SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8536 (MISSES' TOP)

44 more reviews
Viewed 1066 times 
Reviewed by:Amanda S.
photo

 
 
About Amanda S.starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 6/27/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 171 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/08 9:51 PM
Last Updated:11/3/08 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, your top looks great! I almost bought this pattern at the last sale, and next time I'll definitely have to! Would stitching the front wrap part down (through the 2 layers) fix the droopiness, or would it just create other problems?
11/3/08 9:56 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I think your top is very nice and I personally like the French seams. I have a serger but back when I learned to sew about 40 years ago I loved doing French seams even though no one saw them but me.
11/3/08 10:01 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful top. The fabric is perfect for the pattern. It really looks good on you.
11/3/08 10:09 PM
DaisyEsq said...
You've made a beautiful blouse. The inside looks just as pretty as the outside.
11/3/08 10:13 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Amanda ! ! I enjoy seeing your great fabric and pattern choices :)
11/3/08 10:30 PM
Annette1 said...
PURE PERFECTION! :o)
11/3/08 11:39 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful top!! Love the fabric! Great fit!
11/4/08 0:02 AM
AngieC said...
Your top is absolutely beautiful! I love that fabric! Great review!
11/4/08 0:57 AM
Gelbean said...
Great top. Thanks for the info on the droopy front. I just ordered this pattern for that particular view. Great job overcoming your machine limitations by adding the bands.
11/4/08 1:32 AM
kasizzle said...
Cute top!
11/4/08 9:05 AM
Rosebeee said...
I have a wrap front shirt that does that same gapping thing! How are you going to fix your pattern? Maybe I could do the same thing with mine!! :) Your shirt looks fabulous, by the way! :)
11/4/08 9:53 AM
Barbara V said...
Pretty top and lovely sewing job. I like your French seams and that you chose to finish the bottom with a band. As a substitute for the cover stitch when I'm in a hurry and don't want to change my serger I sometimes use a double needle which gives similar results.
11/4/08 10:00 AM
EleanorSews said...
Thanks for the review. What a lovely top! What about using clear elastic like you would to stabilize/prevent gaposis in a crossover wrap top? I'm waiting for JoAnns to have a sale to pick this one up.
11/4/08 10:18 AM
rozzybabe said...
As always, a fabulous job!
11/4/08 11:23 AM
janet said...
You are making an exquisite wardrobe with exceptional craftsmanship. You look divine!
11/4/08 11:32 AM
Sharon M said...
Lovely version of this pattern.
11/4/08 6:29 PM
nancy2001 said...
Amanda, what a great looking top in a beautiful fabric, and thank you for your very helpful review. I recently made this crossover top and posted my review. The way I got around the droopiness problem was to take a TNT tee shirt pattern that fit me perfectly and morph a modified version of the neckline onto it. I also used a shorter band around the neckline than the Vogue pattern specified. One other trick that might eliminate droopiness in the front area for you might be to go down a pattern size or two in the shoulder.
11/5/08 1:05 PM
Amanda S. said...
Nancy2001 - Thanks! I like your ideas. I was thinking the design was flawed, not that it was simply too big in the neck. But now I see where I can correct the problem next time.
11/5/08 1:41 PM
Beachbug said...
Thank you for the great info and the excellent detailed photos of your techniques. I especially enjoyed seeing the INSIDE of your garment. (No, I didn't become bored.)
11/14/08 12:01 PM
Dee2 said...
Great top, beautifully sewn inside & out. Your illustrations are really helpful--thanks for the review!
11/22/08 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 5633

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now