SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4598 (The Perfect Fitting Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:JudyP
photo

 
 
About JudyPstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/15/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/08 12:06 PM
Last Updated:11/9/08 12:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewinglouisa said...
What a beautifully sewn and fitted jacket. I am just starting down the jacket sewing. As recommended by the Jackets for real poeple I have decided to start with a Channel style jackt, no collar. I got this pattern for the next jacket as it has a shawl collar, abit easier then the notched collar.
5/13/12 3:51 PM
4u2cme said...
The jacket looks very good. Your details make it even more impressive. A great review.
4/8/10 11:00 AM
Athene said...
Congratulations, you got a lovely fit, great welt pockets and lovely lapels. Plus now you have an altered pattern you know will fit.
11/12/08 1:52 AM
dove29 said...
I really like how that came out!
11/12/08 1:13 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful classic jacket with a perfect fit. Thanks for your review.
11/11/08 2:02 PM
Nancy K said...
Great! Your details are beautifully sewn. Glad you got over your fear of jackets.
11/11/08 1:27 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Bravo! You did a wonderful job. Great fit and execution. Luv the color. Thanks for such a detail review.
11/10/08 3:09 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow that turned out very nice. Beautiful welt pocket!
11/9/08 10:23 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket and it does fit you well. Nice color too
11/9/08 9:49 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I've TJF too! Your review is encouraging me to get over it! Boy, your TJ is gorgeous and SOOOOO professional looking - love the color and the lining and those wonderful welts. Great job!
11/9/08 4:38 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you.
11/9/08 1:38 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket, you're going to LOVE wearing it!! We ought to start a TJF support group around here - I've got it, too!
11/9/08 1:01 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful color and gorgeously fitted tailored jacket. Thanks for the encouragement to get over TJF!
11/9/08 12:55 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
Beautiful fit! You look fabulous in your jacket.
11/9/08 12:49 PM
nellc said...
Lovely jacket, the fit is very good and I really like the colour, congratulations on overcoming your TJF.
11/9/08 12:24 PM
AnneM said...
Wonderful jacket, it looks lovely. Great in that fabric. Congratulations on your jacket.
11/5/08 5:38 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, my goodness - that is one wonderful jacket! The fit is perfect!
10/20/08 1:01 PM
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is beautiful and the fit is perfect. I think Palmer/Pletsch has wonderful, easy to understand instructions and their welt pocket instructions are the best. Your lapels came out great, too. You are on your way to making more great fitting jackets.
10/20/08 8:15 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Very nice work, it looks perfect. It also looks great on you.
10/19/08 6:06 PM
Woolygal said...
You did a beautiful job. I know it's a lot of work, but look what you have in your closet.
10/19/08 9:41 AM
Darla in PA said...
Outstanding jacket! I looks really good on you and the fit is fab.
10/19/08 7:56 AM
Rustybobn said...
I'm glad you got over your TJF! Your TJ is TDF! LOL! I also have JFRP and plan to use it on my current TJ. OK. Enough of that! Love the welt pockets. Great jacket, Judy!
10/19/08 7:11 AM
kv said...
That is a beautiful jacket, so nicely made. It fits you perfectly, too.
10/19/08 2:54 AM
chacha45 said...
You have convinced me to try a tailored jacket. I really dread that tissue fitting, but I'm going to give it a try. Your jacket is beautiful. Your welt pockets are an inspiration!
10/18/08 9:17 PM
marycds said...
Your pocket is beautiful. Great jacket, love the lining.
10/18/08 7:43 PM
Cody7 said...
Great job. You have managed to get the fit of the jacket just perfect. It is the type of jacket you will have for years and wear many many times. Love the colour too.
10/18/08 7:10 PM
JudyP said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! I really appreciate them!
10/18/08 3:54 PM
KathySews said...
Beautiful. I also am now interested in the jacket book and pattern as a way to teach myself and get over the fear. Thanks for the review.
10/18/08 3:47 PM
halleyscomet said...
Fantastic job on welt pockets! I love the lining too! Great looking blazer!
10/18/08 3:28 PM
sewing addict said...
Everything about that jacket looks so professional - fit, collar, welt pockets etc. Well done. I'd be really proud if I had done it.
10/18/08 3:12 PM
Rosebeee said...
This jacket looks fabulous! Great job!
10/18/08 3:03 PM
RLL said...
Oh my, great job. It looks perfect on you.
10/18/08 2:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your fit is TDF and I love how RTW it looks. I've made a couple of tailored jackets and I still have TJF. Thanks for the book recommendation. I guess I need to break down and buy it.
10/18/08 2:10 PM
cecelia said...
This looks wonderful on you. You got a terrific fit including the back. Glad you've now overcome your jacket fears and won't be afraid to make others. Nice job!
10/18/08 1:50 PM
Christas said...
Your jacket is beautiful. I love the color.
10/18/08 1:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Congratulations! The fit and the execution are both perfect, and so is the color.
10/18/08 12:40 PM
mrsv83 said...
That jacket fits you perfectly! Your review will help the rest of us still suffering from TJF! Congrats!
10/18/08 12:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: moonthirty

Review
Kwik Sew 3450

photo
by: Renren

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

More Info
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info