Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1938 (Adri OOP) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1717 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:07 AM
Last Updated:9/9/03 1:56 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Another great effect Ann. (Beautiful use of the fabric.) Did you bias bind the neckline/armholes of the shell or is that folded over & stitched as well?
9/9/03 2:14 AM
els said...
Thanks for this review,a great way to show what you can do with this kind of fabric, another smashing garment.
9/9/03 4:18 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job as always Ann. PS - I like your hair that way! -(another) Ann
9/9/03 6:18 AM
Tee Jay said...
What a lovely outfit. I so enjoy going through your album. Your outfits have such style.
9/9/03 7:31 AM
Sew it seams said...
This outfit is great Ann. I love the fabric. It looks great on you and it looks like it would be very comfortable as well.
9/9/03 8:36 AM
Skymom said...
That is marvelous, Ann. What a great adaptation of a pattern that, it now appears, is a classic even if it started out kind of dated. A friend of mine happens to be wearing an Eileen Fisher two-sided linen outfit today that's very much like yours, with the edges turned out to show the reverse. Wonderful effect.
9/9/03 9:51 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Love the fabric choice, so very elegant looking!! Hey, the 80's are coming back someday, so hold on to those patterns!!
9/9/03 10:05 AM
Teri said...
What a great outfit! I love the double cloth.
9/9/03 10:23 AM
Ann Smith said...
Mel.J: yes I bound the neckline/armholes of the shell and neckline of the jacket. I forgot to mention that. I think it is a stronger finish for those spots that get so much wear.
9/9/03 10:57 AM
sewywabbit said...
Nice job! Surprisingly enough, I have this pattern, purchased last year when I was on a vintage pattern tear. You have inspired me to dig it out and have a look. There goes my getting anything done today!
9/9/03 11:23 AM
KarenP said...
Wow!! I love your outfit. You really have a knack for seeing the possibilites in a pattern and for choosing the right fabric for your patterns.
9/9/03 3:03 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Ann, you and your sewing machine are a wonderful team. I wish I could put out the quantity and quality and wear great clothes like you. What a real inspiration you are.
9/9/03 10:17 PM
Hap said...
Beautiful job and so clever. As stated earlier..you and your machine are a wonderful team
3/11/05 7:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2439 Fleece tops
photo
Review by julesberry on 2/14/06
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4471 Bandeau bikini
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 7/5/08
Read Review

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us