Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2007-114 (Kimono sleeve knit top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 412 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:KateS
photo
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/08 6:18 AM
Last Updated:11/22/08 8:38 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
This is an amazingly beautiful top. I LOVE the ties!! They are NOT too dressy at all. The top and ties suit you to a T. Make MORE of these tops w ties!
11/22/08 6:35 AM
KateS said...
Thanks!! Its so nice to get feedback- especially positive feedback! The fabric was wonderful I just couldnt resist..I have 1 metre of the same in a blue colourway but have no idea what to make with 1 metre?
11/22/08 6:49 AM
latebloomer said...
I completely agree with j222b! I love the style, color, and fabric of this top and the size looks perfect. Stunning!
11/22/08 7:17 AM
Lori V said...
This is a very pretty top and I like the ties.
11/22/08 7:45 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Lovely top, wish I had this pattern!
11/22/08 8:40 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
This is BEAUTIFUL!!! You look STUNNING!!!! I have this pattern. I might need to make it now that I've seen your version!!!
11/22/08 11:00 AM
mendospot said...
I love it. If you or your step daughter don't want it, please feel free to send to me. I need it.
11/22/08 11:27 AM
Diane E said...
Kate, this is just gorgeous. I have to echo other comments here -- I love the ties, in a bow or hanging down. I also think the size is perfect. Thanks for reminding me that it is GOOD to hang on to the Burda magazines for the treasures contained within. P.S. I am enjoying the Flickr peek into your sketchbook. Lovely!
11/22/08 11:42 AM
Athene said...
Very lovely look - I dont think you need a bigger size in this particular fabric - the fit looks great.
11/22/08 4:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty and eye catching. Nice top that can be dressed up or down.
11/22/08 4:59 PM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely top and I like the ties too. It's good to see this on a body more like mine, I never thought I could wear such a top, but perhaps I should try, seeing your result. Lovely fabric too.
11/22/08 5:34 PM
KateS said...
Thanks for all the lovely comments- this is my first review so I feel I am off to a good start! As to the fit I was pretty happy with it when I made it, however the sleeves don't look as loose as other reviews- maybe as I am taller and am using less ease? Diane E thanks for the comment on my art, just another hobby that I don't seem to have as much time as I would like for...:)
11/22/08 6:27 PM
LuceLu said...
My first reaction was Va Va Voom! It has a retro look and is very pretty on you. Teenagers are critical, don't take it personally (remember high school?). I would make more, with the tie, without the tie, in different colorways.
11/23/08 8:34 AM
ChristineX said...
Hot looking top! =)
12/7/08 2:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 1736 Misses Hats
photo
Review by JuneHawk on 1/30/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by britsnoteb... on 3/25/10
Read Review

McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1554 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1554 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us