SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-127A (Jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/08 12:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Congratulations on your first jeans! That's a lot of work but think of the money you saved :)
10/14/08 12:21 PM
Karendee said...
Great jeans.
10/14/08 1:30 PM
wendlesue said...
Great looking jeans!
10/14/08 2:21 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good job! The topstitching is very nice.
10/14/08 3:51 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Did you wash the fabric several times? It will probably have some residual shrinkage so don't worry about them being too loose. However, I think you need to do what I do to remove the excess on the thigh at the outseam. I take a ruler and draw a straight line from my full hip to the knee and cut off the excess. This alteration works for those of us that don't have a large butt/thigh combination. I think you can still do it on these jeans. Just turn them inside out, try them on and pin out that excess from the side seam. You'll probably like them better. Oh, I forgot to say, Great Job!
10/14/08 4:41 PM
michellep74 said...
Sherril, I was wondering if that alteration to the thigh would work--I'm glad to hear that it's worked for you. :) I'm going to wash these a few times to see if I could shrink them up a bit more first. (I pre-washed the denim 2 or 3 times before cutting.) Thanks for the tip!
10/14/08 4:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations for your first jeans ! Lookin' great :)
10/14/08 5:04 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! I've been looking for a jeans pattern. I'll have to take a closer look at this. Thanks!
10/14/08 5:57 PM
Karen8320 said...
Michelle, congratulations on making your first pair of jeans! You've done such a great job with these that you have inspired me to have a go at making some jeans myself. Top effort on that top-stitching! Well done!
10/14/08 9:16 PM
kerrynw said...
Your jeans look great, especially the top stitching!
10/15/08 0:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous pair of jeans, Michelle! Superb topstitching!
10/15/08 1:37 AM
dr. liz said...
Beautiful workmanship, Michelle. And with your methodical approach, your next pair should be perfectly sized.
10/15/08 10:04 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Michelle, you and I have a very similarly shaped body and I never thought it worth my time to make jeans, but you're definitely changing my mind with your wonderful result. I agree with you that next time, you could use slightly slimmer hips/seat, but this pattern is a major hit for you! You look very stylin'. --Lily
10/15/08 1:08 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great job! You're brave for attempting jeans! I have been toying with that idea for some time, but they always seemed too hard!
10/15/08 1:25 PM
o3b said...
Great review and photos. The info on the plus vs reg fit is very helpful. I am going to look for my mag copy now.
10/16/08 0:54 AM
Gelbean said...
Your jeans are awesome!
10/21/08 9:14 PM
ChristineX said...
I love those jeans. Great topstitiching!
10/24/08 12:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Pattern Magic: bamboo

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sew Liberated dress

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now