SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-135 (Plus knit surplice dress)

Viewed 808 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/08 6:51 AM
Last Updated:1/6/09 12:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Beautiful! Your mom is a lucky woman! I looked at this dress thinking of grading it down for me. BWOF really designs the best plus sized patterns around.
11/10/08 7:36 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely dress. Looks like the pleats give this dress slimming appeal. Your mom will be elated to receive such a wonderful gift!
11/10/08 8:23 AM
carolynw said...
Beautifull dress - am sure youir Mom will be really happy to get this
11/10/08 8:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
Your mom will be thrilled. I remember thinking that the line drawing of this dress was great, but I couldn't see all the details in BWOF's photo (nothing new there). You've proved that it's a gorgeous dress indeed. Love the neckline.
11/10/08 9:41 AM
Diane E said...
What a lovely gift for your mom. The details are wonderful -- the pleats and darts give such a beautiful silhouette. Love your belt idea!
11/10/08 10:04 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress! You mom will love it!
11/10/08 10:23 AM
moushka said...
Gorgeous dress! What a lovely gift for your mom. Can't wait to hear how she likes it after Christmas.
11/10/08 10:56 AM
crisford said...
Wow, this is beautiful and very elegant! What a great choice for a gift. I'm sure she will be surprised and ecstatic!
11/10/08 11:20 AM
Luckylibbet said...
TERRIFIC dress. Simple but with excellent details. The 'tulip' neckline is subtly flattering, and I totally agree with you on the stitched down pleats. The shoulder pleats especially - the way they graduate in length will be enormously flattering. Keeping my fingers crossed along with you that it fits!
11/10/08 12:04 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Awesome -- lucky mom!
11/10/08 12:18 PM
michellep74 said...
What an awesome gift! This dress was on my to-sew list, but I got distracted by other projects. Thanks for reminding me that I DO want to make it up!
11/10/08 1:04 PM
SusiM said...
It's so nice that you are using your fine talent for sewing to make something nice for your mom. Very nice looking dress! She will be pleased!
11/11/08 0:45 AM
petro said...
Very nice dress, I love the neckline and shoulder pleat detail. Thanks for the tip on the fabric source, for knits which stay the course.
11/11/08 3:27 AM
amy in mpls said...
the pleats look greta, what a fantastic dress. Its looks great!
11/11/08 5:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am sure your mom will really like this!
11/11/08 6:13 PM
amy in mpls said...
this turned out fantastic! I think i remember seeing it on the manequin, right? Its looks great, great job!!
1/6/09 2:56 PM
Winifred said...
Another cluster of lovely garments you've made, Melissa. I think you must have a 48 hour day somehow ! Where do you get them ? !!!
1/6/09 7:48 PM
Sic said...
Your mom looks great!
1/7/09 7:52 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Extremely flattering dress for your Mom, and a perfect use for your black cotton knit which showcases all the pleat details and the graceful drape of the design. She cannot fail to be proud of her daughter's skill and generosity. Be sure to tell her how pretty she looks! Lovely, Lily
1/7/09 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now