Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5219 (Fast & Easy) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 957 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Seaspur
photo
Friend of PR
About Seaspurstarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 2/24/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/08 1:13 PM
Last Updated:10/19/08 1:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twisted Kitty said...
Good review - I DEFINITELY won't be trying this pattern!! That back neck just looks odd!...
10/19/08 1:19 PM
crazygrad said...
The shirt is cute, but the back neck is weird. This pattern is in stash contest pile. So this review is helpful. Maybe I'll make it with some fabric that I don't love! Thanks!
10/19/08 3:40 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Seaspur, don't give up on the pattern yet. I'm trying to figure out what happened. I just finished this top and my back neckline look fine. I'll load a picture as soon as I dump my memory card. I did have trouble with the neckline because the interfaced section shrunk after fusing and I had to do lots of snipping to get it to fit. The next time I will fuse first, then cut the neck band.
10/19/08 6:04 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thanks for the review. I cut this out weeks ago but never finished it because the weather cooled off. I will definitely interface both sides of the neckband when I do finish it up. The other reviewer of this top also had a problem with it.
10/19/08 6:49 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I have this pattern. I hope that I can figure out how to make it without the neck problem. The front is just precious.
10/19/08 6:56 PM
sewtime said...
I also have this pattern and will greatly benefit from your review. It is a very pretty top. And the color is just beautiful. It is so frustrating when a pattern does not turn out just right.
10/19/08 7:29 PM
callmeRuth said...
Your top looks similar to the Kwik Sew pattern I recently reviewed. Try this pattern if you want the look without the problems of the Butterick pattern. Oh--just noticed--the Kwik Sew has raglan sleeves, the Butterick does not.
10/19/08 7:35 PM
kasizzle said...
Thanks for the review, I have this one in my stash and was considering making it up.
10/19/08 8:06 PM
avancleve said...
I did this one as well. Did not turn out for me. I did skip the interfacing and have to say, my neck turned out MUCH better. After it was all done it was just to large for me, even after taking in the sides. I also thought the band at the bottom did not hang well on me. On a good note I did have my sister in law try it on and it looked great on her, the bottom band looked great on her. So after trying it twice for myself.....I have come to the conclusion it is not for me, but since it looked so great on my sister in law it can work for others. So sorry about your sunshine top pattern. I want that one as well, but it is far to expensive once you pitch in for shipping and handling (shame on the person you loaned it to :(
10/19/08 9:40 PM
avancleve said...
I did this one as well. Did not turn out for me. I did skip the interfacing and have to say, my neck turned out MUCH better. After it was all done it was just to large for me, even after taking in the sides. I also thought the band at the bottom did not hang well on me. On a good note I did have my sister in law try it on and it looked great on her, the bottom band looked great on her. So after trying it twice for myself.....I have come to the conclusion it is not for me, but since it looked so great on my sister in law it can work for others.
10/19/08 9:49 PM
greenandlilac said...
Lesson learned, never loan out patterns, offer to trace if they don't want to buy their own.
10/20/08 1:32 AM
Gelbean said...
It looks lovely in the photo. I can see why you don't like the back neckline. That's kind of weird. Thanks for the very helpful review.
10/21/08 0:19 AM
AnneM said...
The top is cute except that back neckline. I wonder if the fabric is just too drapey for this style. If you still have it, perhaps you can save this particular top (which looks very nice other than that, & the fabric really looks comfy) by doing some design-feature darts to bring it in & have it hug your body a bit more. If you do a number of small darts spread over the back it might work.
11/5/08 4:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us