Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5244 (Muse) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 559 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:mamalobb
photo
About mamalobbstar
KY
Member since: 7/12/06
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/08 3:54 PM
Last Updated:10/28/08 3:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
So cute! I love how it looks as a tunic.
10/28/08 4:07 PM
Lauri Jean said...
Looks great. I am currently working on this one. Did you interface the collar piece? With what? I'm debating as my fabric is a fairly stable knit. hmmmmm
10/28/08 4:25 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute dress and tunic! I like it both ways.
10/28/08 4:32 PM
mars418 said...
Love your adaptation and the color of the fabric. Happy you were able to make it work!!
10/28/08 4:37 PM
mamalobb said...
Lauri Jean, I interfaced only the yoke. I didn't interface the collar. My fabric is a similar weight and stability of a thin sweatshirt. I don't think the interfacing is totally needed. Hope this helps
10/28/08 4:44 PM
LindsayT said...
Like you said, great running around town look. Nice!
10/28/08 4:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love it ... the style, colour and shorter length. Thanks for sharing :)
10/28/08 6:24 PM
Karendee said...
Darling tunic that looks really good on you!
10/28/08 6:27 PM
poplin said...
The top version is much better. Thanks for the pictures. What are your throughts on sewing the welt pockets?
10/28/08 7:48 PM
Catbird said...
Great color and style! Both versions look like winners to me.
10/28/08 7:49 PM
mamalobb said...
geek sewing, the pattern had good instructions for the welt pockets. I've done them before on a mccalls trench coat, and double welts on pants, so I was familiar with the concept going into this project. The only suggestion I would make that was not included in the pattern instructions would be to interface the wrong side around the stitching lines and the cutting line for the pocket. On the knit, the fabric wanted to get a little crazy once the hole was cut and the pocket/pocket facing were turned to the wrong side. Other than that, I would just go slow. I really like them-they make great cell phone holders, LOL.
10/28/08 8:39 PM
DorothyK said...
Great little dress. Looks nice and comfy, yet stylish.
10/28/08 10:37 PM
im2melo4u said...
very cute. i'm currently work on this so it's nice to see one finished.
10/28/08 10:52 PM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! I love this!
10/29/08 6:57 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your top looks great!! Thanks for the review, I've had my eye on this pattern. Does make me wonder though, because I've found this with other patterns--the "baggy back." I've had this happen recently, and don't recall it ever being an issue with things I used to make years ago. Style differences?
10/29/08 7:07 AM
nglalala said...
I like both looks as well. It looks great!
10/29/08 10:55 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE top!!!! I did not like this pattern until I saw your version!!! I might have to buy it now!!!!
10/29/08 7:05 PM
rebija said...
Nicely done!!!!
11/3/08 9:17 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, the baggy back works much better in the tunic than the dress. I was going to suggest putting a couple of darts in the back to bring it in, but now you don't have to do so. Cute style. I think our review will be very helpful to someone else making this dress (or top).
11/21/08 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 4762 girl's skort
photo
Review by shannonsto... on 9/2/11
Read Review

Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by pharmlyn on 5/29/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Scout Woven Tee
Scout Woven Tee

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us