Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5150 (Misses Jacket, skirt and pants) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 317 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Michele19
photo
About Michele19star
NY USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/08 7:28 PM
Last Updated:11/5/08 7:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ingysoup said...
Hey Michelle, you've given such an excellent review! As a fellow beginner sewer I appreciate this a great deal. I totally agree with all of your criticisms and comments, and liked that you remarked that you still enjoyed making it. I think sometimes that's half my battle, so good on you! The colors are great, and again great that you're thrifty! Weeee.
11/5/08 7:45 PM
sewtime said...
So cute!! Love the color!
11/5/08 8:07 PM
beginagain said...
I know what you mean about falling for the drawings. What I really notice is the shoulders look way too wide. If they are too far out you may get too much fabric under the arm. The two color look is nice and if you have some more cheap fabric you might try again. I'm glad you had fun.
11/5/08 8:18 PM
sarahb said...
jeepers, I think it looks good--maybe it's not the style you want, but I like it.
11/6/08 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
Overall, I think the jacket looks pretty good fit wise. One reason the underarm might feel bulky would be too much length in the upper chest. Yes, you might try removing some length there. You can split the difference in total adjustment between the upper chest and the regular petite adjustment that is below the bust. A good book on fitting can show you how to do them. It also requires an adjustment to the sleeve. Pretty easy really. As for the SBA, it's hard to say but it doesn't really look like you need one. Nice work on your first jacket!
11/6/08 10:05 AM
EleanorSews said...
Nice first jacket. The style is really quite lovely. I wonder if it would help to do a petite adjustment in the upper chest area (a half inch could make all the difference). Petite alterations are not just for length; you may find that shortening between the shoulder and lower armhole makes a difference (likewise sometimes I shorten slared skirts at the hip and them 6-8 inches down to keep the design in tatc). I agree with Beginagain about the shoulders being a bit wide. When all is said and done, you are onto something with this jacket. The style is very nice on you.
11/6/08 11:31 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
It looks very striking; I love the color combo. I passed on this pattern because of the bell sleeves for the same reason you don't like them, but you've really inspired me to try to adapt a similar pattern for the two-tone look.
11/6/08 2:41 PM
Vintage Joan said...
It's nice on you -- I know what you mean about falling for the artist's rendering, though. I find most Big 4 patterns (McCalls, Simplicity, etc.) too annoyingly drafted to bother with -- for me they usually result in that "doesn't feel good" result you describe, sigh. You made the most of this pattern, though, especially for someone who hasn't been sewing for very long!!
3/4/09 11:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 16599-1003
photo
Review by TalyQ on 7/13/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4337 simplicity
photo
Review by vintageclo... on 1/16/09
Read Review

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us