Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1021 (Riviera Annisette dress & top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 955 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 124 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/09 9:46 PM
Last Updated:1/29/09 9:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Cute shirt, thanks for the information on the changes and great fit, too.
1/29/09 10:14 PM
Karen8320 said...
All of your modifications here, Jazzy, have made this into a great looking top. I particularly like your use of the coverstitch machine to add interest. You're looking good!
1/29/09 10:18 PM
Kay Y said...
As usual, you have pulled off a perfect-looking stylish garment that has exactly the look HotPatterns was clearly aiming for. However, given the modifications you had to make, they missed the target with this pattern. It's too bad for people who lack your confidence and skill at refining the design.
1/29/09 10:28 PM
Dei said...
This is so cute! I have this pattern and have yet to open it, now I will!
1/29/09 11:09 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute!!! Love the style!
1/29/09 11:47 PM
cabinbaby said...
That is SO CUTE on you.
1/29/09 11:58 PM
Amanda S. said...
This top is SO CUTE! I love it with that big chunky necklace. Great job.
1/30/09 0:08 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute top! Thanks for such a detailed review.
1/30/09 0:26 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Well here's another piece from littlejazzbird that I love! Good tips about the line drawing vs. the actual garment.
1/30/09 0:40 AM
Larkin said...
Cute, cute, cute! Great review!
1/30/09 2:06 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your top looks great & I appreciate all of the information in your review!
1/30/09 2:34 AM
morzel said...
Your top is beautiful! The alterations really worked out great.
1/30/09 3:11 AM
McFeather said...
Your shirt looks better than the Hotpatterns drawing. Super cute!
1/30/09 4:26 AM
KateS said...
That the thing about illustrations (as compared to photographs) - they leave a LOT of room for "artistic interpretation", not good for technical information! Still your version looks fantastic, great work (and save!) on what sounds like a difficult pattern.
1/30/09 7:06 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Fabulous, thorough review! Thanks so much!
1/30/09 8:14 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your top is very stylish!
1/30/09 10:59 AM
Nancy K said...
I have this pattern, so I am happy to see your very lovely version. It looks great on you!
1/30/09 11:09 AM
crisford said...
Very cute top. Thanks for your review and very useful tips for sewing this! I can see the differences in the pattern drawing and the photo. I had the same experience with another Hotpattern. I enjoy reading about all your projects and insights! Your photos are great too.
1/30/09 12:50 PM
CynthiaSue said...
excellent review. They are a wicked company with their falsely advertised drawings and their notches that always don't match. I'm sure everyone will be so grateful to you for trying them out and making the modifications for everyone so we can make them! Grey is my favorite color for tees!
1/30/09 2:49 PM
Catbird said...
I like the classy casualness of these tops you make and your design changes are always right on the money. Very flattering. Another great job! And I'm in love with that necklace!
1/30/09 8:12 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Excellent review, shows all the things we need to look out for! Plus it looks super cute on you!
1/31/09 0:33 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Well, darnitall...I wish I'd seen your final product before I placed that HP order this morning. This shirt looks great. Nice work!
1/31/09 12:55 PM
Mahler said...
J'espère que les retardataires ont le droit de commenter aussi ;-)) This top is great, great, great, your modification gave an excellent result. The necklace adds a touch of style that finishes the look wonderfully. Great project again !
2/1/09 10:58 AM
Mufffet said...
Very very chic. Nice fabric, color and fit.
2/1/09 4:47 PM
Jea1978 said...
Thanks for all the tips. This top looks fabulous on you and I love the coverstitching detail!
4/20/10 10:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Prima Magazine 05-2008
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 6/6/08
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 2795
photo
Review by rebija on 10/1/08
Read Review

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5655 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5655 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us