SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1053 (razor sharp pants)

Viewed 1089 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/08 7:53 PM
Last Updated:11/17/08 7:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
These look great on you, even though you aren't happy with them. I like the faced pant, but not how it is designed, I agree. The instructions are hideous. One thing that I do is to drop the top of the zipper down low enough to have room for a hook above it which I copied from a pair of rtw.
11/16/08 8:05 PM
linda 75142 said...
Glad you were able to make them work for you. I'm going to steer clear of this pattern!
11/16/08 9:36 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I think the side view is quite elegant. Your superior sewing skills is what made these turn out!! Darn those Hot Patterns with their stupid false advertising illustrations!
11/16/08 10:36 PM
cindyann said...
These pants turned out very nicely. I agree that your skill is what made the difference. I also agree that the silhouette is very different than the pattern envelope. Thanks for the heads up.
11/17/08 8:25 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks for the heads up and the very helpful review! Incidently, I do think they look like a very nice pair of pants, but understand that your expectation was something different. Great info and review.
11/17/08 9:22 AM
sarahb said...
Thanks for the warning about the pattern, but they do look very good on you--it's hard to know that sometimes when the final outcome doesn't match your expectations. :-)
11/17/08 9:24 AM
Athene said...
These pants look really nice on you. So even though the pattern was not very good, it shows what great results are possible when you have great altering and sewing skills.
11/17/08 8:47 PM
Sigrid. said...
Definitely looking good on you, but I'll stay away from these patterns. It's your skills that make these perfect pants, not the pattern.
11/18/08 2:57 AM
Nancywin said...
I'm so flattered by all of your comments about my sewing skills. Thank you so much! These pants were a pain, but I'm wearing them today. I can see that I could probably take a little more in the darts to make the waist a bit smaller. We'll see how they fare through the day.
11/18/08 9:42 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice pants. I've got this pattern, even have it cut out, but since the cut of the leg is what I liked in the first lpace, I think I'll steer clear of them, since they're not as depicted. Yours look great though!
11/18/08 11:18 AM
Teri said...
The pants look great. Sorry for the frustration though. Thanks for the heads up. I still have not ventured into Hot Patterns. Maybe I won't.
11/18/08 12:08 PM
Christas said...
These look just wonderful! Your wardrobe is coming along so nicely. I love each garment so far!
11/18/08 5:02 PM
kasizzle said...
I agree with the others, they do look good on you!
11/19/08 6:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5685

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now