Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1046 (Anna Sui) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 739 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:phthooey
photo
About phthooeystar
TX USA
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/08 11:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
poplin said...
Still, it's cute. Really cute. Since you like easy patterns (according to your profile) and you're a 5' petite, have you tried Japanese dress patterns? Thanks for blogging, too!
11/14/08 11:32 PM
kathleencramer said...
Wow- I think that you are correct- you need to have a very specific body type and height to pull off this one. I'm not even sure about the model on the Vogue pattern. But good job!
11/14/08 11:45 PM
Athene said...
In a quirky way I think this is a really cute look.
11/14/08 11:57 PM
sewsewboy said...
Nice effort. But the fabirc was a tad too stiff. I silkier or drapier fabrice would have flowed a lot better over your body. My sister made it and she used a silky print.It looked good. Remake it in a cute silky print or a lightweight knit or jersey and it may work out better for you. Keep sewing.
11/15/08 0:12 AM
Michele19 said...
Thank for for this review. I Love this dress. I just got this pattern in the recent $2.99 sale that Vogue had, your review couldn't have been timelier for me. Thank you Thank you! I think it is really cute and with those shoes you are wearing it's kind of high style looking! The small gingham print works with all that volume. It is a perfect summer comfy dress... I am inspired to start mine now! If you re-d0 it in a silkier fabric, please review again!
11/15/08 8:15 AM
carolynw said...
It looks cute and I bet when it's hot you'll love wearing this dress. Veryhelpful review
11/15/08 8:44 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Super cute! Love the fabric choice and your shoes! + you're thin and can pull this off. Wish I could. Has a 60's retro vibe.
11/15/08 10:57 AM
SewLil said...
I really love both of the dresses from this pattern and have the pattern. Good to know it went so quickly. Thanks for the review.
11/15/08 8:11 PM
lsaspacey said...
Interesting to see that your dress looks JUST like the pattern sketch regarding the amount of fabric gathered in the skirt but not at all when you look at the pattern picture. No truth in advertising there obviously! A lot of people have been curious about this dress but you were the only one to review it. Thanks for making it up and taking one for the team!
11/16/08 11:31 AM
AuntieShel said...
But it's soooo CUTE on you. I was drawn to this dress, but immediately decided against it for the very reasons you pointed out. But, really, so cute on you!
11/23/08 2:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3253
photo
Review by Reedy on 3/24/05
Read Review

McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
McCalls 6512 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6935 Pattern
Burda 6935 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8202
photo
Review by lilhoney57 on 1/13/06
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us