Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-123 (Cold Shoulder Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 700 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 151
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/12/08 4:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
angie.a said...
Meggie, it's so cute on you! I like that you added the shoulders, great fix (and I agree with your dad, LOL!)
10/12/08 4:59 PM
Immelu said...
I love it with the shoulders! I looked at this top and thought, "no way!" but it's totally different with the shoulders. I'll have to look at it a little closer b/c it's definitely more me with the shoulders. Thanks for the inspiration!
10/12/08 5:36 PM
Kbenco said...
I think it looks better with the shoulders! You have done a great job with this top.
10/12/08 5:44 PM
MissCelie said...
To be honest with you, I don't love this top with the cut outs. I think the ones here look awesome, but the people I see IRL -- not so much. This is age appropriate and really cute!
10/12/08 5:59 PM
avancleve said...
I have been wanting to do this one with the shoulders in as well. Glad to see it looks so cute this way.
10/12/08 6:07 PM
Lori V said...
I like this so much with the shoulders, Meggie. I agree with your dad, to. You look so cute.
10/12/08 6:42 PM
Karendee said...
You're right, this is a darling top and it looks so good on you.
10/12/08 7:23 PM
CypGrl said...
I've loved the things you've made for Claire, but it is nice to see you model something yourself. Looks very nice on you and I would think you could wear it for many different occasions.
10/12/08 7:46 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Great top, and frankly much more versatile than without shoulders!
10/12/08 8:14 PM
DD in DFW said...
I like it better with the shoulders... for everyone. Must just be my age. ;^)
10/12/08 8:24 PM
kerrynw said...
Meggie I love this top on you. Looks like a completely different top to that in BWOF. You are an inspiration to all of us!
10/12/08 8:39 PM
AngieC said...
Wow Meggie... your top looks perfect on you! I love your changes to the pattern and the fabric is so cute too! You are a true problem solver!
10/12/08 8:58 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cute! I don't know that shoulderless tops are appropriate at any age unless you are going out for a special event. What a great idea to add the shoulders!
10/12/08 9:00 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cute! I don't know that shoulderless tops are appropriate at any age unless you are going out for a special event. What a great idea to add the shoulders!
10/12/08 9:01 PM
blessedtosew said...
I wish I had learned to sew when I was as young as you are. You are so talented and I love reading your reviews.
10/12/08 9:52 PM
CynthiaSue said...
This is so elegant and adorable on you. I am SO IMPRESSED that you found this knit in the remnant bin-it is gorgeous! You are an inspiration Meggie!
10/12/08 10:12 PM
DaisyEsq said...
I love what you did with this top! It was very clever of you to figure out how to use this pretty fabric and cover the shoulders for a nicer style. Well done.
10/12/08 10:19 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Meggie Lulu - it looks lovely on you - well done on the alteration and the good sense to see it as your Dad does!
10/12/08 10:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very, very flattering top on you, Meggie, and I agree with everyone else that adding the shoulders adds so much more class. Your fabric is fabulous and how clever of you to reconfigure your cutting to make it fit. Another lovely creation, Lily
10/12/08 11:46 PM
sewtime said...
You look beautiful in your new top.
10/13/08 0:45 AM
Maychi said...
I love it with the covered-up shoulders. Thanks for inspiration.
10/13/08 4:16 AM
shesflipped said...
Very cute on you! The shoulders really make this top so adorable on you~I can't imagine it any other way. Way to go dad!
10/13/08 6:33 AM
Elke said...
Very cute top and it looks great on you. I like the idea of adding the shoulders, good idea!
10/13/08 7:45 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I agree that it looks better in your version, with the shoulders covered. And center back seams are always great, because they add extra shaping, so I'd say you did the pattern a favor there, too. Great choice of fabric, and great looking top!
10/13/08 9:11 AM
2BSewing said...
Very nice looking knit top. Love the fabric and it looks great on you. Great job! :)
10/13/08 9:13 AM
Catbird said...
I'm so glad you posted this, because I've been wanting to do the same thing with that pattern (add shoulders) and haven't gotten around to it. I love your top!
10/13/08 9:42 AM
Beek said...
Great top. I am in agreement with the addition of the sleeves as well.
10/13/08 12:01 PM
Deepika said...
I love this version of the cut out top. I think I might make this one with the shoulders too. I agree with others, you are an inspiration!
10/13/08 12:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Guess what? I like it BETTER with the shoulders! I've just got one question: How come when I made a top out of a black/white print, I looked like a total FRUMP, and when you made yours, you look FANTASTIC? And don't tell me it's because you're young and pretty either; I don't want to hear it! Finally: We already knew your mom was raising you up right, and now we know your dad's doing the same. :o) Good for them, and good for you!
10/13/08 4:35 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, I went back and looked at your black/white top. I do NOT think you look like a frump in it AT ALL!!!! Thanks everyone for the nice comments!!!
10/13/08 5:38 PM
Gelbean said...
This is a great top. I love that you added the shoulders.
10/21/08 3:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2828
photo
Review by guillorypr on 1/6/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 246
photo
Review by Rairscat on 3/2/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us