Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2007-111 (cape/jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 467 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 8:07 AM
Last Updated:10/26/08 9:05 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Adorable! Great job!!
10/26/08 8:50 AM
nellc said...
Very nice jacket, you must get some long leather gloves to wear with this it will look great.
10/26/08 9:06 AM
carolynw said...
Fantastic looking jacket!!
10/26/08 9:32 AM
Amanda S. said...
Wow! I LOVE it! I don't like most capes, but since this is so fitted, I would make it if I had the pattern. Great job!
10/26/08 10:35 AM
Christas said...
I have always loved this Burda pattern. Your version is lovely!
10/26/08 10:44 AM
sewtime said...
Very nice! Cute, cute!
10/26/08 11:09 AM
Seaspur said...
Wow! Great cape, great review.
10/26/08 11:13 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Wonderful results, very flattering on you.
10/26/08 11:14 AM
persevering said...
Mylittleelephant, I am so impressed - this is stunning¡
10/26/08 12:35 PM
Tiner W said...
I like this so much--I really must get this issue! Beautiful job and super-informative review!
10/26/08 1:10 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! I so agree that the belt changes the entire silhoutte, making is so flattering! Good eye, too, noticing that the buttons would be under the belt. I must be extra picky, too, because that would drive me nuts -- ha! I say GO FOR THE LONG GLOVES! I can just SEE IT NOW! :o) Long gloves with RUCHING! Wouldn't that be pretty? :o))
10/26/08 1:15 PM
Ellenatlga said...
F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S! Great job, too. I love your cape!
10/26/08 1:26 PM
CatMukai said...
Beautiful!
10/26/08 1:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
goodness this looks remarkable!!! the collar is soooo professional and pointy. All the edges look great. and the facings aren't too short. You are quite a talent!
10/26/08 2:09 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking cape, it looks fantastic on you. Thanks for the wonderful review.
10/26/08 2:52 PM
Becky Coleman said...
Lovely job! I always enjoy seeing your projects.
10/26/08 5:30 PM
Peacock Chic said...
I love your rendition of this cape and the wonderful detail from your review. I can't wait to make this NOW! Wonderful job!
10/26/08 6:02 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great jacket. The addition of length is both flattering and makes it more classic than trendy (IMHO) Well done!
10/26/08 6:41 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Wow that's really great looking. It's a shame that capes aren't worn anymore in normal dress, I love them! The cut is so modern and looks great on you, well done!
10/26/08 6:53 PM
Catbird said...
You're one of the reviewers on this site who makes me want to make everything you review! Another superb job with thoughtful changes (improvements) to the original pattern. I love it. And I think you need to upgrade your Advanced Beginner rating, mylittleelephant!
10/26/08 7:46 PM
Dei said...
Love this! Smart move making the alterations and it all worked out well.
10/26/08 10:58 PM
Margie T said...
Congratulations on a great review and a beautiful cape/jacket.
10/27/08 1:14 AM
anetJay said...
Beautiful work !!! and Great Review !!!
10/27/08 6:21 AM
mimi g. said...
I love that!!! great job!!
10/27/08 2:58 PM
HLT said...
Very RTW. Love your topstitching and the button. All around excellence!
10/27/08 9:04 PM
yorkshire lass said...
beautiful work as always. Love the fabric and would be interested to know which E Bay seller you got it from... not that I need more fabric you understand, but just in case.......
10/28/08 7:09 AM
LindsayT said...
Très chic!
10/28/08 9:44 AM
amy in mpls said...
I love it. I wish i had this pattern, it looks fantastic, right off the runway!
10/29/08 4:24 PM
janet said...
Your jacket is exquiste. Amazing attention to detail. You look lovely.
11/1/08 3:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Burda 7646 SHIRT / DRESS
photo
Review by Sewmetoo on 6/23/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1670 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1670 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8691 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8691 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-116 Bardot dress
photo
Review by gwenj on 8/9/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us