SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5244 (Muse)

11 more reviews
Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:mamalobb
photo

 
 
About mamalobbstar
KY
Member since: 7/12/06
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/08 3:54 PM
Last Updated:10/28/08 3:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Yes, the baggy back works much better in the tunic than the dress. I was going to suggest putting a couple of darts in the back to bring it in, but now you don't have to do so. Cute style. I think our review will be very helpful to someone else making this dress (or top).
11/21/08 11:37 AM
rebija said...
Nicely done!!!!
11/3/08 9:17 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE top!!!! I did not like this pattern until I saw your version!!! I might have to buy it now!!!!
10/29/08 7:05 PM
nglalala said...
I like both looks as well. It looks great!
10/29/08 10:55 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your top looks great!! Thanks for the review, I've had my eye on this pattern. Does make me wonder though, because I've found this with other patterns--the "baggy back." I've had this happen recently, and don't recall it ever being an issue with things I used to make years ago. Style differences?
10/29/08 7:07 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! I love this!
10/29/08 6:57 AM
im2melo4u said...
very cute. i'm currently work on this so it's nice to see one finished.
10/28/08 10:52 PM
DorothyK said...
Great little dress. Looks nice and comfy, yet stylish.
10/28/08 10:37 PM
mamalobb said...
geek sewing, the pattern had good instructions for the welt pockets. I've done them before on a mccalls trench coat, and double welts on pants, so I was familiar with the concept going into this project. The only suggestion I would make that was not included in the pattern instructions would be to interface the wrong side around the stitching lines and the cutting line for the pocket. On the knit, the fabric wanted to get a little crazy once the hole was cut and the pocket/pocket facing were turned to the wrong side. Other than that, I would just go slow. I really like them-they make great cell phone holders, LOL.
10/28/08 8:39 PM
Catbird said...
Great color and style! Both versions look like winners to me.
10/28/08 7:49 PM
poplin said...
The top version is much better. Thanks for the pictures. What are your throughts on sewing the welt pockets?
10/28/08 7:48 PM
Karendee said...
Darling tunic that looks really good on you!
10/28/08 6:27 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love it ... the style, colour and shorter length. Thanks for sharing :)
10/28/08 6:24 PM
LindsayT said...
Like you said, great running around town look. Nice!
10/28/08 4:54 PM
mamalobb said...
Lauri Jean, I interfaced only the yoke. I didn't interface the collar. My fabric is a similar weight and stability of a thin sweatshirt. I don't think the interfacing is totally needed. Hope this helps
10/28/08 4:44 PM
mars418 said...
Love your adaptation and the color of the fabric. Happy you were able to make it work!!
10/28/08 4:37 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute dress and tunic! I like it both ways.
10/28/08 4:32 PM
Lauri Jean said...
Looks great. I am currently working on this one. Did you interface the collar piece? With what? I'm debating as my fabric is a fairly stable knit. hmmmmm
10/28/08 4:25 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
So cute! I love how it looks as a tunic.
10/28/08 4:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2393

photo
by: rmusic1

Review