SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4188 (Misses' Skirts)

6 more reviews
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 6:59 AM
Last Updated:10/26/08 7:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
I'd say fabric issue for sure. The actual style is quite nice, but it would require something much more drapey than this. I did one similar to this out of a very thin summer print and it came out great. One of my favorites. Maybe a softer cord and wash it about 10 times with fabric softener and see what happens.
10/26/08 7:44 AM
Morisot said...
I hate it when that happens--you put in a lot of time, material, and effort and it doesn't work out. (I too am getting very discouraged by pattern sizing--what ARE they doing?) I do think your husband has the right idea, if you wear that black top out over the yoke...with your pretty black shoes..
10/26/08 8:38 AM
marec said...
"I really dislike the skirt and it is not a good replacement for my old brown cord skirt. " If this is truly how you think of the skirt, then I think you should set it aside for a month and sew something else. Come back to it later and see if you can reform it in some way. It's a cute pattern and I agree with mollyshark that it would look great in a light fabric. Thanks for the full and very helpful review.
10/26/08 10:46 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This happens to all of us at some time or another. I would have to agree that the corduroy is the wrong fabric for this pattern. All is not lost, you could apply your creative skills into scaling down the yoke depth and making the skirt more fitted by taking out the godets. A heavier fabric like corduroy requires a less fussy design, something with straighter design lines.
10/26/08 11:39 AM
persevering said...
Hi ClaireEmily, I understand what you are saying and I also totally agree with your husband. If you something like a v-necked knit top/shirt that unbuttoned creates a V in a dark plain close body fit that at least comes to the beginning of the yoke but not further into the skirt - I think you may be quite surprised how complementary the whole outfit is together. Sometimes from our crossing our comfort zones - we can take advantage of the situation and find a look that actually suits us well but we hadn't considered before! Good luck.
10/26/08 12:22 PM
Annette1 said...
CRAM that sucker in the back of the closet (with ZEAL), but don't get rid of it! Even if you don't like THIS skirt, I STILL think this pattern is actually quite flattering on you, and all you need is a different fabric. You've put so much work into all those G-O-D-E-T-S (I don't even like the WORD) and gained so much experience with all those G-O-D-E-T-S, I hate to see it go to waste. You may decide to drag it back out one of these days after some time has passed and decide to give it a try in a different fabric. :o) Look how nice it looks in the back, even in the corduroy!
10/26/08 1:28 PM
Hilary said...
I'm sorry your skirt didn't work out for you! I have had this happen too~it stinks to spend all the time working on a garment and have it not turn out as expected. But I have since gotten far better at choosing fabrics, so if nothing else, hopefully you have learned what *not* to use! :o) And I agree, keep it! You may figure out a way to salvage it yet!
10/26/08 2:55 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks so much for all your feedback everyone! It has been very reassuring - I can't tell you how much PR has inspired me to sew in the last few months. I think I have a lot to learn about fabric but I guess that will come with practice, and I do agree now that corduroy requires a less fussy design. Thanks so much for your support.
10/26/08 3:15 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I love a frank review - thanks for sharing! My advice is different - ditch it quick.. I'm sure you'll find an op shop who is happy to take it and there will be someone out there who can take it and wear it with pride. I think your favourite skirt works because there's just a little ease through the a-line and really not that much fullness so there's no bulk. Really enjoyed your review.. it's just so useful when people post things they are not happy with .. perhaps they should have a label "avoid like the plague!"
10/26/08 3:40 PM
fourkid said...
Very good review and lots of good suggestions. Since you are wanting to replicate a favorite skirt - why not take that skirt apart and make a pattern from it. I have done this (it isn't hard at all) with a favortie dress I have worn to death - and am about to do it for a favorite nightgown. They already fit, look good on me, and are TNT. Now instead of one favortie dress, I have 3!
10/27/08 8:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review