SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5219 (Fast & Easy)

11 more reviews
Viewed 743 times 
Reviewed by:Cathy Loves Fabric
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Cathy Loves Fabricstar
USA
Member since: 4/16/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 2:34 PM
Last Updated:11/5/08 8:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

So Vintage Patterns


Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
With your embellishment, this top is a lot like the embellished tops in Coldwater Creek. You look nice in it; I hope you enjoy wearing it.
11/5/08 2:40 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very nice looking top. I like the embellishments, too. Great job!
11/5/08 3:42 PM
j222b said...
Clever top embellishment and great jewelry design. I see many similar style RTW with a contrasting neckband, too. Many possibilities with this pattern as you said.
11/5/08 3:45 PM
shesflipped said...
Great looking top! I love the embellishment~makes it very 'boutique' looking!
11/5/08 4:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive top, Cathy! Very nice use of embellishments!
11/5/08 6:22 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty Cathy, I don't have this pattern. But when I do get it, (thanks a lot, BTW!) I'll have to remember your trick for block fusing.
11/5/08 6:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely top with the added embellishments Cathy! Another winner :)
11/5/08 6:40 PM
Sewliz said...
Nice looking top! The beads are a wonderful touch. I think the neckband is a success and the shape is good for you. I'm envious, I like this style but it just doesn't work on me.
11/5/08 7:54 PM
greenandlilac said...
Thank you for the information about the neckband. Seaspur mentioned this was a problem too. This is why I like this website so much.
11/5/08 7:56 PM
sewtime said...
Love your top embellishments! Cute!!
11/5/08 8:10 PM
Steffie said...
Cathy, thanks for your review and for the photo of your FBA. I made a similar style type and had a big 'dip' in the front because I did not do an FBA. Your top lays nicely across your chest and drops from your chest without a big dip. The neckline fits you very well, too. Very attractive top!
11/5/08 8:40 PM
AngieC said...
Very nice top! And a great detailed review as well. It is so helpful to see plus sized women model their garments so others can see the fit. Thank you!
11/5/08 8:51 PM
JEF said...
That is a really nice top. You did such a good job and I really love your embellishment - classy.
11/5/08 9:09 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nicely fitting and super attractive top - the color suits you and the bead embellishments are 'just right' - not too much not too little. Love the jewelry you made, it will look super with this ensemble! AND a very helpful review too. THANKS!
11/5/08 9:49 PM
cmarie12 said...
Cathy what a cute top!
11/5/08 10:44 PM
mastdenman said...
I really like your top. I was looking at the pattern but didn't like the fashion drawings.
11/5/08 10:51 PM
DebJ said...
What a great top. Thanks for the tip about the neckline facing. It will come in handy for many of the patterns that have this type of neckline. Love the matching jewels, I wish I could make such lovely jewelry!
11/6/08 4:55 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thanks for all the encouraging comments. I wasn't sure if the beads looks right. I feel better about them now. You're the greatest!
11/6/08 11:20 PM
Athene said...
A very versatile top - I love the embellisments and your jewellry accessories.
11/6/08 11:26 PM
Elaray said...
I appreciated being reminded about block fusing. That would have made the neckband easier to manage.
11/7/08 11:16 AM
sewsmiles said...
I liked the embellishment you did on this top. The color is also very nice for this top. I think it would look wonderful on you in a rust and also in turquoise! Thanks for the review!
11/21/08 10:43 AM
sarah121haras said...
I love the embellishment you did! Great job!
7/15/10 3:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I really like your top. It looks lovely on you. Helpful review too, thanks.
5/26/11 0:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 6242

photo
by: Sewlful

Review
Self Drafted Pattern No Pattern Used

photo
by: Holmar

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now