SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2981 (Women's Dresses)

3 more reviews
Viewed 729 times 
Reviewed by:Caitycat
photo

 
 
About Caitycatstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/28/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/08 7:16 AM
Last Updated:10/26/08 11:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
svetlana said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and a similar type fabric that I hope to make for myself when I finally get time to do personal sewing. I had been questioning my choice of fabric on my plus frame. Well actually the frame isnt plus size, just all the stuff on top it. :) Yours looks really cute. I am planning on view D because my bosoms sit high on my chest and that cross over style will show way too much cleavage. Thanks for the heads up about the hem and zipper placement. It must be so much fun to have a twirly skirt!
10/26/08 7:31 AM
mollyshark said...
Looks like it fits quite well. It looks like a happy dress!
10/26/08 7:48 AM
carolynw said...
Very nic elookign dress - you should be sooo happy wearing it !!
10/26/08 9:33 AM
Lili123 said...
I really love your dress. It fits you very nicely and the color is great on you. I think i will try doing a similar one. Thanks for sharing your work.
10/26/08 10:04 AM
Christas said...
This dress SHOULD make you happy! It looks lovely on you. Your fabric choice is terrific!
10/26/08 10:32 AM
Amanda S. said...
How pretty! I love the fit and the color. Great job!
10/26/08 10:36 AM
Dynamo said...
Great dress, and it fits so nicely. Wear it and be happy!
10/26/08 10:37 AM
KathySews said...
Wow. Your review has lots of advice. I have been thinking of a dress, this might be the one - with your modifications printed off to help me. Thanks
10/26/08 10:44 AM
moushka said...
Lovely dress, very flattering on you. Great review.
10/26/08 10:48 AM
Nancy K said...
This dress is terrifically flattering on you. Lovely! Using supplementary instructions is really the best way to go. The pattern companies do not ever tell you the best way to do it.
10/26/08 11:04 AM
marec said...
Great dress...where did you get those darling shoes?
10/26/08 11:06 AM
sewtime said...
Very cute! Love the material.
10/26/08 11:11 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fun, retro, feminine dress. You do look pretty in it.
10/26/08 11:26 AM
DaisyEsq said...
The colors look great on you as well as the style.
10/26/08 11:33 AM
michellep74 said...
This is a great looking dress and it looks fabulous on you!
10/26/08 11:36 AM
Michelle T said...
Oh I love this dress. Did you have to alter the sleeves at all? Your figure is very similar to mine although I think my upper arms are larger.
10/26/08 12:26 PM
persevering said...
Caitycat, Thanks so much for your review. You look very pretty in this dress. Great job!
10/26/08 12:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sounds like you were up for this challenge. Let me say how adorable you look in this pretty dress.
10/26/08 12:49 PM
Annette1 said...
I've often admired this pattern, but then I see all those GODETS and think, hmmmm ... :o) Yours has turned out MAGNIFICENTLY, though, and I can TELL it would be a lot of fun to wear. Looks great on you, and you did a great job with all those GODETS! :o)
10/26/08 1:19 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, this is *lovely* on you!! Very flattering, and such a cheery dress-I can see why it makes you happy! Well done!
10/26/08 3:00 PM
kyliem said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern - I almost bought it on the weekend, but I think now I'll wait until I've got more experience under my belt!
10/26/08 5:58 PM
PatM said...
what a lovely dress, it does fit you well. It is always to see plus sized clothes reviewed
10/26/08 6:53 PM
Lilibet said...
Great job, the dress looks terrific on you. The shoes are gorgeous too, I'm suffering shoe envy.
10/26/08 7:12 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress! No wonder why it makes you happy! Very flattering and great color.
10/26/08 7:47 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous dress - worth the effort!
10/26/08 11:30 PM
Gelbean said...
Fantastic dress!
10/27/08 3:25 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
How fun! I have some orange retro nylon similar to this pattern that I'm thinking of making a dress, and your review has pushed me over the edge to do so. Thanks so much for the review!
10/27/08 8:12 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great dress and review!
10/27/08 9:39 AM
kim*brown said...
Very flattering looks RTW!
10/27/08 10:30 AM
EleanorSews said...
It is a happy dress! Probably likes being with those awfully cute shoes! You look happy too. The dress is flattering on and you are right about shortening ~ much longer and it would not be so great.
10/27/08 11:24 AM
3KillerBs said...
What a great style for your figure -- one of those shapes that looks better on a curvy, plus figure than on a bony model. Great job fighting through the inadequate instructions for a beautiful result.
10/27/08 12:02 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You look radiant in that dress! Can't wait to see the next one.
10/27/08 5:00 PM
LorelleD said...
Very pretty dress, love your fabric. Good color on you.
10/27/08 5:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Caity !!!!!! Love your dress and the TDF shoes.
10/27/08 6:38 PM
JustTrina said...
I think it looks gorgeous!!! and i love the print, just big enough to see the detail but small enough to not take over. Very flattering style.
10/30/08 8:55 AM
rebija said...
Very pretty!!! I love your choice of fabric!
11/3/08 9:18 PM
Andreahg said...
I've been on the fence about this pattern but your review has pushed me toward making it. This is sooo flattering on you. You look fabulous.
2/5/09 8:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Kwik Sew 3756

photo
by: Janine S

Review
Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now