SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8034 ( tops with gathered midriff)

2 more reviews
Viewed 453 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 196
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/08 5:07 AM
Last Updated:11/18/08 5:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
A very flattering top that works beautifully in both fabrics. I like the styling of the georgette, it's nice to have a dressy casual version. Sounds as if the bias was challenging - well done.
11/18/08 6:56 AM
JustTrina said...
very nice! i really like the georgette fabric. I have yet to work with georgette, thanks for the inclusion. very flattering on you as well.
11/18/08 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
Both are really beautiful - great work with the bias and very helpful review
11/18/08 9:56 AM
sewtime said...
Cute tops!! And great review.
11/18/08 10:19 AM
Twinset said...
Cute tops! It's nice to have your input on this pattern, thanks for the review!
11/18/08 10:54 AM
Luckylibbet said...
That style is superb on you! The cream version is so elegant - what a nice fabric present! But your flowered version shows how it can dress down a bit too. Both are lovely. And thanks for such a thorough review - lots of excellent tips in this one.
11/18/08 11:30 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Your review have made me to realise that I have this pattern, forgotten, and great to see them in good photos, both tops look really lovely, thanks for tips about pattern, I will come back this review when I finally start to make this.
11/18/08 12:40 PM
Christas said...
What an elegant top! This is just beautiful!
11/18/08 4:51 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely blouse.
11/18/08 6:07 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a BEAUTIFUL top!!!! It looks FANTASTIC!!! Both tops are GORGEOUS!!!! You always make such BEAUTIFUL garments!!!
11/18/08 6:44 PM
rozzybabe said...
This style suits you perfectly, & you've obviously worked enough with fabrics on the bias to be able to discern the amount of changes that were needed. Well worth the extra work, it looks very pleasing on you. Would love to see your next version!
11/18/08 9:44 PM
lynny said...
Wow! Elegant and flattering, very noice tops. Thanks for the detailed review too.
11/19/08 1:43 AM
MareeAlison said...
Great top - veryyyyyy flattering.
11/19/08 1:54 AM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely top!
11/19/08 6:59 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, I really, really, REALLY like BOTH of these! This style is just perfect for you. I wish I had your figure! This would be really cute under a jacket too, I think. TWO MORE WINNERS! :O)
11/19/08 11:12 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such classy and elegant tops on you! I adore both versions!
11/20/08 8:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous and elegant all the way around. I particularly like the ivory version. Beautiful work.
11/20/08 9:35 AM
Robin Denning said...
Karen this does look especially nice on you. It is a very flattering style. Beautiful work!
11/22/08 9:12 PM
Mahler said...
I am totally in love with you top. This is a great pattern for you !!!
12/1/08 12:47 PM
wonnim7 said...
Thank you for your review! I am in the process of making this top, version B with long sleeves. I've run into all of the problems you mentioned, including the too wide back and the droopy waist that results from the too wide piece on the waist. If I had enough fabric, I'd recut on the grain. And I thought I'd made a mistake when the waist didn't match up with the bodice. Basically, you've inspired me to persevere, when I had thought I was doing something wrong. Your tops came out beautifully!
1/18/10 2:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now