Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2559 (Women's Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 945 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Alexruthe
photo
About Alexruthestar
QC CANADA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/08 6:13 PM
Last Updated:11/20/08 7:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Woo Hoo! Looks like you did the 500th Jalie review...congrats!
11/19/08 7:14 PM
katlew03 said...
The picture is too small to see, but it looks fine to me. Just think how much you learned.
11/19/08 7:56 PM
Christas said...
Your pic doesn't enlarge ... looks really nice from what I can see. Love the color!
11/19/08 9:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Congrats on writing the 500th Jalie review! I'd love to see a larger photo of your jacket.
11/19/08 9:14 PM
Alexruthe said...
Slightly bigger pics can been seen on my blog. http://alex-rambles.blogspot.com/ I'll add some detailed shots there soon. But honestly, I did learn a lot, and am glad the fabric only cost me about $6 because I can't wear this out in public, purely a learning experience, and I must follow instructions better next time.
11/19/08 10:23 PM
EleanorSews said...
From what I can see, it looks like you've done well. And yes, all of us periodically find we do well to follow some type of instructions depending on the project and how often we we do a technique or whatever. Thanks for the review. I was going to pick up a Vogue jacket pattern this week-end but really wanted a shoulder princess seam and voila! Here it is!
11/20/08 10:35 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this looks really sharp!! Lands end has corduroy blazers just like this. great color!
11/20/08 4:31 PM
emailtk said...
Nice Job!!! Looks very nice!!!! Thanks I was looking for a pattern like this!!!
11/20/08 6:09 PM
DorothyK said...
This is a very cool jacket. I love the lapels. I never would have considered making something like this before, but now I think I'll buy the pattern. Actually, I think corduroy is a good choice for this pattern.
11/20/08 9:09 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I didn't know they made jackets! Thanks for the review.
11/20/08 9:18 PM
Fictionfan said...
I just got this pattern. Your problem with the way the lapels are lying is not anything due to your sewing or skill. It is an error in the pattern. The front piece is drafted as the front facing should be, and vice versa. If you make this again, use the front facing as the front and mark the buttons and buttonholes as the original front is, and use the original front for the facing. The front facing is the part that folds over (the rever), so it needs additional fabric for the turn of the cloth, so it will lie over the front via the roll line without trying to curl back. Just as the upper collar needs a little more fabric than the under collar, the front facing needs a little more (about 1/8 inch) more outside the line of the front pattern piece at the lapel just to the collar junction and to the roll line bottom. After the roll line spot, the front facing needs a little less than the front piece so the facing doesn't roll out to the outside. HTH if you make this jacket again. If it weren't for the pattern error, your jacket would be perfect!
6/8/09 9:31 PM
msgadget said...
That doesn't look like a beginner effort. You did a great job with the jacket.
6/28/09 0:07 AM
Pattycakes60 said...
I am not very far along in my classes either. Your jacket looks very beautiful in the pictures. Thanks for the suggestion on lining. I DID take Sarah Veblen's All About Linings Class and would like to challenge myself. Think I'll try it. Thanks for the review.
3/28/10 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8954 Misses' Vest
photo
Review by sfshaza on 11/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Margo Handbag
Margo Handbag

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5249
photo
Review by kim*brown on 12/1/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us