SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-116 (blouse/jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 581 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/08 7:30 PM
Last Updated:11/16/08 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very chic looking blouse jacket!
11/16/08 7:34 PM
cabinbaby said...
Oh, I love this! Thanks for doing a review of it. This is one that I liked in the magazine too.
11/16/08 7:59 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's a very flattering top on you. I have contemplated making this, so am happy to see your review.
11/16/08 8:04 PM
Izzie said...
Your top/jacket turned out great! I like the long sleeves.
11/16/08 8:40 PM
Izzie said...
Your top/jacket turned out great! I like the long sleeves.
11/16/08 8:41 PM
avancleve said...
Perfect! And the sleeve length would be good for where I live. There is no such thing as a real winter in Arizona. And what a perfect excuse to get a pair of those long leather gloves you always see in the BWOF's.
11/16/08 8:53 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for a thorough review. The blouse jacket looks great!
11/16/08 9:22 PM
solosmocker said...
Fits and looks great!
11/16/08 9:40 PM
digs57 said...
Hah! I made just this very thing a couple of weeks ago! Brave or foolish, mine's out of a very lightweight wool woven, not knit, and you're so right to say the 3/4 cuff would be too snug as designed: I had to abandon one of the pleats. I do WISH the designers had paid attention to ordinary below the elbow sizing. Other than that, it's a lovely little blouson. You're also correct to say the below the waistline size is a tad too roomy, I had to add a couple of small pleats in the back to control how it looked with the belt. I also replaced the zipper with a flurry of tiny little buttons on mine. It's amazing how different the same design can look with different fabrics. I love your casual look.
11/16/08 9:42 PM
Lori V said...
Very chic.
11/16/08 9:44 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !
11/16/08 9:48 PM
Jan B. said...
Fantastic as always!!
11/16/08 10:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very stylish and chic. I didn't even notice this pattern before.
11/16/08 10:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
This looks really professional!
11/16/08 10:38 PM
Elke said...
Looks great and I like the long sleeves!
11/17/08 0:01 AM
Liana said...
Very nice, and your changes only make it better!
11/17/08 0:07 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this, Kay. Your topstitching is a lovely finishing detail, as are the pleated sleeves and the two-way zipper. :o)
11/17/08 1:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love how this turned out for you. And that is an interesting zig zag stitch, I wonder if my Pfaff has that too.
11/17/08 1:44 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful little jacket/blouse, Kay. I love the simplicity of it..thanks for a great review..makes my work easier!
11/17/08 7:54 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Nice looking jacket/blouse and superb review! Thanks very much.
11/17/08 8:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow Kay! You make such wonderful garments and this is no exception. I LOVE the fabric you used and the styling of this pattern. The quality of your work is outstanding. Thanks for the great review.
11/17/08 9:26 AM
Catbird said...
This looks great!! I've had my eye on this one too, so thank you for such a helpful review. I love the look of the zipper you found and think the 2-way zip gives it an interesting style.
11/17/08 10:30 AM
Christy Alex said...
very, very, very nice! I thought about making this and now i will after you've done a beautiful job!
11/17/08 11:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
I must look at the October issue again. I completely missed this one and you've shown how wonderful this pattern is. Your work is beautiful as always.
11/17/08 2:29 PM
morzel said...
Very nice jacket! Well done.
11/17/08 4:27 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautifully excuted as usual, I passed this one in this issue rather quickly but I will add this to my sew list after reading your review.
11/17/08 9:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a nice, shapely jacket. I love those pleated cuffs. That's a great stitch for the topstitching -- I'm going to check and see if my Bernina has anything like that.
11/18/08 7:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab jacket, Kay! FYI, yes that lightning stitch (which is usually used to sew stretch fabrics) is an absolute bear to unpick! :)
11/19/08 4:27 AM
Kim12469 said...
I just made this with the help of your review...Thanks!
1/18/09 8:07 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love your jacket. And very informative review.
1/19/09 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

StyleArc Ollie Tunic

photo
by: mudcat

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now