Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2007-19 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 319 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/08 9:28 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
My DD's favorite hoodie is one I made for her, and while I know some of us wouldn't bother to sew a hoodie, I enjoyed sewing something practical like this. I'm glad you reviewed this one. It turned out great!
10/19/08 9:37 PM
Christas said...
VERY nice looking hoodie! You did a great job in this.
10/19/08 9:59 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Duplicate...very odd..
10/19/08 10:06 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, that's --- perfect! Exactly like RTW, only better.
10/19/08 10:56 PM
marec said...
This is really nice work! It looks fitted and comfortable.
10/19/08 11:06 PM
Seaspur said...
That looks great! Nice to know that it is fitted, I made the Jalie one recently and while I like it, it's a bit boxy. I'll have to try this one, thanks for the review.
10/19/08 11:10 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Nice job!
10/19/08 11:27 PM
o3b said...
I love your review - there is lots of detail on the likes/(sort of) dislikes and benefits of this pattern. I had forgotten about this one, and now I am going to go look for it.
10/20/08 1:56 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very nice. Looks very professional.
10/20/08 7:38 AM
lyra said...
oh, that looks so cozy!!
10/20/08 8:10 AM
Nancy K said...
I have a couple of Ottobre magazines now and I agree, we are used to seeing the shiny, fashion magazine look of BWOF and Patrones. But you can actually see the clothes here! They seem to be everyday kind of clothing, which most of us need. This looks great. I love that neckline detail. I really have to make something from them.
10/20/08 8:14 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great hoodie and this one could never be described as schlumpy. I agree that hoodies aren't everyone's idea of fashion forwardness but they do have their place and can be fun projects to sew. Great review.
10/20/08 9:37 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking hoodie - your work always inspires me!!
10/20/08 9:52 AM
EveS said...
Welcome to the hoodie fan club. :) I recently made one and now I'm addicted. Nice de-schlepping, btw! :) Looks really nice! And welcome to the Ottobre club, too! I haven't sewn the womens' patterns but I LOVE the drafting and instructions for the kidswear. My fav, hands down.
10/20/08 10:21 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for such a helpful review. This is one fine looking hoodie. I sometimes think the practical things I sew are the ones I wear to death.
10/20/08 10:39 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a great looking hoodie!
10/20/08 11:05 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great job on a needed wardrobe staple! I agree with all the other comments re it looking just like RTW, but better!
10/20/08 12:41 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Looks to me like you accomplished all criteria you set for this project. I am going to look into a subscription for Ottobre after reading your comments on the "real people" models.. Thanks!
10/21/08 8:20 AM
slanden99 said...
Looks great!
10/21/08 8:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks fabulous and will certainly be very warm and comfy on those chilly nights
10/21/08 11:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 6355
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 12/7/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 08-2010-03 Blouse
photo
Review by treefrog on 10/24/11
Read Review

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us