SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8034 ( tops with gathered midriff)

2 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/08 5:07 AM
Last Updated:11/18/08 5:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wonnim7 said...
Thank you for your review! I am in the process of making this top, version B with long sleeves. I've run into all of the problems you mentioned, including the too wide back and the droopy waist that results from the too wide piece on the waist. If I had enough fabric, I'd recut on the grain. And I thought I'd made a mistake when the waist didn't match up with the bodice. Basically, you've inspired me to persevere, when I had thought I was doing something wrong. Your tops came out beautifully!
1/18/10 2:29 PM
Mahler said...
I am totally in love with you top. This is a great pattern for you !!!
12/1/08 12:47 PM
Robin Denning said...
Karen this does look especially nice on you. It is a very flattering style. Beautiful work!
11/22/08 9:12 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous and elegant all the way around. I particularly like the ivory version. Beautiful work.
11/20/08 9:35 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such classy and elegant tops on you! I adore both versions!
11/20/08 8:35 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, I really, really, REALLY like BOTH of these! This style is just perfect for you. I wish I had your figure! This would be really cute under a jacket too, I think. TWO MORE WINNERS! :O)
11/19/08 11:12 AM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely top!
11/19/08 6:59 AM
MareeAlison said...
Great top - veryyyyyy flattering.
11/19/08 1:54 AM
lynny said...
Wow! Elegant and flattering, very noice tops. Thanks for the detailed review too.
11/19/08 1:43 AM
rozzybabe said...
This style suits you perfectly, & you've obviously worked enough with fabrics on the bias to be able to discern the amount of changes that were needed. Well worth the extra work, it looks very pleasing on you. Would love to see your next version!
11/18/08 9:44 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a BEAUTIFUL top!!!! It looks FANTASTIC!!! Both tops are GORGEOUS!!!! You always make such BEAUTIFUL garments!!!
11/18/08 6:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely blouse.
11/18/08 6:07 PM
Christas said...
What an elegant top! This is just beautiful!
11/18/08 4:51 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Your review have made me to realise that I have this pattern, forgotten, and great to see them in good photos, both tops look really lovely, thanks for tips about pattern, I will come back this review when I finally start to make this.
11/18/08 12:40 PM
Luckylibbet said...
That style is superb on you! The cream version is so elegant - what a nice fabric present! But your flowered version shows how it can dress down a bit too. Both are lovely. And thanks for such a thorough review - lots of excellent tips in this one.
11/18/08 11:30 AM
Twinset said...
Cute tops! It's nice to have your input on this pattern, thanks for the review!
11/18/08 10:54 AM
sewtime said...
Cute tops!! And great review.
11/18/08 10:19 AM
carolynw said...
Both are really beautiful - great work with the bias and very helpful review
11/18/08 9:56 AM
JustTrina said...
very nice! i really like the georgette fabric. I have yet to work with georgette, thanks for the inclusion. very flattering on you as well.
11/18/08 8:56 AM
Natasha B said...
A very flattering top that works beautifully in both fabrics. I like the styling of the georgette, it's nice to have a dressy casual version. Sounds as if the bias was challenging - well done.
11/18/08 6:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 7186 (circa 1955)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

More Info
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

More Info