SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3399 (Evening Dress (wedding dress))

1 more reviews
Viewed 2049 times 
Reviewed by:shannie
photo

 
 
About shanniestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/26/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 4:23 PM
Last Updated:7/30/09 12:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JEF said...
So beautiful!
8/1/09 11:00 PM
Erin D said...
Wow, your creativity and dedication to the project are amazing, and so worth it. You look beautiful in the dress!
8/1/09 0:33 AM
carolynw said...
Ooooh my - you are so lovely in your special weding gown. Congratulations Mrs. Bacon and wish you many, many happy years to come
7/31/09 9:17 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You are breathtaking in your wedding gown. I totally enjoyed the journey through your dressmaking experience. The dress is stunning and suits you perfectly.
7/31/09 1:26 AM
Raye Ann said...
so special! you are really, really lovely in your fabulous, custom gown. congratulations!
7/31/09 0:38 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Holy cow! What an awesome review! Your dress turned out absolutely perfect, and you were one stunning bride! I learned so much from reading your review- thanks for taking the time to go into so much detail.
7/30/09 7:28 PM
lucylal said...
Just beautiful!! You are very clever. Great in-depth review!
7/30/09 7:02 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Wonderful review and lots of detail! You made a beautiful bride in a gorgeous dress. Well done!!!
7/30/09 6:26 PM
RLL said...
What an incredibly impressive job you did. Your reserch and just the tenacity to press forward to make it perfect. It is beautiful and you are beautiful in it. Congrats on both the dress and your marriage.
7/30/09 4:59 PM
SueV said...
wonderful! Beautiful! And it was all done on your Rocketeer that was in the background on one of your photos! congratulations Mrs.
7/30/09 4:21 PM
smoody said...
you did a beautiful job!!! you've inspired me with all of your research and detailing and getting it to what you wanted and then you created it ! Wonderful job and congrats!
7/30/09 3:49 PM
kathleencramer said...
Stunning! What a great job on the dress. and I looks wonderful on you. I can't get over the detail of the bodice. It is classically beautiful, just like the bride! Nice job!
7/30/09 3:21 PM
sewfan said...
Absolutely gorgeous and an amazing job. I agree, you need to raise your skill level to advanced.
7/30/09 3:00 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Congratulations on your marriage. And wow, that's a pretty amazing and complex dress. I think if I were you I'd be promoting myself to Advanced after making this! :)
7/30/09 2:04 PM
wreninrome said...
WOW! This is just amazing. And who doesn't love bacon? :) You and the dress are gorgeous! Congrats. (and love the pockets)
7/30/09 1:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Amazing dress! You look gorgeous!
7/30/09 1:24 PM
maedchen said...
what a joy to see! You make a lovely bride and your gown and everything else look fabulous!
7/30/09 12:54 PM
Andreahg said...
What a beautiful bride! Just stunning!
7/30/09 12:49 PM
Knitters Delight said...
You look stunning. What a perfect dress for a wonderful bride!
7/30/09 12:47 PM
Sallygirl said...
Absolutely breathtakingly stunning and simply priceless. What a treasure you have created!
7/30/09 12:29 PM
aBeachBreeze said...
Wow Shannie! You've really inspired me! I really want to sew my own dress now! I can't wait for you to post wedding day pics. It looks amazing on the dressform, I can't even imagine how great it must look on you!
7/5/09 11:58 PM
rozzybabe said...
What a stunning, one-of-a-kind dress! The construction process, & the different design features used from several patterns is brilliant! And the GORGEOUS bow-a knock out. Not only are you a fabulous sewer, & very creative, you'll be a smashing bride! Can't wait to see pictures! I'll keep your review & ideas, as bridal dressmaking is a new business I'm starting from home. Congrats all around!
6/25/09 10:02 PM
MaryDB said...
How absolutely beautiful, and what great construction. Do, please, update us with your wedding pictures. Best wishes to you!
6/25/09 9:55 PM
smoody said...
i really like the detail and the beautiful accents you put into this dress- you made it your own. Very impressive!!!!!
6/25/09 4:45 PM
Christas said...
Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes...... I can hear the Sound of Music, except I am sure this dress is much more beautiful than the one Julie Andrews was singing about!
6/25/09 1:06 PM
minggiddylooloo said...
Wow, what an extensive review. And a beautiful gown too! Best wishes for the upcoming special event!!
6/12/09 3:20 PM
Jatman said...
You truly have a haute couture gown! Beautiful!
6/12/09 2:00 PM
SewLil said...
Can't wait to see you in it. I love the flower! Ingenious to curl it with the candle flame. Very nice review too.
6/12/09 1:44 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Great review and beautiful dress! June 20th is my wedding anniversary too! Must be good karma. You will be gorgeous!
6/11/09 10:28 PM
Karen Easter said...
Beautiful dress and fantastic documentation of your process! Enjoy your special day!
6/11/09 8:40 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I can tell that this was truly a labor of love. Beautiful work!! jw
6/11/09 8:23 PM
Kimbra said...
I can definately believe it is your work. It takes a lot of time and energy to think the process through in your head. With your skill and mastery, your dress will be the most beautiful dress ever worn by a bride!!!!
4/27/09 4:54 PM
Annette1 said...
You're making great progress! Not only that, you got me started looking at retro reproduction patterns. I saw a couple on the Butterick site that look very similar to your inspiration designs, in case you end up doing more experimenting (although I don't know why you would, as it looks like you've found the perfect design to go with your beautiful petticoat)! It's still fun to look though. :o) YOU may not buy one, but I'LL probably end up getting one, for WHAT I don't know. :o) http://www.butterick.com/web/shop.cgi?s.page.all&search=retro
3/18/09 0:58 AM
Phasionz by M said...
I accidentally asked the same question twice! Sorry....
3/17/09 6:21 PM
CTBarb said...
You might try Mccall's 3440 available on thebluegradenia.com under fifties patterns. It is very similar but with spaghetti straps. The number 3399 comes up with a different pattern on oldpatterns.com.
3/17/09 5:52 PM
Phasionz by M said...
That is a beautiful dress!!! I'll keep a lookout for it...is the pattern number McCall's 3399?
3/17/09 5:45 PM
ElaineSews said...
Have you tried patternrescue.com? I have never used the site, in fact I just discovered it last week and bookmarked it, thinking it's so wonderful someone created such a resource!
3/17/09 4:49 PM
bella1902 said...
I hope you find it soon. It's gorgeous!
1/6/09 10:05 AM
shannie said...
No, I still haven't found the pattern. I check eBay everyday and I'm always cruising the vintage pattern websites looking for it. Thanks for the encouragement!
1/3/09 2:20 PM
moushka said...
The dress is stunning! Have you located the pattern yet? Congratulations on finishing the petticoat. Hope this all comes together for you. Sue
1/3/09 6:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Burda 9503

photo
by: rabitgrl

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now