47 PM
Annette1 said...
I've mulled this pattern over many a time, wondering how it would look made up "for real." Well, now I know: EXQUISITE! I just LOVE this, EVERY LITTLE DETAIL. Brilliant choice of fabric, too. How about next time you have something that requires hand sewing, you send it to me, and in return I'll send you ALL of my ironing? :o)
10/12/08 4:59 PM
RLL said...
Love the coat, love the fabric. Your version is so much nicer than the envelope version. I would never purchase that pattern by the envelope pic, but your coat is much more convincing of a purchase. Thanks for a nice detailed review too.
10/12/08 5:00 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous coat.
10/12/08 8:14 PM
Kay Y said...
I like the inside as much as the outside! Gotta love HK finished seams, especially in such a snappy contrast fabric.
10/12/08 9:45 PM
Josephine said...
That is great!! Now I want one! :-)
10/12/08 11:13 PM
EveS said...
I'd be happy w/ 9 mos of coat weather if I had this coat!! Love your fabric and the tie, too! Great stuff, Sharon! ps - Please don't smoke. ;) heehee
10/12/08 11:19 PM
Kitty Couture said...
This looks fantastic!
10/13/08 4:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice!
10/13/08 5:35 AM
Darla in PA said...
Cute coat!
10/13/08 6:42 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is absolutely gorgeous, I would never have looked at this pattern before seeing your review. Love the fabric, sleeve hem shape and the tie waist detail.
10/13/08 8:17 AM
moushka said...
Very chic. SB has a gallery page on her website. You should send her a picture of your coat, I'm sure she'd love it! Great review, thanks for the warning about the darts.
10/13/08 11:29 AM
Beek said...
Fun coat! And what a wonderful review. Thanks!
10/13/08 12:02 PM
Jane Warren said...
Sharon, I love your coat. I have just finished this one - and, like you I had to take out some of the darts - I removed a set at front and at the back. I made in a "plus" size, but it seems that if you had the same issue with the fit, it could well be the pattern and not us (well, I like to think so!)
10/16/08 0:22 AM
Gelbean said...
Gorgeous coat.
10/21/08 0:47 AM
cindy-lou said...
Sharon-- GREAT review! I'm working on this coat right now. A friend in my sewing class warned me that I might want to try on her muslin-- she pointed out to me that a Sandra size C is listed as a 30.5 inch waist, but that this coat in a size C has (printed on the pattern piece) a finished garment waist measurement of 30.0 inches. Huh? Negative ease in a coat? So I tried her version and will make an 'E' and see how it goes. Yours is gorgeous, darling! Thanks as always for having the same taste as I do and making this ahead of me. :)
11/18/08 5:50 PM
swany said...
I am glad I read these reviews. I am in the process of making this coat with a linings. I definately will leave out one dart on both the front and back and see how that goes.
1/11/09 11:40 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Thanks for a great in depth review, you have keyed me into quite a few things to watch out for when I sew this coat up shortly. Thankyou!!
9/30/10 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Marfy 2245

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now