SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4923 (Men's Costume)

34 more reviews
Viewed 485 times 
Reviewed by:FreckleHead
photo

 
 
About FreckleHeadstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/4/07
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 17)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/08 4:38 AM
Last Updated:11/9/08 4:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
droxy said... (5/15/09 10:22 AM) Reply
At least I amnot the only woman wearing mes's costumes. On a whole I have to drop one size onshoulders and expand one size for hips. This is wasy with muti-size. But I have to meansrue bedore cutting the pattern. I learned this the hard way on Ollivander's vest, but I made the correction on the jacket. Mens pants are much trickier...I just did that and I had to keep bring the waist down.
FreckleHead said... (11/9/08 4:06 AM) Reply
I believe the breeches are meant to be a little baggy in the seat, just from what I've seen. The vest WAS snug, I want to make it again with some changes. Thanks for your comments, it was fun making the costume. :D Also, next time I make the shirt I will leave off the cuffs altogether, as they seem to get in the way. Seamingly, I really like your son's costume! he looks like he enjoys being a pirate> :D
jeanyus said... (11/8/08 4:47 PM) Reply
Well done, matey! I did this same pattern for my husband- I also found the shirt was huge for his size, but that is how it's supposed to be, I actually left off the cuffs and gathered the sleeves to create cuffs. The pants are wierd, it's like there's room for a diaper, but that's also supposed to be that way, I guess for movement. The vest was kinda snug for my husband, and I didn't bother with buttons on that, just latches.
Seamingly Simple said... (11/8/08 8:33 AM) Reply
I made the breeches for my son: they fit a little weird (see comments here). There's a very attractive lady's pirate costume at Trystan's Closet. She used a skirt and patterned stockings instead of breeches.
Nancy Rhodes said... (11/7/08 8:38 AM) Reply
I couldn't open the picture to see a larger version, but the little one looks fab. Well done!
Trephas2003 said... (11/7/08 8:27 AM) Reply
It looks great!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Simplicity 1945

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review
Pamela's Patterns Perfect Tank Top Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Perfect Tank Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Miranda Day Bag Paper Pattern

Miranda Day Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details