SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-118 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 618 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 196
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/08 8:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jatman said...
Wow. This dress is stunning. The smocking and contrast colors add so much. Beautiful work!
10/23/08 8:14 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Beautiful work! I'm so inspired that you had another go after the last time...
10/23/08 8:45 AM
mastdenman said...
I like the solid color with trim version much better than the print version too. It looks lovely on your DD.
10/23/08 9:43 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fantastic job on this dress - the smocking, piping and contrast color is just enough to give it some WOW!
10/23/08 10:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Smocking on the front section is so clever. I really must try it sometime. It adds much interest along with the contrasting sash and trim. Very pretty dress.
10/23/08 11:02 AM
sewtime said...
Cute dress! No wonder you made another one! Great review-great dress!
10/23/08 11:06 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you are a true creative talent. what a piece of true craftsmanship. she looks lovely!
10/23/08 11:27 AM
katlew03 said...
What great designer details that really take this dress from ordinary to extraordinary.
10/23/08 11:34 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This dress is a knock-out! The green is a wonderful contrast to the pink, and the smocking is sooo lovely. I'm glad you listened to the people who encouraged you after your first attempt. They/you were right -- the fabric was the problem last time, not the pattern.
10/23/08 12:30 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! I love it when smocking can be incorporated into garments for older girls. This is such a beautiful dress. You did a lovely job on it!
10/23/08 1:09 PM
michellep74 said...
I agree--the solid color/trim make a huge difference! Absolutely lovely dress!
10/23/08 1:34 PM
LindsayT said...
Very nice! Love the extra touches.
10/23/08 1:45 PM
meli88a said...
so, SO SO cute! The smocking is a perfect touch.
10/23/08 3:57 PM
Miz Lolly said...
Wow, it's so beautiful! Love the contrast piping and smocking!
10/23/08 10:47 PM
Annette1 said...
This is BEAUTIFUL! I liked the FIRST one too, though. :o) I'm always in awe of your smocking skills, something that I would NEVER have the patience (not to mention know-how) to do. This COLOR is gorgeous. Your beautiful daughter is looking quite grown up!
10/24/08 0:07 AM
josie e said...
Love it! Stylish, but still young and fun. Your daughter looks fabulous and your smocking work is just gorgeous
10/24/08 0:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Wonderful color combination, a beautiful dress!
10/24/08 4:55 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Isn't it something when we recant? But then, the dress looks beautiful and we wouldn't have seen its beauty if you didn't. I think your first dress looks fine, but I can certainly understand your feeling; this one's better. Looking at the line drawing, my first impression was complementary colors, like a blue dress with an orange tie, but your color choice is more pleasing to the eye.
10/24/08 7:58 AM
popoagiesmiles said...
This reminds me of the difference between the way peasant skirts looked on me when I was a size 4 and how they look on me at size 10. At size 4, the gathers lightly filled me out and my tiny waist was accentuated. At size 10, a peasant skirt looks okay but doesn't flatter me as much as a smoother style does. Seems like gathers may flatter a slight girlish figure more than even a relatively slim womanly figure. You actually look good in your first dress, but I understand that it was not the look you were going for. Great job on the dresses. I love the pink/green version. Very in while also being modest and wearable. This style can be old-fashioned or up to the minute, depending on the fabric and embellishment.
10/25/08 11:43 AM
3KillerBs said...
The smocking makes the dress.
10/26/08 7:43 PM
KathleenS said...
All the contrast colour details are great, really worthwhile.
10/31/08 7:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress! I really love the smocking detail.
11/6/08 11:55 PM
Johanna Lu said...
This dress is soo gorgeous, I just love your interpretation of the pattern, also I'm having serious bouts of smocking envy :)
11/10/08 3:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Advance Pattern Company 7831

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now