SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4923 (Men's Costume)

31 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:FreckleHead
photo

 
 
About FreckleHeadstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/4/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/08 4:38 AM
Last Updated:11/9/08 4:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
11/7/08 8:27 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I couldn't open the picture to see a larger version, but the little one looks fab. Well done!
11/7/08 8:38 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I made the breeches for my son: they fit a little weird (see comments here). There's a very attractive lady's pirate costume at Trystan's Closet. She used a skirt and patterned stockings instead of breeches.
11/8/08 8:33 AM
jeanyus said...
Well done, matey! I did this same pattern for my husband- I also found the shirt was huge for his size, but that is how it's supposed to be, I actually left off the cuffs and gathered the sleeves to create cuffs. The pants are wierd, it's like there's room for a diaper, but that's also supposed to be that way, I guess for movement. The vest was kinda snug for my husband, and I didn't bother with buttons on that, just latches.
11/8/08 4:47 PM
FreckleHead said...
I believe the breeches are meant to be a little baggy in the seat, just from what I've seen. The vest WAS snug, I want to make it again with some changes. Thanks for your comments, it was fun making the costume. :D Also, next time I make the shirt I will leave off the cuffs altogether, as they seem to get in the way. Seamingly, I really like your son's costume! he looks like he enjoys being a pirate> :D
11/9/08 4:06 AM
droxy said...
At least I amnot the only woman wearing mes's costumes. On a whole I have to drop one size onshoulders and expand one size for hips. This is wasy with muti-size. But I have to meansrue bedore cutting the pattern. I learned this the hard way on Ollivander's vest, but I made the correction on the jacket. Mens pants are much trickier...I just did that and I had to keep bring the waist down.
5/15/09 10:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

brerrabbit.com Coffee Date Dress

photo
by: SewPrinces...

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now