SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2007-127A (Jeans)

1 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/08 12:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
I love those jeans. Great topstitiching!
10/24/08 12:21 PM
Gelbean said...
Your jeans are awesome!
10/21/08 9:14 PM
o3b said...
Great review and photos. The info on the plus vs reg fit is very helpful. I am going to look for my mag copy now.
10/16/08 0:54 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Great job! You're brave for attempting jeans! I have been toying with that idea for some time, but they always seemed too hard!
10/15/08 1:25 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Michelle, you and I have a very similarly shaped body and I never thought it worth my time to make jeans, but you're definitely changing my mind with your wonderful result. I agree with you that next time, you could use slightly slimmer hips/seat, but this pattern is a major hit for you! You look very stylin'. --Lily
10/15/08 1:08 PM
dr. liz said...
Beautiful workmanship, Michelle. And with your methodical approach, your next pair should be perfectly sized.
10/15/08 10:04 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous pair of jeans, Michelle! Superb topstitching!
10/15/08 1:37 AM
kerrynw said...
Your jeans look great, especially the top stitching!
10/15/08 0:41 AM
Karen8320 said...
Michelle, congratulations on making your first pair of jeans! You've done such a great job with these that you have inspired me to have a go at making some jeans myself. Top effort on that top-stitching! Well done!
10/14/08 9:16 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! I've been looking for a jeans pattern. I'll have to take a closer look at this. Thanks!
10/14/08 5:57 PM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations for your first jeans ! Lookin' great :)
10/14/08 5:04 PM
michellep74 said...
Sherril, I was wondering if that alteration to the thigh would work--I'm glad to hear that it's worked for you. :) I'm going to wash these a few times to see if I could shrink them up a bit more first. (I pre-washed the denim 2 or 3 times before cutting.) Thanks for the tip!
10/14/08 4:51 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Did you wash the fabric several times? It will probably have some residual shrinkage so don't worry about them being too loose. However, I think you need to do what I do to remove the excess on the thigh at the outseam. I take a ruler and draw a straight line from my full hip to the knee and cut off the excess. This alteration works for those of us that don't have a large butt/thigh combination. I think you can still do it on these jeans. Just turn them inside out, try them on and pin out that excess from the side seam. You'll probably like them better. Oh, I forgot to say, Great Job!
10/14/08 4:41 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good job! The topstitching is very nice.
10/14/08 3:51 PM
wendlesue said...
Great looking jeans!
10/14/08 2:21 PM
Karendee said...
Great jeans.
10/14/08 1:30 PM
Leora said...
Congratulations on your first jeans! That's a lot of work but think of the money you saved :)
10/14/08 12:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

McCall's 5271

photo
by: Renren

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

More Info
McCall's 6078

photo
by: BlossomKyl...

Review