Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8034 ( tops with gathered midriff) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 451 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/08 5:07 AM
Last Updated:11/18/08 5:16 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
A very flattering top that works beautifully in both fabrics. I like the styling of the georgette, it's nice to have a dressy casual version. Sounds as if the bias was challenging - well done.
11/18/08 6:56 AM
JustTrina said...
very nice! i really like the georgette fabric. I have yet to work with georgette, thanks for the inclusion. very flattering on you as well.
11/18/08 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
Both are really beautiful - great work with the bias and very helpful review
11/18/08 9:56 AM
sewtime said...
Cute tops!! And great review.
11/18/08 10:19 AM
Twinset said...
Cute tops! It's nice to have your input on this pattern, thanks for the review!
11/18/08 10:54 AM
Luckylibbet said...
That style is superb on you! The cream version is so elegant - what a nice fabric present! But your flowered version shows how it can dress down a bit too. Both are lovely. And thanks for such a thorough review - lots of excellent tips in this one.
11/18/08 11:30 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Your review have made me to realise that I have this pattern, forgotten, and great to see them in good photos, both tops look really lovely, thanks for tips about pattern, I will come back this review when I finally start to make this.
11/18/08 12:40 PM
Christas said...
What an elegant top! This is just beautiful!
11/18/08 4:51 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely blouse.
11/18/08 6:07 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a BEAUTIFUL top!!!! It looks FANTASTIC!!! Both tops are GORGEOUS!!!! You always make such BEAUTIFUL garments!!!
11/18/08 6:44 PM
rozzybabe said...
This style suits you perfectly, & you've obviously worked enough with fabrics on the bias to be able to discern the amount of changes that were needed. Well worth the extra work, it looks very pleasing on you. Would love to see your next version!
11/18/08 9:44 PM
lynny said...
Wow! Elegant and flattering, very noice tops. Thanks for the detailed review too.
11/19/08 1:43 AM
MareeAlison said...
Great top - veryyyyyy flattering.
11/19/08 1:54 AM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely top!
11/19/08 6:59 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, I really, really, REALLY like BOTH of these! This style is just perfect for you. I wish I had your figure! This would be really cute under a jacket too, I think. TWO MORE WINNERS! :O)
11/19/08 11:12 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such classy and elegant tops on you! I adore both versions!
11/20/08 8:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous and elegant all the way around. I particularly like the ivory version. Beautiful work.
11/20/08 9:35 AM
Robin Denning said...
Karen this does look especially nice on you. It is a very flattering style. Beautiful work!
11/22/08 9:12 PM
Mahler said...
I am totally in love with you top. This is a great pattern for you !!!
12/1/08 12:47 PM
wonnim7 said...
Thank you for your review! I am in the process of making this top, version B with long sleeves. I've run into all of the problems you mentioned, including the too wide back and the droopy waist that results from the too wide piece on the waist. If I had enough fabric, I'd recut on the grain. And I thought I'd made a mistake when the waist didn't match up with the bodice. Basically, you've inspired me to persevere, when I had thought I was doing something wrong. Your tops came out beautifully!
1/18/10 2:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5145 Blouse
photo
Review by OP Gal on 8/2/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4945 Apron
photo
Review by DeniseF on 7/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us