SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8124 (Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2398 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 350
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 251
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
61 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
Love the fabric, and the pattern looks to be a perfect match. Congrats on your first muslin!
11/12/08 1:36 PM
Eme said...
I am so in love with your fabric! You can totally do this - just start EARLY tomorrow morning and take frequent breaks - don't burn out, but don't procrastinate (like yours truly is fond of doing)! Go Deepika! :) I will be so proud of you and you will inspire ME to make my first coat!
11/12/08 2:10 PM
donna mel said...
you can do it! good for you for making a muslin. now your coat will be a great fit. there's nothing more frustrating then going through all the work and ending up giving it away, or worse yet... letting it hang in the closet. i look forward to seeing the finished coat.
11/12/08 9:39 PM
LindsayT said...
Is it a boucle? Hard to tell without touching it. I just finished my first coat but it took me forever, which you don't want to hear....
11/12/08 10:36 PM
HLT said...
Your fabric is so yummy! Congratulations on your 1st coat! Good luck with the cutting. Happy sewing!
11/12/08 11:04 PM
shaggy said...
Good luck with this. The fabric is lovely
11/13/08 0:23 AM
JEF said...
I think I can hear your sewing machine humming .... Good luck and may you not rip out more than you put in!
11/13/08 12:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
I remember that fabric and I'm pretty sure it was a boucle. And itd's gorgeous. Regarding the pockets, I think the two from fabric, two from lining would be for the patch pockets; for in-seam pockets, you can use the coat fabric, though that would add bulk, or lining, but pocketing fabric is very tightly woven and much less likely to tear than a regular weight fabric. I only got some recently for a menswear project, but I'll keep some on hand from now on because it's much stronger than the cotton I would normally use.
11/13/08 1:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Make sure you get "Jackets for Real People" It will make this SO much more fun!! Congratulations on your first coat. It should be a show stopper and the pattern is really cute!
11/13/08 5:30 PM
Deepika said...
Karen, I think for this I am going to use one piece of wool fabric and other lining in the pocket. We'll see how that comes out. Cindy I soo want to finish this jacket! I can't wait myself. Saturday is going to be a loooong sewing day.
11/14/08 8:37 AM
Lynnelle said...
I have yet to have success with anything fitted on top, so I don't know how much help I can be there. However, I will say nix the belt. =)
11/14/08 8:58 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Oh.my.goodness. You have selected gorgeous fabric! You can do this!!
11/14/08 10:24 AM
annie11 said...
Great fabric and great pattern! This is going to be a beautiful coat! If you have the yardage left, I think with your tiny waist that the belt would be great. On your double interfacing the collar and facing question, you kind of need to go by feel. If your fabric still feels loosey-goosey, then yes- add another layer of interfacing. If it is pretty stiff, then no. Good luck!
11/14/08 11:05 AM
wendlesue said...
I am so impressed that you are doing this. I am looking forward to seeing the finished coat. So far I am a coward when it comes to coats and jackets!
11/14/08 11:58 AM
Winifred said...
This fabric is lovely - looking forward to seeing the coat
11/14/08 6:30 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Great fabric choice! So are we going to see it Monday in Seattle?
11/15/08 6:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
I LOVE the pattern and your fabric choice; I can't wait to see the finished coat!
11/16/08 10:32 AM
Twinset said...
I like that, a lot! Beautiful colors for you and this style is very flattering!
11/17/08 3:12 AM
elily00 said...
wow! that's a beautiful coat! someday i hope to be that good :) good luck finding someone to do your buttonholes in Seattle!
11/17/08 5:06 AM
donna mel said...
hey deepika, GOOD for you! you got it done and it looks fabulous! too bad about those dang button holes. have a great time in seattle.
11/17/08 7:20 AM
KrystalL said...
Your jacket is so cute. I love the color, and it fits you perfectly!
11/17/08 8:23 AM
JEF said...
I think it's great!
11/17/08 8:41 AM
caseysgirl23 said...
THAT JACKET IS GORGEOUS!!!
11/17/08 9:05 AM
Karen6790 said...
All finished but the buttonholes is close enough in my book. That was some great work in record time. Looking forward to the full and final review.
11/17/08 9:19 AM
pterion said...
Gorgeous coat! I can't believe you finished it so quickly! Good for you! Very inspiring.
11/17/08 9:32 AM
nglalala said...
Love, love the coat and the fabric! It looks great! Good luck with the buttonholes! (My SM always gives me trouble with those as well.)
11/17/08 9:46 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your new coat looks beautiful in every way -- design, fabric, workmanship and fit.
11/17/08 10:49 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations Deepika - not only is the fit great but you have it wearable in time!
11/17/08 10:51 AM
Kath in ON said...
Congratulations on finishing. I am also working on a coat, and am also nervous sewing it because I don't want to screw it up. Love your fabric.
11/17/08 11:00 AM
MissCelie said...
Dee, I have this fabric and can't wait to use it now that I've seen how beautifully yours turned out!
11/17/08 11:21 AM
CShelley said...
Great looking coat - love the fabric. Check out this months Threads - there's a good detailed article on making bound buttonholes that looks easier than the way I was taught.
11/17/08 12:06 PM
Eme said...
Wow!!! It looks gorgeous! Okay, now I have to make one! :)
11/17/08 12:32 PM
Nancy K said...
It is looking great! Did you use light weight tearaway stabilizer under the button holes when you were making them? That or tracing paper is a big help in keeping the sewing machine moving.
11/17/08 12:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Waaaah!! That is a scream of delight! what a perfect color you have picked for yourself!! oh gosh. Jackets. yes you have to break OFTEN!! I don't know what it is about them.Even after a 6 month tailoring class I have major anxiety about making the jacket. But I find if I go away for a while, it really works., Sandra Betzina's book has very good advice about sewing buttonholes in Jackets. It's difficult on home sewing machines but her pointers make it work. Congratulations. It is so adorable.
11/17/08 1:26 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Waaaah!! That is a scream of delight! what a perfect color you have picked for yourself!! oh gosh. Jackets. yes you have to break OFTEN!! I don't know what it is about them.Even after a 6 month tailoring class I have major anxiety about making the jacket. But I find if I go away for a while, it really works., Sandra Betzina's book has very good advice about sewing buttonholes in Jackets. It's difficult on home sewing machines but her pointers make it work. Congratulations. It is so adorable.
11/17/08 1:26 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous! I love it!
11/17/08 1:37 PM
babsi1111 said...
Wonderful coat! I really love the combination of that beautiful fabric with the pattern and the fit is impeccable!
11/17/08 1:46 PM
Annette1 said...
What a BEAUTIFUL jacket you have crafted from this LOVELY fabric. It fits you to a tee, and the fabric/lining are a delicious combination!
11/17/08 3:50 PM
missred said...
Making a jacket for the first time is nerv-racking!!!! But, it is worth it in the end! Congratulations on your success! You definitely should try making bound button holes- believe me, they are not as complicated as we like to believe- it will make a huge difference! My first attempt was on this jacket I made here:http://www.penelopered.com.au/blog/?p=35 If you take your time, and don't rush them, they are great! a good book to have is: The Complete Book of Sewing, by www.dk.com. Goodluck with the next jacket!
11/17/08 6:31 PM
amy in mpls said...
Fabulous jacket, and what a great story to go with it! I have to tell myself it will be worth it when I'm done! it usually is...great jacket!
11/17/08 8:41 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yowza! Congratulations!!! You look ravishing in it too.
11/18/08 12:30 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Congrats Deepika on your first coat for yourself! Love the colour, fabric, style and length on you, well done!
11/18/08 10:46 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Your jacket is SOOOO CUTE!!!! I want one!!!! You look so happy in your VERY FIRST jacket!!!! You did a LOVELY job!!!!!
11/19/08 1:11 AM
RobinMCPA said...
I LOVE IT!! It looks so nice on you. Super flattering and I love the style. Adding this to my list!!
11/21/08 10:09 AM
stitchypoo said...
The coat is GORGEOUS I saw it in real life and I loved it!!! The alterations Deepika made to it were excellent and it fit her perfectly. Deepika came to the Seattle PR Review and we had a BLAST!!!!!
11/22/08 1:37 PM
room2ndfloor said...
This is lovely fabric, but it is a tweed, not a boucle. Boucle has loops or curls on the face of the fabric. (boucle = curl in both French and Greek)
11/24/08 1:08 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You were ready for this challenge and you met it. The jacket is beautiful. Don't berate yourself on the lining. I bet you learned some important lessons for the next one.
11/24/08 10:32 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful coat, beautiful fabric. I love the berry colors.
11/24/08 11:06 AM
Christas said...
Deepika, your coat is BEAUTIFUL! You did such a wonderful job on it! It couldn't fit you any better!
11/24/08 11:43 AM
Markie1 said...
I am so impressed! You look wonderful in this coat--and boucle is NOT EASY as I have found! You really wrestled this one into the ground, Deepika, and you came out the victor. Congratulations, wear it with joy.
11/24/08 12:29 PM
Mufffet said...
Very pretty - sounds like a real challenge, and I wouldn't have been able to to cry if it had been me doing this....good for you Deepika!! Color is lovely on you.
11/24/08 12:34 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Maybe you don't love the lining, but I loved what I saw when you wore this in Seattle! I can see this is the first of many coats in your future.
11/24/08 2:22 PM
Leora said...
That looks like a tough project, but you sure made a wonderfully fitting coat! Very nice.
11/24/08 3:03 PM
Birgitte said...
What a great job you did on this coat! You look lovely in it. Congratulations!
11/24/08 4:39 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love it Deepika great job. Glad you decided to tackle this job.
11/24/08 6:34 PM
sideseams said...
Your coat turned out great Deepika. You have inspired me to try it too.
11/24/08 7:43 PM
Erica B. said...
For your first coat, it looks great! You did a wonderful job!
11/25/08 1:00 PM
Terri A said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
12/3/08 1:47 AM
alviana said...
fabulous job! i love the fabric. u look great! :)
12/24/08 10:54 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Deepika, I love your coat. There's something so appealing to me about Burda's coats and jackets: I have a huge (unused!) pattern stash of them. You have given me the inspiration I need to actually try one. Hugs, Tina in San Diego
1/23/09 1:01 AM
Deepika said...
Tina, thanks for the lovely note. And yes, I agree, burda does have nice coats. I can't wait to see what you create.
1/23/09 9:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now