Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-118 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 617 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/08 8:07 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jatman said...
Wow. This dress is stunning. The smocking and contrast colors add so much. Beautiful work!
10/23/08 8:14 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Beautiful work! I'm so inspired that you had another go after the last time...
10/23/08 8:45 AM
mastdenman said...
I like the solid color with trim version much better than the print version too. It looks lovely on your DD.
10/23/08 9:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fantastic job on this dress - the smocking, piping and contrast color is just enough to give it some WOW!
10/23/08 10:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Smocking on the front section is so clever. I really must try it sometime. It adds much interest along with the contrasting sash and trim. Very pretty dress.
10/23/08 11:02 AM
sewtime said...
Cute dress! No wonder you made another one! Great review-great dress!
10/23/08 11:06 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you are a true creative talent. what a piece of true craftsmanship. she looks lovely!
10/23/08 11:27 AM
katlew03 said...
What great designer details that really take this dress from ordinary to extraordinary.
10/23/08 11:34 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This dress is a knock-out! The green is a wonderful contrast to the pink, and the smocking is sooo lovely. I'm glad you listened to the people who encouraged you after your first attempt. They/you were right -- the fabric was the problem last time, not the pattern.
10/23/08 12:30 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! I love it when smocking can be incorporated into garments for older girls. This is such a beautiful dress. You did a lovely job on it!
10/23/08 1:09 PM
michellep74 said...
I agree--the solid color/trim make a huge difference! Absolutely lovely dress!
10/23/08 1:34 PM
LindsayT said...
Very nice! Love the extra touches.
10/23/08 1:45 PM
meli88a said...
so, SO SO cute! The smocking is a perfect touch.
10/23/08 3:57 PM
Miz Lolly said...
Wow, it's so beautiful! Love the contrast piping and smocking!
10/23/08 10:47 PM
Annette1 said...
This is BEAUTIFUL! I liked the FIRST one too, though. :o) I'm always in awe of your smocking skills, something that I would NEVER have the patience (not to mention know-how) to do. This COLOR is gorgeous. Your beautiful daughter is looking quite grown up!
10/24/08 0:07 AM
josie e said...
Love it! Stylish, but still young and fun. Your daughter looks fabulous and your smocking work is just gorgeous
10/24/08 0:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wonderful color combination, a beautiful dress!
10/24/08 4:55 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Isn't it something when we recant? But then, the dress looks beautiful and we wouldn't have seen its beauty if you didn't. I think your first dress looks fine, but I can certainly understand your feeling; this one's better. Looking at the line drawing, my first impression was complementary colors, like a blue dress with an orange tie, but your color choice is more pleasing to the eye.
10/24/08 7:58 AM
popoagiesmiles said...
This reminds me of the difference between the way peasant skirts looked on me when I was a size 4 and how they look on me at size 10. At size 4, the gathers lightly filled me out and my tiny waist was accentuated. At size 10, a peasant skirt looks okay but doesn't flatter me as much as a smoother style does. Seems like gathers may flatter a slight girlish figure more than even a relatively slim womanly figure. You actually look good in your first dress, but I understand that it was not the look you were going for. Great job on the dresses. I love the pink/green version. Very in while also being modest and wearable. This style can be old-fashioned or up to the minute, depending on the fabric and embellishment.
10/25/08 11:43 AM
3KillerBs said...
The smocking makes the dress.
10/26/08 7:43 PM
KathleenS said...
All the contrast colour details are great, really worthwhile.
10/31/08 7:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress! I really love the smocking detail.
11/6/08 11:55 PM
Johanna Lu said...
This dress is soo gorgeous, I just love your interpretation of the pattern, also I'm having serious bouts of smocking envy :)
11/10/08 3:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Markie1 on 1/31/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mango Tango Mango Tango
photo
Review by jannw on 2/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908 Pattern
Jalie 2908 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us