SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Ironing Board Cover 

6 more reviews
Viewed 2289 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 359
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 259
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/03 4:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
That turned out really cute!! I have to cover a small sleeve board I have, and I've been putting it off for over a year~you've inspired me to 'just do it!" thanks for the review!
9/18/03 4:58 PM
Diane E said...
Deepika, this is really pretty. You make me want to gussy up my ho-hum office/sewing room! Thanks for the motivation!
9/18/03 5:20 PM
Enid E said...
Deepka, I like the print you chose, and how you came up with such a clever binding...as much as I dislike ironing , if the cover is nice, the ironing doesn't seem like such a chore!
9/18/03 5:58 PM
Gigi Louis said...
That looks great! Maybe when I recover my pressing surface I will use a print as well!
9/18/03 6:23 PM
Dale C said...
That looks wonderful Deepika! I love the print you chose... it's perfect.
9/18/03 8:15 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
What a great use for that cute print! Your ironing board looks fabulous! I never thought of coordinating my ironing board cover with my sewing room decor. I will use this idea, Thanks!
9/18/03 9:51 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a beautiful cover! It jazzes up your room too. Clever to get a whole bolt.
9/19/03 3:12 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Deepika, it looks so cute! I'm glad you found a print you like; I know you've been looking for one. And at 50% off it's a message from above: it was meant to be yours. You did a nice job, and it looks great.
9/19/03 6:03 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I am wondering if I make sewing machine and serger cover from the same fabric will it be too much of the same print? And how can I prevent scorching the fabric while ironing or is there no solution to this?
9/19/03 6:33 AM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika, I love your ironingboard cover. As far as scorching, have you tried a teflon sole plate cover? I use one on my iron and it never scorches any fabric. You can use your iron on the highest setting, and iron any type of fabric, from cottons to silks. It even eliminates the "shine" when ironing wool.
9/19/03 9:25 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks Debe, I have the teflon iron shoe but unfortunately its way too big for my iron so I am not using it. Any ideas?
9/19/03 10:12 AM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika mine is also too big for my iron. This last iron that I bought is a very inexpensive brand that is rather small, so I thought I couldn't use my teflon plate. Then one day I really needed it and put it on anyway and I just left it on. It works just fine because the springs hold it in place and it does make any difference that the plate is larger than my iron. ( I went through 2 expensive Rowenta irons in just 2 years, so I decided to go with a cheapie and it already has outlasted both my Rowentas!)
9/19/03 2:09 PM
Sew it seams said...
oops. I meant to say it does 'not' make any difference that the plate is larger.
9/19/03 2:13 PM
S York said...
Very inventive and shows just what one can do in a short time to improve their surroundings if they will just dive in.
9/20/03 6:42 PM
Skymom said...
Good work, Deepika. I know you don't really love doing home decor projects, but this one is very cute and useful. To avoid scorching, try a press-cloth. There are teflon press-cloths out there, if you're fusing or whatever (hopefully no scorching is happening during regular old ironing!), but I often just use a thin dishtowel that I've designated as a press cloth. Silk organza works great, too, and can take quite high temps. Just cut a square with pinked edges--18 inches or so is good.
9/22/03 8:49 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks skymom, I'll try that. I generally use my husband's handkerchief (got this idea from Gigi) as a press cloth and so far its been working great. My iron drips also so I have all ugly brown spots on my original ironing board cover. I guess I just have to wash this one more often.
9/23/03 6:15 AM
Lou. said...
Wow love this print Deepika! I think I need to hunt this fabric out for my new sewing room!
10/23/03 6:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: sarah0725

Review
Truly Victorian TV500

photo
by: VintageTem...

Review
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now