SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8536 (MISSES' TOP)

46 more reviews
Viewed 1087 times 
Reviewed by:Amanda S.
photo

 
 
About Amanda S.starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 6/27/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 172 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 9:51 PM
Last Updated:11/3/08 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature\\'s Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
Great top, beautifully sewn inside & out. Your illustrations are really helpful--thanks for the review!
11/22/08 3:52 PM
Beachbug said...
Thank you for the great info and the excellent detailed photos of your techniques. I especially enjoyed seeing the INSIDE of your garment. (No, I didn't become bored.)
11/14/08 12:01 PM
Amanda S. said...
Nancy2001 - Thanks! I like your ideas. I was thinking the design was flawed, not that it was simply too big in the neck. But now I see where I can correct the problem next time.
11/5/08 1:41 PM
nancy2001 said...
Amanda, what a great looking top in a beautiful fabric, and thank you for your very helpful review. I recently made this crossover top and posted my review. The way I got around the droopiness problem was to take a TNT tee shirt pattern that fit me perfectly and morph a modified version of the neckline onto it. I also used a shorter band around the neckline than the Vogue pattern specified. One other trick that might eliminate droopiness in the front area for you might be to go down a pattern size or two in the shoulder.
11/5/08 1:05 PM
Sharon M said...
Lovely version of this pattern.
11/4/08 6:29 PM
janet said...
You are making an exquisite wardrobe with exceptional craftsmanship. You look divine!
11/4/08 11:32 AM
rozzybabe said...
As always, a fabulous job!
11/4/08 11:23 AM
EleanorSews said...
Thanks for the review. What a lovely top! What about using clear elastic like you would to stabilize/prevent gaposis in a crossover wrap top? I'm waiting for JoAnns to have a sale to pick this one up.
11/4/08 10:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Pretty top and lovely sewing job. I like your French seams and that you chose to finish the bottom with a band. As a substitute for the cover stitch when I'm in a hurry and don't want to change my serger I sometimes use a double needle which gives similar results.
11/4/08 10:00 AM
Rosebeee said...
I have a wrap front shirt that does that same gapping thing! How are you going to fix your pattern? Maybe I could do the same thing with mine!! :) Your shirt looks fabulous, by the way! :)
11/4/08 9:53 AM
kasizzle said...
Cute top!
11/4/08 9:05 AM
Gelbean said...
Great top. Thanks for the info on the droopy front. I just ordered this pattern for that particular view. Great job overcoming your machine limitations by adding the bands.
11/4/08 1:32 AM
AngieC said...
Your top is absolutely beautiful! I love that fabric! Great review!
11/4/08 0:57 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful top!! Love the fabric! Great fit!
11/4/08 0:02 AM
Annette1 said...
PURE PERFECTION! :o)
11/3/08 11:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Amanda ! ! I enjoy seeing your great fabric and pattern choices :)
11/3/08 10:30 PM
DaisyEsq said...
You've made a beautiful blouse. The inside looks just as pretty as the outside.
11/3/08 10:13 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful top. The fabric is perfect for the pattern. It really looks good on you.
11/3/08 10:09 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I think your top is very nice and I personally like the French seams. I have a serger but back when I learned to sew about 40 years ago I loved doing French seams even though no one saw them but me.
11/3/08 10:01 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, your top looks great! I almost bought this pattern at the last sale, and next time I'll definitely have to! Would stitching the front wrap part down (through the 2 layers) fix the droopiness, or would it just create other problems?
11/3/08 9:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

More Info
Other Organized Office Bag

photo
by: roseisaros...

Review