Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 6322-1004 (Snow Queen) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 647 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Luckylibbet
photo
About Luckylibbetstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/28/03
Reviews written: 21
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/08 1:42 PM
Last Updated:11/1/08 0:08 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Looking forward to seeing the end result. It sounds so intriguing.
10/19/08 2:36 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
10/19/08 8:20 AM
MsMaryO said...
I'm so excited to see this!
10/19/08 9:18 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, how PRETTY!! I can't WAIT to see the finished costume! I know what you mean about looking prettier in person. Seems like beading is hard to photograph, but there MUST be a way ... maybe in sunlight, I don't know. This sounds just LOVELY though, and by the looks of the collar alone, it will be! :o)
10/19/08 12:48 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That looks so cool! Your illustration looks great!
10/19/08 2:09 PM
loohoo44 said...
oooh, so that's what was sitting on your dressform!! how cool, I'll be watching your progress!
10/19/08 5:11 PM
Mahler said...
ohhh I want to see it finished, I want to see it finished soon soon... ;-) Ok I have to be reasonable. I am very much looking forward to seeing this dress finished.
10/19/08 10:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
This looks so exciting! Keep us posted!
10/24/08 8:03 PM
piffle said...
oh well done!
10/31/08 1:45 PM
katlew03 said...
Very creative. I wish your picture was longer. I wondered what was in the right hand until I read the review. You have really spent a lot of time on this. Great imagination.
10/31/08 4:07 PM
Karen6790 said...
Now that was a costume dream worth waiting on. Absolutely beautiful, and exactly what I would have expected the Snow Queen to look like. That was always one of my favorite fairy tales as well. The head piece and the beading are especially gorgeous.
10/31/08 4:26 PM
Annette1 said...
This is just UNBELIEVABLE! This is pretty enough to be a wedding dress -- ha! :o) You've gone to SO much work and effort perfecting EVERY LITTLE DETAIL, and MOST of it originating in your own little noggin, a very CREATIVE noggin. And you ARE a beauty in it, too! Oh, I WISH I could see it IN PERSON. I can just IMAGINE how it sparkles and shines. Man, this turned out so nice, I wish you'd used SILK!!!
10/31/08 4:31 PM
LornaJay said...
WOW!
10/31/08 4:52 PM
Sigrid. said...
What a stunning result, this is a beautiful costume. I'm impressed by all the detailed work. You really captured the image I have of a snow queen. Beautiful. (And is it a coincidence the miter on your profile picture has the same shape?)
10/31/08 5:11 PM
Sandi S said...
Wow! That is so detailed and pretty. What an incredible costume!
10/31/08 5:37 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! You put a lot of thought and effort into this. I too am impressed with all the detailed work. You look quite the part.
10/31/08 6:45 PM
Leora said...
I am floored by the detailed beading and handwork you've done here. Plus you drafted so much of this yourself. There are not enough words to describe this beautiful artwork. Gorgeous!
11/1/08 0:57 AM
Aunt Gail said...
HAnds down - the most exquisite costume I've ever seen on pr. Your documentation is wonderful as well. It is so exciting for me to read the process that you went through. Like I'm sure everyone else, I am just knocked out by this costume. Just in case the C Church ever decides to let us gals in as Pope -- Your outfit MUST be the prototype :) Absolutely beautiful
11/1/08 2:58 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh my, I'm SWOONING at the glory of your Russian inspired Snow Queen. It's not just the quality of your workmanship, or just the expanse of your imagination - it's the personified Vision of all that you've been dreaming of for so long. Thank you so much for sharing your Dream with us; you look smashingly beautiful. -Lily
11/1/08 4:04 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful and amazing detail - very inspiring for the rest of us to see how you tackled every detail and persevered. Your creativity and diligence is inspirational as well.
11/1/08 6:45 AM
MsMaryO said...
What a beautiful dress! You make an elegant Snow Queen. The headdress is incredible!
11/1/08 9:17 AM
lisa m said...
It is so lovely. I'll bet everyone at the party was very complimentary, too. We're lucky the rain that was threatening held off until a little later last night, weren't we? Go BABES.
11/1/08 11:57 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Wow! Wow! You brought beautiful and new life to the Snow Queen! Your work is very admirable and stupendous! Outstanding!
11/1/08 12:05 PM
LoriB said...
Amazing! You certainly put a lot of effort into this and it shows. What a costume!
11/1/08 2:28 PM
Leora said...
You are safe for now, Snow Queen!
11/1/08 5:26 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, Heather this is absolutely amazing!!! What a spectacular realization of a dream to make the Snow Queen in all of her glory.
11/1/08 10:56 PM
EveS said...
Wow, calling this a "costume" just doesn't seems right. It's just so breathtaking, even in the icky fabric, that "costume" somehow cheapens it. At any rate, this is to-die-for, whatever you want to call it! Thanks for sharing! :)
11/4/08 1:28 PM
cindyann said...
WOW, That is fantastic! You put so much hard work into it.
11/9/08 1:16 PM
newlywedws said...
My goodness...what work you did in making this garment!!!! Absolutely stunning!
11/14/08 12:55 PM
trishapatk said...
Fantastic! Talk about going the extra mile! The beading is extraordinary. You've done a great job.
11/17/08 7:01 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is hands down the most incredible costume I've ever seen. Astounding!!
11/17/08 9:21 PM
trintje said...
Very beautiful, very personal. It's clear you really put your heart into it. wow
11/21/08 10:46 AM
Mufffet said...
So beautiful....
11/24/08 4:22 PM
RadarRadiance said...
thankyou for sharing all of the wonderful pictures and your thought process! It truly is beautiful!!!
11/24/08 4:24 PM
RadarRadiance said...
thankyou for sharing all of the wonderful pictures and your thought process1 It truly is beautiful!!!
11/24/08 4:25 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Totally awesome!
11/24/08 8:18 PM
Puppy said...
Do you know who the couple is in the photo of the 1903 Winter Ball? I like to think you will pull this out and wear it around the house from time to time, just as a special treat and to feel beautiful!
11/24/08 10:26 PM
dbsewer said...
Congratulations on your win - you certainly deserve it. I've never seen a costume so perfectly done and so gorgeous. It looks like a joy to wear, too.
11/25/08 11:32 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Congratulations on your win! The costume is completely stunning! Not to mention the beadwork! And you look so regal and elegant, very impressive indeed.
11/25/08 3:10 PM
momkoz said...
WOW! just gorgeous. next project is making a matching costume for your hubby. :)
12/5/08 11:18 AM
momkoz said...
WOW! just gorgeous next project is making a matching costume for your hubby. :)
12/5/08 11:18 AM
xaiya said...
great description...is that tatting on the collar too?
3/18/09 6:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Threads Magazine June July 2006 -125
photo
Review by kkkkaty on 6/19/06
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 142927-1000 summer dress
photo
Review by Saya on 6/29/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6919 Pattern
Burda 6919 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6796 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6796 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us