SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4923 (Men's Costume)

32 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:FreckleHead
photo

 
 
About FreckleHeadstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/4/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/08 4:38 AM
Last Updated:11/9/08 4:08 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
droxy said...
At least I amnot the only woman wearing mes's costumes. On a whole I have to drop one size onshoulders and expand one size for hips. This is wasy with muti-size. But I have to meansrue bedore cutting the pattern. I learned this the hard way on Ollivander's vest, but I made the correction on the jacket. Mens pants are much trickier...I just did that and I had to keep bring the waist down.
5/15/09 10:22 AM
FreckleHead said...
I believe the breeches are meant to be a little baggy in the seat, just from what I've seen. The vest WAS snug, I want to make it again with some changes. Thanks for your comments, it was fun making the costume. :D Also, next time I make the shirt I will leave off the cuffs altogether, as they seem to get in the way. Seamingly, I really like your son's costume! he looks like he enjoys being a pirate> :D
11/9/08 4:06 AM
jeanyus said...
Well done, matey! I did this same pattern for my husband- I also found the shirt was huge for his size, but that is how it's supposed to be, I actually left off the cuffs and gathered the sleeves to create cuffs. The pants are wierd, it's like there's room for a diaper, but that's also supposed to be that way, I guess for movement. The vest was kinda snug for my husband, and I didn't bother with buttons on that, just latches.
11/8/08 4:47 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I made the breeches for my son: they fit a little weird (see comments here). There's a very attractive lady's pirate costume at Trystan's Closet. She used a skirt and patterned stockings instead of breeches.
11/8/08 8:33 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I couldn't open the picture to see a larger version, but the little one looks fab. Well done!
11/7/08 8:38 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
11/7/08 8:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

More Info
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

More Info