Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4598 (The Perfect Fitting Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 604 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:JudyP
photo
Friend of PR
About JudyPstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/15/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/08 12:06 PM
Last Updated:11/9/08 12:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrsv83 said...
That jacket fits you perfectly! Your review will help the rest of us still suffering from TJF! Congrats!
10/18/08 12:35 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Congratulations! The fit and the execution are both perfect, and so is the color.
10/18/08 12:40 PM
Christas said...
Your jacket is beautiful. I love the color.
10/18/08 1:33 PM
cecelia said...
This looks wonderful on you. You got a terrific fit including the back. Glad you've now overcome your jacket fears and won't be afraid to make others. Nice job!
10/18/08 1:50 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your fit is TDF and I love how RTW it looks. I've made a couple of tailored jackets and I still have TJF. Thanks for the book recommendation. I guess I need to break down and buy it.
10/18/08 2:10 PM
RLL said...
Oh my, great job. It looks perfect on you.
10/18/08 2:24 PM
Rosebeee said...
This jacket looks fabulous! Great job!
10/18/08 3:03 PM
sewing addict said...
Everything about that jacket looks so professional - fit, collar, welt pockets etc. Well done. I'd be really proud if I had done it.
10/18/08 3:12 PM
halleyscomet said...
Fantastic job on welt pockets! I love the lining too! Great looking blazer!
10/18/08 3:28 PM
KathySews said...
Beautiful. I also am now interested in the jacket book and pattern as a way to teach myself and get over the fear. Thanks for the review.
10/18/08 3:47 PM
JudyP said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! I really appreciate them!
10/18/08 3:54 PM
Cody7 said...
Great job. You have managed to get the fit of the jacket just perfect. It is the type of jacket you will have for years and wear many many times. Love the colour too.
10/18/08 7:10 PM
marycds said...
Your pocket is beautiful. Great jacket, love the lining.
10/18/08 7:43 PM
chacha45 said...
You have convinced me to try a tailored jacket. I really dread that tissue fitting, but I'm going to give it a try. Your jacket is beautiful. Your welt pockets are an inspiration!
10/18/08 9:17 PM
kv said...
That is a beautiful jacket, so nicely made. It fits you perfectly, too.
10/19/08 2:54 AM
Rustybobn said...
I'm glad you got over your TJF! Your TJ is TDF! LOL! I also have JFRP and plan to use it on my current TJ. OK. Enough of that! Love the welt pockets. Great jacket, Judy!
10/19/08 7:11 AM
Darla in PA said...
Outstanding jacket! I looks really good on you and the fit is fab.
10/19/08 7:56 AM
Woolygal said...
You did a beautiful job. I know it's a lot of work, but look what you have in your closet.
10/19/08 9:41 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Very nice work, it looks perfect. It also looks great on you.
10/19/08 6:06 PM
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is beautiful and the fit is perfect. I think Palmer/Pletsch has wonderful, easy to understand instructions and their welt pocket instructions are the best. Your lapels came out great, too. You are on your way to making more great fitting jackets.
10/20/08 8:15 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh, my goodness - that is one wonderful jacket! The fit is perfect!
10/20/08 1:01 PM
AnneM said...
Wonderful jacket, it looks lovely. Great in that fabric. Congratulations on your jacket.
11/5/08 5:38 PM
nellc said...
Lovely jacket, the fit is very good and I really like the colour, congratulations on overcoming your TJF.
11/9/08 12:24 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
Beautiful fit! You look fabulous in your jacket.
11/9/08 12:49 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful color and gorgeously fitted tailored jacket. Thanks for the encouragement to get over TJF!
11/9/08 12:55 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket, you're going to LOVE wearing it!! We ought to start a TJF support group around here - I've got it, too!
11/9/08 1:01 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you.
11/9/08 1:38 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I've TJF too! Your review is encouraging me to get over it! Boy, your TJ is gorgeous and SOOOOO professional looking - love the color and the lining and those wonderful welts. Great job!
11/9/08 4:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket and it does fit you well. Nice color too
11/9/08 9:49 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow that turned out very nice. Beautiful welt pocket!
11/9/08 10:23 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Bravo! You did a wonderful job. Great fit and execution. Luv the color. Thanks for such a detail review.
11/10/08 3:09 AM
Nancy K said...
Great! Your details are beautifully sewn. Glad you got over your fear of jackets.
11/11/08 1:27 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful classic jacket with a perfect fit. Thanks for your review.
11/11/08 2:02 PM
dove29 said...
I really like how that came out!
11/12/08 1:13 AM
Athene said...
Congratulations, you got a lovely fit, great welt pockets and lovely lapels. Plus now you have an altered pattern you know will fit.
11/12/08 1:52 AM
4u2cme said...
The jacket looks very good. Your details make it even more impressive. A great review.
4/8/10 11:00 AM
sewinglouisa said...
What a beautifully sewn and fitted jacket. I am just starting down the jacket sewing. As recommended by the Jackets for real poeple I have decided to start with a Channel style jackt, no collar. I got this pattern for the next jacket as it has a shawl collar, abit easier then the notched collar.
5/13/12 3:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us