SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-135 (Plus knit surplice dress)

Viewed 809 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/08 6:51 AM
Last Updated:1/6/09 12:05 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Extremely flattering dress for your Mom, and a perfect use for your black cotton knit which showcases all the pleat details and the graceful drape of the design. She cannot fail to be proud of her daughter's skill and generosity. Be sure to tell her how pretty she looks! Lovely, Lily
1/7/09 9:32 AM
Sic said...
Your mom looks great!
1/7/09 7:52 AM
Winifred said...
Another cluster of lovely garments you've made, Melissa. I think you must have a 48 hour day somehow ! Where do you get them ? !!!
1/6/09 7:48 PM
amy in mpls said...
this turned out fantastic! I think i remember seeing it on the manequin, right? Its looks great, great job!!
1/6/09 2:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I am sure your mom will really like this!
11/11/08 6:13 PM
amy in mpls said...
the pleats look greta, what a fantastic dress. Its looks great!
11/11/08 5:08 PM
petro said...
Very nice dress, I love the neckline and shoulder pleat detail. Thanks for the tip on the fabric source, for knits which stay the course.
11/11/08 3:27 AM
SusiM said...
It's so nice that you are using your fine talent for sewing to make something nice for your mom. Very nice looking dress! She will be pleased!
11/11/08 0:45 AM
michellep74 said...
What an awesome gift! This dress was on my to-sew list, but I got distracted by other projects. Thanks for reminding me that I DO want to make it up!
11/10/08 1:04 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Awesome -- lucky mom!
11/10/08 12:18 PM
Luckylibbet said...
TERRIFIC dress. Simple but with excellent details. The 'tulip' neckline is subtly flattering, and I totally agree with you on the stitched down pleats. The shoulder pleats especially - the way they graduate in length will be enormously flattering. Keeping my fingers crossed along with you that it fits!
11/10/08 12:04 PM
crisford said...
Wow, this is beautiful and very elegant! What a great choice for a gift. I'm sure she will be surprised and ecstatic!
11/10/08 11:20 AM
moushka said...
Gorgeous dress! What a lovely gift for your mom. Can't wait to hear how she likes it after Christmas.
11/10/08 10:56 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress! You mom will love it!
11/10/08 10:23 AM
Diane E said...
What a lovely gift for your mom. The details are wonderful -- the pleats and darts give such a beautiful silhouette. Love your belt idea!
11/10/08 10:04 AM
Karen6790 said...
Your mom will be thrilled. I remember thinking that the line drawing of this dress was great, but I couldn't see all the details in BWOF's photo (nothing new there). You've proved that it's a gorgeous dress indeed. Love the neckline.
11/10/08 9:41 AM
carolynw said...
Beautifull dress - am sure youir Mom will be really happy to get this
11/10/08 8:54 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely dress. Looks like the pleats give this dress slimming appeal. Your mom will be elated to receive such a wonderful gift!
11/10/08 8:23 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful! Your mom is a lucky woman! I looked at this dress thinking of grading it down for me. BWOF really designs the best plus sized patterns around.
11/10/08 7:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 3180

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now