SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5150 (Misses Jacket, skirt and pants)

Viewed 317 times 
Reviewed by:Michele19
photo

 
 
About Michele19star
NY USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 7:28 PM
Last Updated:11/5/08 7:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ingysoup said...
Hey Michelle, you've given such an excellent review! As a fellow beginner sewer I appreciate this a great deal. I totally agree with all of your criticisms and comments, and liked that you remarked that you still enjoyed making it. I think sometimes that's half my battle, so good on you! The colors are great, and again great that you're thrifty! Weeee.
11/5/08 7:45 PM
sewtime said...
So cute!! Love the color!
11/5/08 8:07 PM
beginagain said...
I know what you mean about falling for the drawings. What I really notice is the shoulders look way too wide. If they are too far out you may get too much fabric under the arm. The two color look is nice and if you have some more cheap fabric you might try again. I'm glad you had fun.
11/5/08 8:18 PM
sarahb said...
jeepers, I think it looks good--maybe it's not the style you want, but I like it.
11/6/08 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
Overall, I think the jacket looks pretty good fit wise. One reason the underarm might feel bulky would be too much length in the upper chest. Yes, you might try removing some length there. You can split the difference in total adjustment between the upper chest and the regular petite adjustment that is below the bust. A good book on fitting can show you how to do them. It also requires an adjustment to the sleeve. Pretty easy really. As for the SBA, it's hard to say but it doesn't really look like you need one. Nice work on your first jacket!
11/6/08 10:05 AM
EleanorSews said...
Nice first jacket. The style is really quite lovely. I wonder if it would help to do a petite adjustment in the upper chest area (a half inch could make all the difference). Petite alterations are not just for length; you may find that shortening between the shoulder and lower armhole makes a difference (likewise sometimes I shorten slared skirts at the hip and them 6-8 inches down to keep the design in tatc). I agree with Beginagain about the shoulders being a bit wide. When all is said and done, you are onto something with this jacket. The style is very nice on you.
11/6/08 11:31 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
It looks very striking; I love the color combo. I passed on this pattern because of the bell sleeves for the same reason you don't like them, but you've really inspired me to try to adapt a similar pattern for the two-tone look.
11/6/08 2:41 PM
Vintage Joan said...
It's nice on you -- I know what you mean about falling for the artist's rendering, though. I find most Big 4 patterns (McCalls, Simplicity, etc.) too annoyingly drafted to bother with -- for me they usually result in that "doesn't feel good" result you describe, sigh. You made the most of this pattern, though, especially for someone who hasn't been sewing for very long!!
3/4/09 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Jalie 977

photo
by: bertiebagg...

Review
Butterick 4238

photo
by: Sharon1952

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now