Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4697 

14 more reviews
Viewed 278 times 
Reviewed by:Kim Winson
photo

 
 
About Kim Winsonstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 2/2/02
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/08 1:30 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said... (2/27/09 8:56 AM) Reply
Thank you for this great review. I'm just getting ready to make this and appreciate your detailed review!
AnneM said... (11/5/08 9:27 PM) Reply
Your 'precise' flower method sounds (and I expect looks) much nicer than what the pattern description sounds. Wearable? Of course it's wearable!
Kaitlinnegan said... (10/14/08 0:29 AM) Reply
I think I can *kind* of see what you're talking about with the pattern lining up strangely..but only if I squint really hard. :) I would not sweat it - your top looks great.
traceytherealtor said... (10/13/08 10:26 PM) Reply
I think it is really cute the way the pattern in the fabrics comes together. I think you should remove the rosette.
Kim Winson said... (10/13/08 8:03 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! The shirts a keeper, then :)
Winifred said... (10/13/08 6:45 PM) Reply
I use clear elastic but never thought of this use. Fantastic !!
Heatherbelle said... (10/13/08 6:21 PM) Reply
Absolutely wearable! The fabric layout is very impressive and the whole top is gorgeous.
Meggie LuLu said... (10/13/08 4:21 PM) Reply
What a CUTE top!!!! I LOVE your fabric print!!!! VERY COOL!!!!
Karen6790 said... (10/13/08 3:20 PM) Reply
This is so wearable it's not even funny. I love the use of this fabric for the top, and the rosette really adds to the interest as far as I'm concerned. I've used fabric like this and you're right, it's a needle-killer. But it looks great, so that's the trade-off.
debbieB said... (10/13/08 3:10 PM) Reply
I think the shirt looks great.I don't think the placement is weird at all.Looks well planned out.
sewtime said... (10/13/08 2:48 PM) Reply
Darling top! Love the material.
Heatherrique said... (10/13/08 2:47 PM) Reply
Eyecatchingly gorgeous! You did a great job with fabric placement.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Stretch & Sew 312

photo
by: sizzle4

Review
Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Pattern Details