Online Sewing Class: Create a Jacket Muslin
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2651 (Issey Miyake Jacket)

Viewed 1643 times 
Reviewed by:Alana Robson
photo

 
 
About Alana Robsonstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/1/02
Reviews: 35 (patterns: 29)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/03 3:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said... (5/22/04 2:22 PM) Reply
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks very much for the review. Miyake is the best.
Alana Robson said... (10/13/03 3:44 PM) Reply
I don't think it needs to be a stretch woven, and I actually think that the welt pockets and the insets will be more challenging with a stretchy material. On the other hand a little more "give" at the hip wouldn't be a bad thing.
Judy Williment said... (10/2/03 5:30 PM) Reply
I've just bought this pattern, laregly because of your great review and photo. I notice the fabrics suggested include stretch wovens - do you think it needs to be stretchy? I have something in mind, but it has NO stretch at all.
Alana Robson said... (9/15/03 8:26 AM) Reply
I'm sorry about the photo links, ivillage websites are being flaky right now.
SouthernStitch said... (9/14/03 10:44 PM) Reply
Very nice coat! Isn't it nice when a challenge turns out good!
Linda E. said... (9/14/03 8:41 PM) Reply
sorry the link worked just took a very long time.
Linda E. said... (9/14/03 8:35 PM) Reply
Alana, I can;t see any of your pictures the link maybe broken.. Thanks for the great review of a coat jacket i have thinking about making.
els said... (9/14/03 5:37 PM) Reply
SORRY link is working.
els said... (9/14/03 5:32 PM) Reply
Hi Alana thanks for the review I would like to see more photo's of your Miyake coat, because it is such an intriging design. The link for the back view is not working. I made the same coat in a muslin and boy was I glad I did this first, because what you already said it is not very loose fitting at the hips, so I must alter the pattern first, although I measured the pattern first and those measurements would fit me ,but no.I also would like to alter the neckline , a bit snugger.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details
Veronica Pocketbook Paper Pattern

Veronica Pocketbook Paper Pattern

Pattern Details