SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-116 (blouse/jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 581 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/08 7:30 PM
Last Updated:11/16/08 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very chic looking blouse jacket!
11/16/08 7:34 PM
cabinbaby said...
Oh, I love this! Thanks for doing a review of it. This is one that I liked in the magazine too.
11/16/08 7:59 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's a very flattering top on you. I have contemplated making this, so am happy to see your review.
11/16/08 8:04 PM
Izzie said...
Your top/jacket turned out great! I like the long sleeves.
11/16/08 8:40 PM
Izzie said...
Your top/jacket turned out great! I like the long sleeves.
11/16/08 8:41 PM
avancleve said...
Perfect! And the sleeve length would be good for where I live. There is no such thing as a real winter in Arizona. And what a perfect excuse to get a pair of those long leather gloves you always see in the BWOF's.
11/16/08 8:53 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for a thorough review. The blouse jacket looks great!
11/16/08 9:22 PM
solosmocker said...
Fits and looks great!
11/16/08 9:40 PM
digs57 said...
Hah! I made just this very thing a couple of weeks ago! Brave or foolish, mine's out of a very lightweight wool woven, not knit, and you're so right to say the 3/4 cuff would be too snug as designed: I had to abandon one of the pleats. I do WISH the designers had paid attention to ordinary below the elbow sizing. Other than that, it's a lovely little blouson. You're also correct to say the below the waistline size is a tad too roomy, I had to add a couple of small pleats in the back to control how it looked with the belt. I also replaced the zipper with a flurry of tiny little buttons on mine. It's amazing how different the same design can look with different fabrics. I love your casual look.
11/16/08 9:42 PM
Lori V said...
Very chic.
11/16/08 9:44 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !
11/16/08 9:48 PM
Jan B. said...
Fantastic as always!!
11/16/08 10:24 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very stylish and chic. I didn't even notice this pattern before.
11/16/08 10:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
This looks really professional!
11/16/08 10:38 PM
Elke said...
Looks great and I like the long sleeves!
11/17/08 0:01 AM
Liana said...
Very nice, and your changes only make it better!
11/17/08 0:07 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this, Kay. Your topstitching is a lovely finishing detail, as are the pleated sleeves and the two-way zipper. :o)
11/17/08 1:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love how this turned out for you. And that is an interesting zig zag stitch, I wonder if my Pfaff has that too.
11/17/08 1:44 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful little jacket/blouse, Kay. I love the simplicity of it..thanks for a great review..makes my work easier!
11/17/08 7:54 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Nice looking jacket/blouse and superb review! Thanks very much.
11/17/08 8:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow Kay! You make such wonderful garments and this is no exception. I LOVE the fabric you used and the styling of this pattern. The quality of your work is outstanding. Thanks for the great review.
11/17/08 9:26 AM
Catbird said...
This looks great!! I've had my eye on this one too, so thank you for such a helpful review. I love the look of the zipper you found and think the 2-way zip gives it an interesting style.
11/17/08 10:30 AM
Christy Alex said...
very, very, very nice! I thought about making this and now i will after you've done a beautiful job!
11/17/08 11:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
I must look at the October issue again. I completely missed this one and you've shown how wonderful this pattern is. Your work is beautiful as always.
11/17/08 2:29 PM
morzel said...
Very nice jacket! Well done.
11/17/08 4:27 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautifully excuted as usual, I passed this one in this issue rather quickly but I will add this to my sew list after reading your review.
11/17/08 9:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a nice, shapely jacket. I love those pleated cuffs. That's a great stitch for the topstitching -- I'm going to check and see if my Bernina has anything like that.
11/18/08 7:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab jacket, Kay! FYI, yes that lightning stitch (which is usually used to sew stretch fabrics) is an absolute bear to unpick! :)
11/19/08 4:27 AM
Kim12469 said...
I just made this with the help of your review...Thanks!
1/18/09 8:07 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love your jacket. And very informative review.
1/19/09 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Studio Tantrum Feliz

photo
by: morzel

Review
Contest 509-1020

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now