SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8096 (Mens Shirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 566 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 6:13 AM
Last Updated:3/4/10 6:08 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 27 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ejvc said...
These are a pair of lovely new shirts, Karen. To all reading, I finally mastered my flat-felling foot because of her tips, and highly recommend her blog tutorial. I do, however, believe Coffin was smokin' something when he wrote that book, because some of those finishes simply aren't achievable by humans. Having said that, it's a really fun book to read through and try, and Karen's results would imply that my sewing skills, rather than the book, are at fault.
3/4/10 5:12 PM
LizBa said...
The shirts look fantastic and I think my picky husband would wear it too. Thanks for all of the tips!
3/4/10 4:50 PM
voet said...
Thank you for a great review. Your shirts really turned out beautifully. A couple of comments that I hope you find helpful. 1. Men's sleeve sizes are measured from the center back across the shoulder and bent elbow to the wrist. 2. In addition to David Coffin's book on shirt making, I also like the Islander patterns. Islander also has videos, which I have not seen, but I have been to a two day workshop on making shirts offered by an Islander instructor. Their patterns are well drafted; their techniques are excellent. If you purchase all of their patterns you will have a pattern library with different design elements.
3/4/10 1:19 PM
sewmaris said...
Do not despair! I made one shirt for my husband, which is a much better fit than RTW, and I am about to start on my second. The first one turned out reasonably well - but I have very high hopes for number two. Once you get the fit and process down - it is cake. And repetition really does breed success and improved skills. Keep at it - you are doing very well - and don;t be so hard onyourself. :-)
3/4/10 12:07 PM
Coastal Connie said...
Wow! What great sewing! A beautiful job. Your husband is one LUCKY man. I hope he appreciates the beautiful shirts you've made. I've made 1 men's shirt for DH from an Islander Pattern. It turned out nicely, too, but not as beautiful as yours.
3/4/10 9:53 AM
rabitgrl said...
Nice thorough review, and beautifully sewn shirt! I am really interested in Coffins book, since I like making mens shirts, but am not yet at your skill level. Well done!
3/4/10 9:49 AM
Christas said...
Thanks for editing to add info about your flat felling foot. I bought one right after reading David Coffin's book quite a while back and haven't used it yet. You have made your husband some really nice shirts. I really should make my dear husband one and try out my new foot.
3/4/10 9:16 AM
Renren said...
Oh, these shirts are just magnificent. I have been playing around with starting a shirt for my husband, too, with the idea of making it a long-term project so I won't be overwhelmed, and also using DPC's book as a guide. Great review, too!
3/4/10 7:41 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I have commented on your blog - love the shirt! I just have to add to the huge no. of comments you have - Yay! for unselfish sewing!
3/4/10 6:18 AM
rebija said...
I've been so interested in this book by David Page Coffin. Thank you for the review. Your shirt looks great!
1/8/09 9:02 PM
Nancy K said...
Kbenco this looks great! It is a beautiful, professional high end looking shirt! I read your review on Coffin's book and went looking for this shirt review. I really need to pull out the book and read it through before I tackle my shirt for Swap. I will use your suggestions for making samples first!
11/13/08 7:50 AM
Kbenco said...
Thanks for the kind comments and helpful links. dvmcindy, I bought the fabric from Gorgeous fabrics. I think it is this one http://www.gorgeousfabrics.com/shop/product_info.php?products_id=1372, so there is still a little left. It is lovely fabric, very fine and cool to wear.
11/4/08 7:59 PM
shaggy said...
Good for you. I used to make shirts for my son and know how time consuming it can be!!
11/4/08 10:18 AM
Lindaw said...
great looking shirt! A web site you might find helpful is: http://off-the-cuff-style.blogspot.com/
11/4/08 8:56 AM
fourkid said...
Great shirt and great review. My Dh (6'4") is hard to fit and hard to find what he likes - so I may try this challenge in the new year. Thanks for all the hints and references - I noted them all!
11/4/08 8:03 AM
Kathi R said...
Congrats on a successful shirt -- once the pattern is perfected you can use it for years. I agree that DPC's book is an absolute must for shirtmaking.
11/3/08 9:07 PM
JustTrina said...
Thanks so much for such a detailed review and all the sources you went to for help! and your shirt looks great! all the details!!! i noticed the placket immed. and called in my husband to looksee before i even read the review!! we both loved it. Great Job!
11/3/08 8:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A really fine and handsome looking shirt, and I do hope you are very pleased with yourself, as you've done a fully professional job. There is no substitute for a perfectly fitting man's dress shirt. Well done! -Lily
11/3/08 6:38 PM
Leora said...
That looks like a fine shirt, you should be proud!
11/3/08 6:35 PM
Christas said...
This looks SOOO nice! Your husband may ask you to make ALL of his shirts from now on!
11/3/08 5:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is so beautiful!! where did you get this shirting. I'm adding this review to my favorites when I want to make my husband one!
11/3/08 4:51 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Very nice! I just got that same book last week and i'm really looking forward to trying it out!
11/3/08 4:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
I think this is a GREAT first shirt. David Coffin's book is a lifesaver for shirts. There's definitely a learning curve - your next one will be way faster. I'm on my 6th now, and I've finally gotten so that my only problem areas are sleeve plackets and the collar band, and I think those will be eternal. Beautiful work.
11/3/08 3:54 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL workmanship, as always. I foresee many more shirts in your future. :o) The only way you may be able to stop the requests, should you so decide, is to start adding smocking to his business shirts. :o) This is PERFECT!
11/3/08 1:28 PM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful shirt - nicer than any RTW that I've seen!! By the way, I've got a chart of neck sizes in this tip: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=1392
11/3/08 10:45 AM
Joey in Katy said...
Good information, excellent looking shirt!
11/3/08 10:04 AM
sewtime said...
Fantastic job!!!
11/3/08 9:57 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely job - I too make shirts for my DH and find David's book very, very helpful. Sometimes the end results are not all that pleasing to me but DH wears them with pride - nice, nice man.
11/3/08 9:42 AM
dbsewer said...
Great shirt. It's too bad there aren't more wonderful menswear patterns in Vogue. I love the DPC book, too. It's so detailed. You did a great job and I'll bet your DH is asking you to make more.
11/3/08 8:57 AM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful shirt!
11/3/08 7:02 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Outstanding! I hope you are happy with yourself because you did a truly beautiful/professional job on this shirt!!! Congratulations!
11/3/08 6:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

More Info