Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2877 (DKNY) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 656 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/08 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/21/08 1:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Lovely skirt!
11/20/08 4:30 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Lovely outfit. Would love to have the pattern number for the top. Keep up the great work!! I really value your reviews.
11/20/08 5:08 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is very pretty. Taking the extra time for the piping was a good call - it looks just beautiful and ties together well. Great job.
11/20/08 5:13 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful skirt!!
11/20/08 6:13 PM
Karendee said...
Extremely smart looking skirt.
11/20/08 6:28 PM
moushka said...
Très chic, Ann, the black underlining for the lace really takes it to another level. Beautiful work, as usual. Thanks for another inspiring review.
11/20/08 7:26 PM
Barbara V said...
It's a gorgeous skirt! Even though the piping was a bit fussy to do I agree that it tied it together and added another dimension. The scallop edge detail is perfect!
11/20/08 7:58 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful job, as usual. It would have been a shame not to use the scalloped edges. With black, it makes a very smart outfit.
11/20/08 8:26 PM
hmacski said...
This is a rare miss from someone with otherwise great taste. Sorry, Ann. You absolutely rock but this lace skirt doesn't do you justice. It's kind of dowdy.
11/21/08 1:51 PM
Ann Smith said...
hmacski, Perhaps it looks better in person. I hope so. I did receive lots of compliments when I wore this but those were ladies in my generation. Maybe you have to be 6' and size 0 like these ladies in the Prada runway show http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/F2008RTW-PRADA/?loop=0&iphoto=17&play=false&cnt=19 and http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/F2008RTW-PRADA/?loop=0&iphoto=35&play=false&cnt=39
11/21/08 2:45 PM
persevering said...
Ann, Your skirt is georgous! I think you are the right track looking for a different top - my daughter taught me that a tight garment needs to be matched with a loose garment & vice versa. (Loose & loose can look dowdy and tight & tight can look unsuitable. )Shop your closet again - if no match - I suggest a rather fitted, one color, short top /classic & simple / just make sure the fabric doesn't cling badly. Your skirt is pretty, what you match it with will make all the difference. Good luck!
11/21/08 4:37 PM
LindsayT said...
Really wonderful skirt, Ann. I think this is a timeless keeper.
11/21/08 4:41 PM
Winifred said...
This is far from dowdy Anne, as you say lace is in and a more fancy design would draw attention away from the beautiful fabric. I too would like the pattern no for the top !
11/21/08 6:12 PM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous skirt. I love how the rayon lace drapes.
11/21/08 9:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
Cecile and Winifred, the pattern for the top is one I downloaded 5 or so years ago from a website that no longer is in operation. I call it the 15 minute top as it takes about that long to make including cutting out. It has no edge finishes and 3 short seams. I don't think it is available any where. A similar design is from Lyla Messinger, the Seaside T. My top has only one side seam and an asymmetric bottom curve but they are very similar.
11/22/08 0:46 AM
carolynw said...
It's really beautiful Ann and as usual you look tres chic!!
11/22/08 9:24 AM
hmacski said...
Hi Ann: Perhaps it's the photo, perhaps it's the resolution on my monitor. I admire the fashion risks you take and your slightly off-beat but always classy choices. Maybe this one just doesn't work for me. I do seem to be in the minority. Oh well...a chacun son gout!
11/22/08 7:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 4762 girl's skort
photo
Review by shannonsto... on 9/2/11
Read Review

Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 5431 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3765 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by pharmlyn on 5/29/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Scout Woven Tee
Scout Woven Tee

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us