SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2898 

8 more reviews
Viewed 395 times 
Reviewed by:christea
photo

 
 
About christeastar
AZ USA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 1:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Great job. I bought this pattern for DD who has gained quite a few lbs. in her middle. She is on a very strict diet to lose them but hopes to become pregnant afterwards so this top might be ideal for transitioning. Your top really looks nice. I'll definitely give it a try.
10/26/08 1:30 AM
Christas said...
This looks great!
10/26/08 2:16 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I don't have a serger, so I can't help you there, but your top looks GREAT! Very flattering style.
10/26/08 3:17 AM
julie w said...
Very flattering top, I love these types of styles, great job. I usually set the sleeves in flat with knits on the serger. ie sew the shoulder seams then the sleeve head to the front and back armhole and lastly sew the sleeve seam and side seam in one pass. I do congratulate you on doing a very good job of setting in the sleeve with a knit, I'm hopeless at that!!
10/26/08 9:09 AM
JeanM said...
I might have to try this pattern (I have the same belly!), it looks good! Like Julie W, I sew the sleeves in before sewing the side seams, I find that much easier for knits and wovens.
10/26/08 9:35 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking top
10/26/08 9:43 AM
sewtime said...
Nice top! Love the style and the material!
10/26/08 11:25 AM
christea said...
Thank you for the advice-I will try that with the next one!
10/26/08 1:18 PM
Hilary said...
Your shirt turned out beautifully~great job! I agree, sewing the sleeves in flat is far easier :o)
10/26/08 2:40 PM
AnneM said...
Very cute, flexible top. Congrats on making a wearable knit top. I almost always do flat sleeve insertion for knit tops (not woven). The jersey can still curl under, of course. Practice is the best method, learning where to hold the fabric. You can also try a glue stick for particularly errant fabric.
11/18/08 12:37 PM
trintje said...
This looks a lot better on your dummy than it does on the pattern envelope. Very nice.
2/11/09 7:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Lutterloh 2005 9

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now