SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7976 (MISSES' JACKET)

9 more reviews
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Riesiestar
MD United States
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews: 43 (patterns: 43)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/08 8:17 PM
Last Updated:11/21/08 8:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Berniev said... (6/24/09 12:54 PM) Reply
Thank you for a very thorough review. I want to try this jacket pattern, but was afraid a plus size cut wouldn't flatter.
Jane S said... (12/18/08 7:24 PM) Reply
Thank you for reviewing this since it's on my list. I too like the three dart design. Your color is wonderful and yes, a wonderfully sized collar.
Riesie said... (11/23/08 7:48 AM) Reply
The nice thing about having 3 darts to share the FBA was that I didn't end up with one huge dart that wouldn't end smoothly, like happens so often. I am a DDD cup so usually my FBA's are huge and then I either have to curve and/or steam, steam, steam the dart to get it to lie flat, or put in a second dart - so between the fact that she drafts for a D cup at the large end of the pattern sizes and there being 3 darts to begin with, I didn't have any problems. Also, since the darts point to the general area rather than right at the apex, I didn't have to worry about lowering the darts any. Of course, having a nice pliable fabric like wool helped it to conform nicely. All in all, having 3 darts turned out to be a good thing.
Sherril Miller said... (11/22/08 9:59 PM) Reply
I really like the way your jacket turned out. What do you think of the side seam darts that don't point to a bump? By design they just seem like they would be weird.
Karendee said... (11/22/08 5:32 PM) Reply
Beautiful coat!
moushka said... (11/22/08 12:13 PM) Reply
I agree with you, the colour is beautiful and so cheerful for the fall and winter. Your jacket looks great. Thanks for a super review.
Christas said... (11/22/08 10:14 AM) Reply
Love your review! This jacket looks great!
Clareew said... (11/22/08 6:02 AM) Reply
Lovely review, made me smile. I love the jacket too.
Athene said... (11/22/08 1:36 AM) Reply
A very nice jacket and it is cheerful in the blue color.
Michelle T said... (11/21/08 11:47 PM) Reply
Fun review to read. Great information too.
frame said... (11/21/08 9:30 PM) Reply
Great looking jacket. Love the cheerful color!
sewtime said... (11/21/08 9:08 PM) Reply
Pretty jacket! Love the color.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 5857

photo
by: grays08

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details
Iconic Patterns 1102

photo
by: desensitis...

Review