SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3991 (McCall Vintage # 3991)

Viewed 667 times 
Reviewed by:rebija
photo

 
 
About rebijastar
GA USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/08 11:56 PM
Last Updated:11/1/08 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Very nice jacket! It is very cute.
11/1/08 0:01 AM
ajax said...
I love what you've done with the fabric - the back is so unexpected. Very cute.
11/1/08 0:43 AM
mendospot said...
Love it!
11/1/08 1:41 AM
ryansmumAria said...
WOW!
11/1/08 1:59 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Great reuse of an outfit to harvest the fabric. The vintage pattern and the vintage material - perfect combo! This is a head turner jacket.
11/1/08 3:13 AM
Jolet said...
It looks amazing! I can imagine you busy with how to put the pattern pieces on the right part of the fabric. You were very succesful with that when I look at the back pattern!
11/1/08 3:42 AM
Michele19 said...
I love everything about this jacket. From the front it is a polished bolero in a great color and from the back it is this powerful and beautifully composed image, but still completely CHIC! I WANT IT!
11/1/08 4:38 AM
shesflipped said...
This is fabulous! You've taken a garment that you didn't like and have turned it into a beautiful, one of a kind jacket~bravo! Way to go on tackling those new skills~it turned out perfectly!
11/1/08 7:38 AM
fourkid said...
Very beautiful and well thought out. I love to see how others use their vintage patterns!!
11/1/08 7:43 AM
ButtonFaith said...
WOW! This is so incredible! Great bolero from the front with a surprise back! What an inspiration!
11/1/08 8:09 AM
wendlesue said...
Your jacket is absolutely stunning. So amazing. You are brilliant to put it together like that from an old garment. I am so inspired by this!
11/1/08 8:31 AM
Tiner W said...
Amazing! I LOVE it!
11/1/08 8:51 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Beautiful, this look amazing!
11/1/08 9:27 AM
carolynw said...
Georgeous - a real knock out!!
11/1/08 9:29 AM
Mahler said...
What a fantastic project. The jacket you created is fabulous. Bravo.
11/1/08 9:49 AM
Izzie said...
Gorgeous!
11/1/08 10:04 AM
Princess Jenny said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the fabric :)
11/1/08 10:28 AM
cindyann said...
I love it! Gorgeous.
11/1/08 10:46 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love this jacket - how unique - and a great way to recyle
11/1/08 10:50 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. Amazing.
11/1/08 11:32 AM
Luckylibbet said...
What a transformation! The bolero style uses the original fabric to MUCH better effect than the original. Excellent!
11/1/08 12:19 PM
moushka said...
Stunning combo of fabric and pattern.
11/1/08 12:35 PM
crystalwoods said...
I so love the way you showcased part of the fabric in your design. You created a work of art - I can imagine people following you around streets to get a better look at the back lol ! Great jacket.
11/1/08 1:05 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, you did a fantastic job recycling fabric from an unworn garment in such a clever way. Your jacket is fabulous!
11/1/08 1:12 PM
3KillerBs said...
Good work salvaging a piece that didn't work to make something new and beautiful.
11/1/08 3:04 PM
tlmck3 said...
This whole project is BRILLIANT! Love that you recycled and old garment. The fact that the new garment is simply stunning is icing on the cake. You are an inspiration. Great documentation of your process, too.
11/1/08 7:11 PM
patsijean said...
rebija, the jacket is incredible.
11/1/08 7:17 PM
moonchild61 said...
This is just stunning. As a beginner, you give me hope!
11/1/08 9:43 PM
Athene said...
Love your jacket.
11/1/08 10:08 PM
Annette1 said...
This is AWESOME! I LOVE the back, the collar, the front shaping, EVERYTHING! This is truly one-of-a-kind!
11/2/08 0:51 AM
HLT said...
Very creative use of RTW. You did a very nice job.
11/2/08 7:02 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your documentation photos were hardly boring; they were exciting. You had a real Vision of how to transform the original garment, and your resulting jacket is just stunning. Each decision you made was aesthetically perfect, and you now have a gorgeous one-of-a-kind garment. Lovely, Lily
11/2/08 10:17 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, that's all I can think to say--Wow!! Absolutely stunning!
11/2/08 12:00 PM
Trixie1955 said...
This is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. Inspiration certainly was with you every step of the way. Beautiful fabric reconstructed into an outstanding new garment with stunning technique. Brava!
11/2/08 2:01 PM
CSM--Carla said...
STUNNING! Great pictures of the opus! Thank you for the inspiration!
11/2/08 5:04 PM
denisedh said...
I think your jacket turned out really pretty and you're a smart cookie for recycling! Congratulations - beautiful jacket!
11/2/08 5:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a fabulous job you did recycling this.
11/2/08 6:31 PM
valerie sews said...
I love your jacket, love the way you used the fabric. It would be good to see a photo of you wearing it.
11/2/08 7:02 PM
rebija said...
Thank you for all of the encouraging words! The PR community is such a great place to experiment and step "outside the box". Its so comforting to know that you have such a wonderful community encouraging you along the way. Thanks to everyone!
11/3/08 7:39 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Stunning project! Wonderful jacket, and what insight you had to make up an entirely new garment!
11/3/08 6:50 PM
Marji said...
This is fabulous! What a great way to recycle fabric too.
11/7/08 8:48 AM
solosmocker said...
Stunning! Taking all those seams out from the original garment certainly was worth it. This is a show stopper.
11/13/08 8:34 PM
AnneM said...
Great inspiration piece. Love the fabric and your use of it. You did a spectacular job, and got a really cute & trendy jacket out of it. And come on, you are talking to other people who sew - we don't get bored by pictures like those!
11/21/08 7:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 8108

photo
by: Sewingmavi...

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now