SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7525 

1 more reviews
Viewed 235 times 
Reviewed by:Glynne
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Glynne
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews: 4 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/08 3:49 AM
Last Updated:8/9/15 5:25 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:
photo3
Pattern Photo: Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Glynne

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Fabric:Polyester Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' loose-fitting, bias, pullover, unlined, A-line dress, above mid-knee (centre back) or tunic (two-lengths) has shaped hemline, side-slit and long sleeves. The front and back are each cut as a single piece thus making it a good pattern for fabrics with large patterns or repeats on them. I made view C the dress intending to wear it as a tunic over long skirts.

Pattern Sizing:
14-16-18. I made the size 18.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. Even with my modifications it was very recognisable as the same pattern.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. It is a good introductory pattern for sewers with limited experience making garments cut on the bias as it is easier to fit than a bias skirt thanks to it hanging from the shoulders.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the neckline, the bias cut, the narrow sleeves, bust darts and shaped hemline. No dislikes.

Fabric Used:
I used a speciality fabric. It was a sheer polyester chiffon with an appliqued silk design across it.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
As the non appliqued portions of the fabric were see-through I lined the tunic. I used a contrasting, single-stretch knit (to compensate for the bias cut of the fabric) and slit both side seams. For the lining I used the construction techniques used in the Bill Blass Vogue 2356 pattern 1999 and used the standard pattern neck facings over the knit lining, edge-stitched and then caught gently by hand to the lining to ensure a really clean neckline.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes to both. Without the lining techniques I used the pattern would be dead easy. With the lining techniques used it makes a sophisticated dress/tunic.

Conclusion:
If you like to look a little different this is a great foundation pattern to do it with - although I believe the pattern recently went out of print but you may be able to pick it up on second hand pattern sites. For more pics and a shot of the Blass pattern mentioned click here.

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
janet said... (11/5/08 11:54 AM) Reply
Very attractive top. Wish the pattern was still in print.
marjenann said... (11/5/08 7:35 AM) Reply
Very classy! Love the look! Annette
Heatherrique said... (11/4/08 8:15 PM) Reply
Dazzling top! Wow!
EleanorSews said... (11/4/08 1:51 PM) Reply
Just beautiful. So sleek and elegant in its simplicity.
Judy Wentz said... (11/4/08 6:30 AM) Reply
very pretty..good job
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-114

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Studio Cherie Travel Duffle

photo
by: lelliebunn...

Review
Take-Along Bags Paper Pattern

Take-Along Bags Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Pattern Details