Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2898 thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 392 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:christea
photo
About christeastar
AZ USA
Member since: 2/19/08
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 1:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Great job. I bought this pattern for DD who has gained quite a few lbs. in her middle. She is on a very strict diet to lose them but hopes to become pregnant afterwards so this top might be ideal for transitioning. Your top really looks nice. I'll definitely give it a try.
10/26/08 1:30 AM
Christas said...
This looks great!
10/26/08 2:16 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I don't have a serger, so I can't help you there, but your top looks GREAT! Very flattering style.
10/26/08 3:17 AM
julie w said...
Very flattering top, I love these types of styles, great job. I usually set the sleeves in flat with knits on the serger. ie sew the shoulder seams then the sleeve head to the front and back armhole and lastly sew the sleeve seam and side seam in one pass. I do congratulate you on doing a very good job of setting in the sleeve with a knit, I'm hopeless at that!!
10/26/08 9:09 AM
JeanM said...
I might have to try this pattern (I have the same belly!), it looks good! Like Julie W, I sew the sleeves in before sewing the side seams, I find that much easier for knits and wovens.
10/26/08 9:35 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking top
10/26/08 9:43 AM
sewtime said...
Nice top! Love the style and the material!
10/26/08 11:25 AM
christea said...
Thank you for the advice-I will try that with the next one!
10/26/08 1:18 PM
Hilary said...
Your shirt turned out beautifully~great job! I agree, sewing the sleeves in flat is far easier :o)
10/26/08 2:40 PM
AnneM said...
Very cute, flexible top. Congrats on making a wearable knit top. I almost always do flat sleeve insertion for knit tops (not woven). The jersey can still curl under, of course. Practice is the best method, learning where to hold the fabric. You can also try a glue stick for particularly errant fabric.
11/18/08 12:37 PM
trintje said...
This looks a lot better on your dummy than it does on the pattern envelope. Very nice.
2/11/09 7:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Patrones Magazine Jan 2003 #57 Princess Dress
photo
Review by lyra on 10/26/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2006
photo
Review by Pippi Long... on 4/14/12
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6466 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6466 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2416 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2416 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us