Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7997 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 640 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/08 8:08 PM
Last Updated:11/18/08 6:54 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
cindy-lou... Is that YOU inside?? WOW!! You're a HOOT!!
11/17/08 8:17 PM
lovenicky said...
What a fun dress! You did a great job by adding that boa! It really jazzed it up! Can't wait to see you in the real world version.
11/17/08 8:39 PM
Nancywin said...
OMG!!! What great fun! You are so creative with this party-wear! AND, "Love Shack" is like my favorite all-time song - it always reminds me of fun summer days. What a blast you guys must have had! The outfits for both you and DH turned out great.
11/18/08 1:36 AM
Gelbean said...
I love it! I love the B-52s. It is such a fun dress. Very creative use of pattern and fabric stash.
11/18/08 2:16 AM
Ann Smith said...
You B-52s rock! Love the dress, especially the boa. Thanks to your daughter to keep you pushing. But how could you do this, your husband's costume AND get ready for a party? I would be zonked before the party started.
11/18/08 2:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I want to be at you party next year! Great dress for the event. Very creative!
11/18/08 5:28 AM
pipet said...
Awesome job!
11/18/08 6:17 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! This party looks like great fun!!! What a creatively cute costume, Cindy :) . You were jammin' to Love Shack in that pic, right ;) ? I have to add, there's something about those off-the-shoulder necklines. I have a very similar KS top pattern and found the elastic measurement to be what??? Made for doll-like shoulders? I have narrow shoulders, small upper chest, broad upper back and average upper arms (so you'd think everything would average out), but the measurement for the top fitting off the shoulder was WAY off. I actually had to add a fabric panel in the back to make the band wider. It's been so long since I made it, but I do think I reviewed it and had to add 1.5-2" on the band to actually go around my upper body.
11/18/08 7:12 AM
JustTrina said...
I only wish i could have been there!! i gone to 70/80's parties but most don't go all out in customes and that's what makes it fun!! Looks great, your 2 reviews have made my day! thanks
11/18/08 8:52 AM
Deepika said...
What a fun party idea. I am sure you had a blast and your costume is PERFECT!!!! LOVE IT!
11/18/08 10:48 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Cindy.....I have to hand it to you....you look awsome, thanks for a great review
11/18/08 10:55 AM
Leora said...
Can I purple love this one too or is that reserved for last year? Wow! The ultimate 80's party dress, some great creativity goin on here!!
11/18/08 12:07 PM
michellep74 said...
As a child of the 80's, I LOVE the B-52's and I absolutely love your costume!
11/18/08 1:14 PM
pterion said...
Now that looks like a good party. Seriously rockin' dress - all your creative efforts shine. And I love the B-52s too. Tin Roof!
11/18/08 1:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
What a great looking costume! Great job.
11/18/08 6:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look so groovy to the max! Very fun costume and that beehive really looks cool on you! I now hear Rock Lobster playing!
11/18/08 6:28 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Your dress is FANTASTIC!!! I just LOVE it!!!! Your hair is PERFECT!!! I LOVE the B52's (I LOVE the oldies station)!!!!
11/18/08 6:37 PM
maggy said...
Cindy Lou, what a great pattern review. It was helpful and well written. Your sewing teacher must be proud of you!
11/18/08 7:09 PM
CSM--Carla said...
LOVE THIS!!! What fun!! You look Wonderful Cindy-lou!!! Thanks for sharing. Especially LOVE the boa!! Great review!!! Carla
11/18/08 9:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab dress and I love the b-i-g hair! Your party must have been a blast.
11/19/08 4:03 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a fun dress! It looks great on you! Hope you didn't forget to bring your 'jukebox money' to the party!
11/19/08 6:55 AM
kittybishop said...
I cannot tell you how much I love this review! And I completely understand the B52s obsession, very inspired recreation of a B52s dress. Love it.
11/19/08 7:30 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic! Hahahaha......looks like you had a wonderful time.
11/19/08 8:21 AM
Kellie R. said...
OMG - this is GREAT!!!!! I love the B52's too!!!! You really captured the look and looked like you totally rocked the house down!!!
11/20/08 9:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 1179 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmytime on 7/30/11
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5997
photo
Review by Gemaki on 1/16/11
Read Review

Jalie 3026 Pattern
Jalie 3026 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us