Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2008-116 (blouse/jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 581 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/08 7:30 PM
Last Updated:11/16/08 7:30 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very chic looking blouse jacket!
11/16/08 7:34 PM
cabinbaby said...
Oh, I love this! Thanks for doing a review of it. This is one that I liked in the magazine too.
11/16/08 7:59 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's a very flattering top on you. I have contemplated making this, so am happy to see your review.
11/16/08 8:04 PM
Izzie said...
Your top/jacket turned out great! I like the long sleeves.
11/16/08 8:40 PM
Izzie said...
Your top/jacket turned out great! I like the long sleeves.
11/16/08 8:41 PM
avancleve said...
Perfect! And the sleeve length would be good for where I live. There is no such thing as a real winter in Arizona. And what a perfect excuse to get a pair of those long leather gloves you always see in the BWOF's.
11/16/08 8:53 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for a thorough review. The blouse jacket looks great!
11/16/08 9:22 PM
solosmocker said...
Fits and looks great!
11/16/08 9:40 PM
digs57 said...
Hah! I made just this very thing a couple of weeks ago! Brave or foolish, mine's out of a very lightweight wool woven, not knit, and you're so right to say the 3/4 cuff would be too snug as designed: I had to abandon one of the pleats. I do WISH the designers had paid attention to ordinary below the elbow sizing. Other than that, it's a lovely little blouson. You're also correct to say the below the waistline size is a tad too roomy, I had to add a couple of small pleats in the back to control how it looked with the belt. I also replaced the zipper with a flurry of tiny little buttons on mine. It's amazing how different the same design can look with different fabrics. I love your casual look.
11/16/08 9:42 PM
Lori V said...
Very chic.
11/16/08 9:44 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !
11/16/08 9:48 PM
Jan B. said...
Fantastic as always!!
11/16/08 10:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very stylish and chic. I didn't even notice this pattern before.
11/16/08 10:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
This looks really professional!
11/16/08 10:38 PM
Elke said...
Looks great and I like the long sleeves!
11/17/08 0:01 AM
Liana said...
Very nice, and your changes only make it better!
11/17/08 0:07 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this, Kay. Your topstitching is a lovely finishing detail, as are the pleated sleeves and the two-way zipper. :o)
11/17/08 1:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love how this turned out for you. And that is an interesting zig zag stitch, I wonder if my Pfaff has that too.
11/17/08 1:44 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful little jacket/blouse, Kay. I love the simplicity of it..thanks for a great review..makes my work easier!
11/17/08 7:54 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Nice looking jacket/blouse and superb review! Thanks very much.
11/17/08 8:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow Kay! You make such wonderful garments and this is no exception. I LOVE the fabric you used and the styling of this pattern. The quality of your work is outstanding. Thanks for the great review.
11/17/08 9:26 AM
Catbird said...
This looks great!! I've had my eye on this one too, so thank you for such a helpful review. I love the look of the zipper you found and think the 2-way zip gives it an interesting style.
11/17/08 10:30 AM
Christy Alex said...
very, very, very nice! I thought about making this and now i will after you've done a beautiful job!
11/17/08 11:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
I must look at the October issue again. I completely missed this one and you've shown how wonderful this pattern is. Your work is beautiful as always.
11/17/08 2:29 PM
morzel said...
Very nice jacket! Well done.
11/17/08 4:27 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautifully excuted as usual, I passed this one in this issue rather quickly but I will add this to my sew list after reading your review.
11/17/08 9:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a nice, shapely jacket. I love those pleated cuffs. That's a great stitch for the topstitching -- I'm going to check and see if my Bernina has anything like that.
11/18/08 7:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab jacket, Kay! FYI, yes that lightning stitch (which is usually used to sew stretch fabrics) is an absolute bear to unpick! :)
11/19/08 4:27 AM
Kim12469 said...
I just made this with the help of your review...Thanks!
1/18/09 8:07 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love your jacket. And very informative review.
1/19/09 11:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by lnwmelon on 8/11/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by cairncrew on 2/25/11
Read Review

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6578 Pattern
New Look 6578 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6920 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us