Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8548 (MISSES' COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 903 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 9:04 AM
Last Updated:11/3/08 6:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
So sorry to herar you are not happy with this coat - for what it's worth I think it looks very nice on you - at this time of the year as we move into coats it is sometimes hard to see ourselves all snuggled up in heavy clothing - so give it time - I'll bet when the flakes start to fall you will find use for this!!!
11/3/08 9:37 AM
Frogstitcher said...
I recognized this pattern immediately when I saw your picture in the gallery. Thank you for such a thorough and helpful review. Despite the challenges you encountered, I think your jacket is fabulous! Anyone who has made a coat knows the amount of hours and effort that is required and when you have issues along the way, it takes even longer. I love your coat, nice work!
11/3/08 9:43 AM
sewtime said...
I also think your coat looks very nice on you. Sorry you don't also think that . Maybe the cold-cold weather will change your mind. Beautiful coat.
11/3/08 9:55 AM
EleanorSews said...
Lots to think about! You point out some important considerations. Your coat really is quite nice. Would it help you any to possibly taper the lower sides seams a bit? It's a shame to do all taht work and not be happy even when the finished product looks as nice as your does.
11/3/08 12:31 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY NICE coat, and a GREAT review! I actually think you look GREAT in your new coat, but I know exactly what you mean about the "turtle effect." :o)) I've eyed this pattern myself, but having made a couple of turtle coats in the past, I decided to pass on it for the reasons you stated. Yours looks fantastic though!
11/3/08 1:23 PM
Chicklet said...
Oh no! I am sewing this coat myself right now, so I am very sorry to hear that you are not happy with it! (I am working on view C though) I am curious though... How did you get around the handstitching? I am about to start on the sleeves, etc. and I too am a bad hand stitcher. Very easy vogue? I think not! Anyway, I think that your coat looks really great!
11/3/08 2:33 PM
Lynnelle said...
Sorry it didn't work out for you. I bought this pattern for the style and returned it because I later had concerns about the neck. Despite it not working out for you, thank you for sharing your experience.
11/3/08 3:15 PM
annie11 said...
I'm so glad that you guys think it looks fine. I think you are right- it is 70 degrees here and I'm probably just not in winter mode yet. I think that I will go back and taper the side seams to get rid of that pear shape. I just didn't want to do it because that will mean redoing the pockets as well. Chicklet- I think you'll be happier with View C. I wish I had chosen that one! I did what you call "bagging a lining", which a lot of coat and jacket patterns have you do. Here is a link to a tip here on PR that describes it: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=1538
11/3/08 3:19 PM
Chicklet said...
Oh thank you! I will check it out (and hopefully save myself a bit of a headache!) Thank you for the help!!!
11/3/08 4:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
My eyes cannot be deceiving me because the coat looks gorgeous and you look very stylish! I am so sorry that you had challenges you described! Very helpful review! Thanks!
11/3/08 4:49 PM
CynthiaSue said...
very helpful review. It looks really cute on you. and I would so have been driven by the adorable line pattern on the envelope as were you.. it looks great and I hope you can wear it!
11/3/08 4:54 PM
Erica B. said...
I think your coat looks nice also. I have this pattern cut out and I'm about to start interfacing.
11/3/08 6:28 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it looks great, but I can relate to your feelings about the neck. I bet you'll like it a lot more in a few weeks, even if you don't feel like re-doing the pockets to taper in the "pear shape".
11/3/08 6:37 PM
Beek said...
Thank yo for the informative and honest review. I am sure that you have saved other sewers from frustration!
11/3/08 7:21 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Strangely enough after reading your review, I feel curious about this pattern and would love to try this and I am fairly flat chested......I do think your coat looks great and thank you for very interesting review.
11/3/08 7:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Well, I've read your review after you've narrowed the sides below the waist. You know, this pretty coat has (to me) a pretty strong 70's vibe which is everywhere on the runways. And in the 70's, the funnel neck *was* stiffened and exaggerated. Come Winter, I think you're going to look smashing and very hip in this Beauty. -Lily
11/3/08 9:32 PM
Timmithea said...
The coats has a nontraditional look to it. None the less, it looks quite distinct and vogue on you. Put this ensemble with some boots and you will look fabulous. The collar is just something you're not used to. Get over it-you look FABULOUS!
11/4/08 9:13 AM
marjenann said...
Wow! What a luscious looking coat. It is really a show stopper. You look fab! Annette
11/4/08 4:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 4762 girl's skort
photo
Review by shannonsto... on 9/2/11
Read Review

Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by pharmlyn on 5/29/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Scout Woven Tee
Scout Woven Tee

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us