Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1053 (razor sharp pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1083 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/08 7:53 PM
Last Updated:11/17/08 7:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
These look great on you, even though you aren't happy with them. I like the faced pant, but not how it is designed, I agree. The instructions are hideous. One thing that I do is to drop the top of the zipper down low enough to have room for a hook above it which I copied from a pair of rtw.
11/16/08 8:05 PM
linda 75142 said...
Glad you were able to make them work for you. I'm going to steer clear of this pattern!
11/16/08 9:36 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I think the side view is quite elegant. Your superior sewing skills is what made these turn out!! Darn those Hot Patterns with their stupid false advertising illustrations!
11/16/08 10:36 PM
cindyann said...
These pants turned out very nicely. I agree that your skill is what made the difference. I also agree that the silhouette is very different than the pattern envelope. Thanks for the heads up.
11/17/08 8:25 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks for the heads up and the very helpful review! Incidently, I do think they look like a very nice pair of pants, but understand that your expectation was something different. Great info and review.
11/17/08 9:22 AM
sarahb said...
Thanks for the warning about the pattern, but they do look very good on you--it's hard to know that sometimes when the final outcome doesn't match your expectations. :-)
11/17/08 9:24 AM
Athene said...
These pants look really nice on you. So even though the pattern was not very good, it shows what great results are possible when you have great altering and sewing skills.
11/17/08 8:47 PM
Sigrid. said...
Definitely looking good on you, but I'll stay away from these patterns. It's your skills that make these perfect pants, not the pattern.
11/18/08 2:57 AM
Nancywin said...
I'm so flattered by all of your comments about my sewing skills. Thank you so much! These pants were a pain, but I'm wearing them today. I can see that I could probably take a little more in the darts to make the waist a bit smaller. We'll see how they fare through the day.
11/18/08 9:42 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice pants. I've got this pattern, even have it cut out, but since the cut of the leg is what I liked in the first lpace, I think I'll steer clear of them, since they're not as depicted. Yours look great though!
11/18/08 11:18 AM
Teri said...
The pants look great. Sorry for the frustration though. Thanks for the heads up. I still have not ventured into Hot Patterns. Maybe I won't.
11/18/08 12:08 PM
Christas said...
These look just wonderful! Your wardrobe is coming along so nicely. I love each garment so far!
11/18/08 5:02 PM
kasizzle said...
I agree with the others, they do look good on you!
11/19/08 6:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Butterick 5351
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 6/7/09
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Laurel Laurel
photo
Review by Crystal Pl... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Jalie 2918 Pattern
Jalie 2918 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us