Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-127A (Jeans) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 480 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/08 12:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Congratulations on your first jeans! That's a lot of work but think of the money you saved :)
10/14/08 12:21 PM
Karendee said...
Great jeans.
10/14/08 1:30 PM
wendlesue said...
Great looking jeans!
10/14/08 2:21 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good job! The topstitching is very nice.
10/14/08 3:51 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Did you wash the fabric several times? It will probably have some residual shrinkage so don't worry about them being too loose. However, I think you need to do what I do to remove the excess on the thigh at the outseam. I take a ruler and draw a straight line from my full hip to the knee and cut off the excess. This alteration works for those of us that don't have a large butt/thigh combination. I think you can still do it on these jeans. Just turn them inside out, try them on and pin out that excess from the side seam. You'll probably like them better. Oh, I forgot to say, Great Job!
10/14/08 4:41 PM
michellep74 said...
Sherril, I was wondering if that alteration to the thigh would work--I'm glad to hear that it's worked for you. :) I'm going to wash these a few times to see if I could shrink them up a bit more first. (I pre-washed the denim 2 or 3 times before cutting.) Thanks for the tip!
10/14/08 4:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations for your first jeans ! Lookin' great :)
10/14/08 5:04 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! I've been looking for a jeans pattern. I'll have to take a closer look at this. Thanks!
10/14/08 5:57 PM
Karen8320 said...
Michelle, congratulations on making your first pair of jeans! You've done such a great job with these that you have inspired me to have a go at making some jeans myself. Top effort on that top-stitching! Well done!
10/14/08 9:16 PM
kerrynw said...
Your jeans look great, especially the top stitching!
10/15/08 0:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous pair of jeans, Michelle! Superb topstitching!
10/15/08 1:37 AM
dr. liz said...
Beautiful workmanship, Michelle. And with your methodical approach, your next pair should be perfectly sized.
10/15/08 10:04 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Michelle, you and I have a very similarly shaped body and I never thought it worth my time to make jeans, but you're definitely changing my mind with your wonderful result. I agree with you that next time, you could use slightly slimmer hips/seat, but this pattern is a major hit for you! You look very stylin'. --Lily
10/15/08 1:08 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great job! You're brave for attempting jeans! I have been toying with that idea for some time, but they always seemed too hard!
10/15/08 1:25 PM
o3b said...
Great review and photos. The info on the plus vs reg fit is very helpful. I am going to look for my mag copy now.
10/16/08 0:54 AM
Gelbean said...
Your jeans are awesome!
10/21/08 9:14 PM
ChristineX said...
I love those jeans. Great topstitiching!
10/24/08 12:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 5465
photo
Review by Sewlovelie... on 12/27/08
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5006
photo
Review by misscreati... on 10/18/10
Read Review

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us