Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Ironing Board Cover thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 2288 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/03 4:41 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
That turned out really cute!! I have to cover a small sleeve board I have, and I've been putting it off for over a year~you've inspired me to 'just do it!" thanks for the review!
9/18/03 4:58 PM
Diane E said...
Deepika, this is really pretty. You make me want to gussy up my ho-hum office/sewing room! Thanks for the motivation!
9/18/03 5:20 PM
Enid E said...
Deepka, I like the print you chose, and how you came up with such a clever binding...as much as I dislike ironing , if the cover is nice, the ironing doesn't seem like such a chore!
9/18/03 5:58 PM
Gigi Louis said...
That looks great! Maybe when I recover my pressing surface I will use a print as well!
9/18/03 6:23 PM
Dale C said...
That looks wonderful Deepika! I love the print you chose... it's perfect.
9/18/03 8:15 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a great use for that cute print! Your ironing board looks fabulous! I never thought of coordinating my ironing board cover with my sewing room decor. I will use this idea, Thanks!
9/18/03 9:51 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a beautiful cover! It jazzes up your room too. Clever to get a whole bolt.
9/19/03 3:12 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Deepika, it looks so cute! I'm glad you found a print you like; I know you've been looking for one. And at 50% off it's a message from above: it was meant to be yours. You did a nice job, and it looks great.
9/19/03 6:03 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I am wondering if I make sewing machine and serger cover from the same fabric will it be too much of the same print? And how can I prevent scorching the fabric while ironing or is there no solution to this?
9/19/03 6:33 AM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika, I love your ironingboard cover. As far as scorching, have you tried a teflon sole plate cover? I use one on my iron and it never scorches any fabric. You can use your iron on the highest setting, and iron any type of fabric, from cottons to silks. It even eliminates the "shine" when ironing wool.
9/19/03 9:25 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks Debe, I have the teflon iron shoe but unfortunately its way too big for my iron so I am not using it. Any ideas?
9/19/03 10:12 AM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika mine is also too big for my iron. This last iron that I bought is a very inexpensive brand that is rather small, so I thought I couldn't use my teflon plate. Then one day I really needed it and put it on anyway and I just left it on. It works just fine because the springs hold it in place and it does make any difference that the plate is larger than my iron. ( I went through 2 expensive Rowenta irons in just 2 years, so I decided to go with a cheapie and it already has outlasted both my Rowentas!)
9/19/03 2:09 PM
Sew it seams said...
oops. I meant to say it does 'not' make any difference that the plate is larger.
9/19/03 2:13 PM
S York said...
Very inventive and shows just what one can do in a short time to improve their surroundings if they will just dive in.
9/20/03 6:42 PM
Skymom said...
Good work, Deepika. I know you don't really love doing home decor projects, but this one is very cute and useful. To avoid scorching, try a press-cloth. There are teflon press-cloths out there, if you're fusing or whatever (hopefully no scorching is happening during regular old ironing!), but I often just use a thin dishtowel that I've designated as a press cloth. Silk organza works great, too, and can take quite high temps. Just cut a square with pinked edges--18 inches or so is good.
9/22/03 8:49 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks skymom, I'll try that. I generally use my husband's handkerchief (got this idea from Gigi) as a press cloth and so far its been working great. My iron drips also so I have all ugly brown spots on my original ironing board cover. I guess I just have to wash this one more often.
9/23/03 6:15 AM
Lou. said...
Wow love this print Deepika! I think I need to hunt this fabric out for my new sewing room!
10/23/03 6:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by MissParayi... on 2/21/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2468 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by Sewlful on 8/20/12
Read Review

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us