Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3003 (V-Neck Top) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1386 times 17 more reviews
Reviewed by:Katy M
photo
About Katy Mstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/03 5:40 AM
Last Updated:9/8/03 5:42 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lou. said...
I've been looking at this top again....I found the sizing very much depends on the stretch of your fabric. Love the look of your top, but can't help you out I'm afraid...maybe darts would help??
9/8/03 6:18 AM
Tee Jay said...
Your top is so cute. I love the extras, it makes it look really neat. The fit looks good in the picture. I remember sewing in college, too, back in those days the dorm actually had a sewing machine for everyones use.
9/8/03 7:23 AM
Sew it seams said...
Hi Katy. I really like your design ideas for this top. It's really cute on you. As for the easing, if the pattern is shaped slighly at the side bust and maybe slightly longer than the back piece, then I would straighten the sides and fold out the extra lenghth and that should take care of the easing that you don't like. And for the neck, your photo looks good, but if it feels too loose, can the little dart in the "v" be taken in a little more? Then you could open the dart on the indside and hand stitch it down to reduce the extra bulk. I have a similar pattern and it seems I needed to shorten the length of the neckband when I used a real stretchy knit also. I love your top. Great review!
9/8/03 9:22 AM
Elona said...
Katy, when you stand sideways to a mirror, do the "loose, rolly bits" point diagonally from your waist up toward your bustpoint? Could you make them go away by kind of pinning the fullness out along that diagonal line? If that's the case--I hate to say it--they may be indicating the need for a deeper dart, rather than less of one. Most patterns are drafted for a B-cup, and with you being a C-cup but tiny enough to wear an XS, well, it sounds as though you may need what's called a "full bust adjustment." You may want to look at a wonderful book by Palmer and Alto called "Fit For Real People." It would help you understand how to analyze those "rolly bits" (I love that expression).
9/8/03 1:30 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice - I like the added black lycra. Full busted people generally have to pick the pattern size based on their high-bust measurement (just above the bust), & then do a full-bust adjustment. I do not have that problem, myself. Anyway, the top looks just fine on you.
9/8/03 3:43 PM
Mel.J said...
Hi Katy, Your top looks great as is in the picture, but I'm sure the next version will be tweaked so you're happy with it. I think previous comments might be right in considering a deeper bust dart. PS where's your local fabric store ?? (if it's in Melbourne I might check it out)
9/8/03 7:22 PM
Katy M said...
Thanks so much everyone! I will go out and read up on a full bust adjustment, that sounds like the problem. I really love this top and this pattern so I'll do anything to get it perfect! Mel - the shop is called Rathdowne Remnants, it's the yellow pages. Up the back to the left on a shelf they have monster $3 bags of (big) remnants!
9/8/03 7:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

No Pattern Used story board
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW 0001
photo
Review by Mosews2 on 6/7/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780 Pattern
Burda 9780 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us